Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
123.0434845
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
February 21, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

February 21, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

In the interest of full disclosure, I am the president/CEO of Christian Appalachian Project (CAP) and a Board member. My purpose in posting a review is to address both reviews posted on 1-9-13.

First, in the review written by gfawkes1151916, it states that our website is misleading because
we list a respite care program, when we no longer have one. This is false. We no longer have a residential respite program, however, CAP continues to provide respite care through an in-home respite program with three full-time employees who travel extensively to help meet the needs of families and individuals providing care to disabled loved ones. We provide up to 5 hours of relief at a time to allow individuals the opportunity to take a break and to do what they need to do.

Second, LaPointe implied that our founder, Reverend Beiting, would not be pleased with CAP in recent years. To my knowledge, until his death on August 9, 2012, he was very proud that CAP's mission continued to make a difference for people in need in Appalachia. It was a blessing to me to have served CAP with him for 3 1/2 years from 1982 - 1985. When I was asked to return to CAP in February 2010, I did so with a strong sense of keeping Reverend Beiting's legacy strong because the challenges of people in need in Appalachia continue to be great.

CAP is a transparent organization. Our IRS Form 990 is accessible on our website. Anyone with questions can visit us any time, scheduled or unscheduled, to see firsthand how we operate. We have nothing to hide. Should anyone want to call us to have questions answered, please call (859) 269-0635. May God bless you, Guy

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

This organization is awful and does not have the view that Cap orginially had. Father Biden would turn over in his grave to see this place that has become more money hungry than client concious.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 9, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Mr. Patton states CAP scores highly on transparency, and I'm sure he is referring to finances; however transparency indicates honesty and truthfulness. As of today, CAP's website- under the heading "Who We Serve" and "Disabled" they list Respite services. They closed this program and terminated the employees quite some time ago. This type of misrepresentation happened when CAP closed down their Adult Education programs. Years after the programs had been closed, they were still being advertised on their website as services CAP was offering the area.
And, I am not surprised Mr. Patton promotes himself as a businessman. "More bang for your buck" is a very businesslike attitude - but not one that should necessarily be associated with a "Christian Nonprofit." I'm sure to a businessperson, outsourcing American jobs to China, India, and Pakistan gives you more bang for your buck. I would think a Christian nonprofit should be more concerned with their mission statement of assisting those who are needy in Appalachia. CAP employees that have lost their jobs, I'm sure, do not see it as more bang for the buck.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I don't know if I would qualify under emerson1966's criteria as an expert, but I have been a consistent donor since 1985 and serve on the Board of Trustees for a regional non-fo-profit dedicated to welfare of senior citizens, am Secretary and member of the Executive, Finance and Co-Chair of the Employee/Volunteer Complaints Committee. I also own two private businesses.

If you dig into the data Charity Navigator, Christian Appalachian Project scores very well for a small to medium sized charity. Their percentages of revenues spent on administration and promotions (for donations) are relatively low - a very good sign. They also score highly on transparency, another key variable prospective donors should review. They should be commended, not criticized for substituting volunteers for paid employees - it gives you a much larger "bang for the buck."

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I participated in Workfest 2005 and 2006. Workfest is an annual gathering of college groups that travel to Kentucky during their spring breaks to help rebuild homes in Eastern Kentucky. I am saddened to see negative reviews because both my experiences were awesome. Workfest was organized and the team leaders were excellent. They provided me and the other volunteers with guidance (most of us had never worked with power tools before this) and they also helped to educate us on some of the problems that people in this area face. It is truly mind-boggling that people can be living in such poverty in this country! The first house my group helped rebuild was owned by an 80-year old woman named Opal. Her walls were insulated with cardboard boxes and her house was basically falling down around her. She was extremely grateful for the work we did and not at all ashamed of her financial situation. We visited with her at the start and end of each work day and she was always thanking and blessing us!
My second experience with WorkFest was just as good as the first. The homeowners were extremely happy we were there and often cooked us traditional southern dishes to show their thanks.

If you want the chance to step outside your comfort zone, learn to use power tools, talk to people whose lives are completely different from yours (even though you live in the same country), meet other volunteers from places all over the US, and see a very beautiful slice of America, I recommend getting involved with CAP.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

December 20, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

December 20, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

It is very interesting that no reviews are from experts, clients, advisers, or board members! It indicates that emerson1916 may have an inside view of the operation having volunteered in the administrative offices. I was going to donate to this organisation because I BELIEVE WE AS A COUNTRY WE SHOULD HELP THE DISADVANTAGED IN THIS COUNTRY BEFORE WE HELP EVERY POOR COUNTRY IN THE WORLD, but am not now because looking at the financials the is a reserve ? of 1.4 million dollars that is not shown! Admin and fund raising costs must be enormous! Choices for volunteer & donor should be severed, one might volunteer to get an inside look at the organizations workings!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 17, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

I cannot say anything positive about this organization. It is meant to help and support the poor of the Appalachian area but the actions prove otherwise, seemingly more intent on fundraising and engaging in activities that make for good media. They have closed most of their programs while maintaining or increasing the administrative staff and the programs that look well in photographs and on television. They utilize more and more outside volunteers while laying off eastern Kentucky employees effectively making them part of the Appalachian poor they state they are there to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I just cannot say enough positive things about CAP. Very impressed with how funds are used to help the poor. This is a grass roots, on the front lines type organization. Take a trip and see their operation in eastern Kentucky and you'll feel good about your donation, just like I did.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 18, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

May 18, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

I was born in KY and know the problems there. As a Christian I felt it was a wonderful cause. Like others I have been concerned with the excessive solicitation letters I received. They appear to be declining under the new director. I hope so. The practice of sending excessive solicitations is not just a waste of funds but has caused me (and others) to stop donating. They must become more responsive and respectful toward their donors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it more responsive to donor requests e.g. stop sending so many requests for donations. This is money that could be used elsewhere.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 9, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I started donating small amounts of money years ago to this organization in honor of family members. They treat small donors with the same appreciation of larger ones. After retiring, I decided to increase my donation by becoming a short term volunteer. I have served at WorkFest, YouthFest and Children's Summer Camp. I have observed how the funds are spent. All persons involved are dedicated to stretching the donations, and at the same time having quality programming. I admire what this organization does for the people of Appalachia. They are truly Americans helping Americans---They are 'What's Right with America"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers