Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
123.0445
Write A Review
May 18, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

May 18, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

I was born in KY and know the problems there. As a Christian I felt it was a wonderful cause. Like others I have been concerned with the excessive solicitation letters I received. They appear to be declining under the new director. I hope so. The practice of sending excessive solicitations is not just a waste of funds but has caused me (and others) to stop donating. They must become more responsive and respectful toward their donors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it more responsive to donor requests e.g. stop sending so many requests for donations. This is money that could be used elsewhere.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 9, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I started donating small amounts of money years ago to this organization in honor of family members. They treat small donors with the same appreciation of larger ones. After retiring, I decided to increase my donation by becoming a short term volunteer. I have served at WorkFest, YouthFest and Children's Summer Camp. I have observed how the funds are spent. All persons involved are dedicated to stretching the donations, and at the same time having quality programming. I admire what this organization does for the people of Appalachia. They are truly Americans helping Americans---They are 'What's Right with America"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 25, 2012
13 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 25, 2012
13 people found this review helpful

I received my first solicitation from this organization yesterday and the outside of the envelope said "check enclosed." Sure enough, there was a $2.00 check enclosed. This was an obvious gimmick that I find to be offensive and a potential waste of money. For this reason alone, I will not give to this organization. Moreover, I've recently been flooded with solicitations from various organizations and I'm just getting tired of it. Obviously, I gave to some organization that gave/sold my information. From my perspective, charities would do well to avoid gimmicks, overly emotional appeals and supplementing their income by selling their contributors' contact information.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop wasting money with checks to potential donors and other gimmicks.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Mail with a gimmicky / money-wasting check enclosed.

October 31, 2011
19 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 31, 2011
19 people found this review helpful

I chose to donate to this organization because back in April of 2011 they had a reasonable overall score of 58.37 with administrative expenses of 3.6. I asked at that time, that they not solicit me further and I would give on my own schedule. Since then, I have been receiving solicitations at least twice a month. This is a worthwhile charity and many, many poor in Appalachia need their help. However, it bothers me that the past president continues to draw a salary of $71,532. I realize it takes qualified people to run an organization like this, but the salaries of the exec.VP ($93,687) and controller/ treasurer ($82,532) seem like a lot considering the needs of those they claim to serve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask donors how often they wish to be solicited and then follow their request. A lot of money could be saved on printing and postage!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

The plight of the Appalachian poor

Why did you make your donation at this time?

God has blessed me and I want to help others

What would you tell others about this organization?

Check them out thoroughly and if you agree with their fundraising expenses and continual solicitation AND their rather high executive compensation, then give.

June 2, 2011
13 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 2, 2011
13 people found this review helpful

After requesting that I receive fewer fund raising requests in the mail, I continue to receive two or three requests a WEEK from CAP. I will continue to donate on my own schedule. It's a shame they didn't honor my request. That being said, I believe in their mission, and think they are doing good.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

no way. I am a donor who lives in WA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

heed donor's requests.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers