Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
123.0445
Write A Review
December 11, 2014

more

December 11, 2014

I saw an ad for this so-called charity on the UP tv channel. I'm so glad I decided to do some research before giving money. Looking at the reviews, the only POSITIVE ones I'm seeing are from board members. To me that is extremely TELLING. I will not give one cent to a 'charity' where the president makes an obscenely high salary and the professional fundraising harasses people. This is an example of what began as a GOOD organization and has now been corrupted into a money making machine. Shame on the people who have ruined this and are taking money intended to help the poor and are putting it in their own pockets. God will judge you and you will see what you have done when you are punished.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

CAP Is doing a Great Work for the people of the mountains.
January 2, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 2, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Having quickly read the reviews what is most telling is the $171,000 salary for the Mr Adams, and
the high % of reviews from Board Members???? .... sorry my money is going to the Salvation Army where I
understand that a high % of my dollar actually goes to the people who need it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire a person who is willing to take a lower salary.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I To Have Been Pushed Away By The Frequent Solicitations For Donations In The Mail. What A Waste! What Jumps Out At Me Reading These Reviews Is The Overwhelming Number Of Over-Paid Executives Having To Write 5-Star Reviews To Defend Their Charitable Organization...And It Still Only Bringing It Up To A 3-Star Overall Rating. How Sad. The Wonderful, Kind-Hearted, Giving Appellation People Deserve Better Advocates!!! I'm Sure If Someone Took The Time To Add Up All The Money Spent Directly To Help The Appalachian People Under The New Administration And Compared The Total To The Money Spent On The Organization (Salaries, Overhead, DirectMail, Publicity, Etc.), The Organization Would Prove To Be the Greatest beneficiaries Of Our Hard-Earned Donations Of Late! ShameOnYou!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

EliminateWaste, IncreaseBenefitToTheAssociationPeople, CleanHouseAdministratively,HirePeopleThatConsiderTheJobALaborOfLoveAndAPrivilegeInsteadOfAStatus-BoostingPosition

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

June 4, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I can tell you that I am offended by the mailers, especially when they have coins glued in them....what a waste of resources! Am I'm sorry but G Adams getting over $171k per year to run a CHARITY? ....that's just plain sick! CHRISTIAN App should remember the scripture that says 'anyone who leads one of these little ones astray...it is better to have a stone around his neck and dropped into the depth of the ocean than to experience the wrath of God. You're greed has become your focus just like every other company in America....and you will pay for it.....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire everyone and get nuns and volunteers to run it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 24, 2013
14 people found this review helpful

more

May 24, 2013
14 people found this review helpful

This is the third time I erite the review -your website knocked me off twice.
We know Cap for 25 plus years. Father Beitng was in charge. Cap had an asssociated busine4ss selling Xmas wreaths. We gladly gave to the organization helping the poor of Appalachia. Thedn after some years Father
Beiting was out (Did he die I never heard of it) Now there was a Charity BUSINESS with all the consumer trimmings. We asked to reduce the mail and stop phone calls. On Nov. 18 2011 I sent a registered letter to Sue Sword to stop our association. Mailings continued -2 letters at a time- ever since. The letters went iinto the fire -unopened. I feel responsible for the donors, now; they need to know how their money is wasted. I feel mre sorry for the charity recipients -there is so much more they could get with a decent administration.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a true Christian Business man or woman reorganize Father Beitings charity -in his spirit. Remember that the 2 most important factions are the recipients of the charity and also their donors. Treating either group the wrong way will kill the "business" Ignoring either group is fatal.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

Great organization that helps an area of Kentucky in great need!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a board member since 2005 and have seen first hand what a wonderful program the Christian Appalachian Project (CAP) has developed. They are a service based organization that tries to strengthen the people of Appalachia and help them find a way out of poverty. I have served on the Development Committee as well as currently serving as the chairperson of the Program Committee and have seen the kindness of our employees and their willingness to help those in need. One of my favorite programs is our alternative spring break Work Fest , which benefits people whose homes have fallen into disrepair. How wonderful to teach college students to help those less fortunate. It has been a privilege to be associated with this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a Board Member for 8 years, have chaired the Personnel Committee, been Board chair for 3 years. I also assisted with upgrading the camp facilities and volunteer housing. CAP has continuously reviewd its mission, and strives to provide the maximum impact on people in need for the funds they receive. They look at the whole of hte person and their situation including the family. If the child has needs, they also look at the housing as this child cannot do good work in a poor environment. CAP continuously evaluates the needs of the area and adopts to those needs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I have been a board member for over ten years. I have served on the finance and audit committees during that time. I have also participated in Workfest, and I have visited other operations. I can say the people of CAP are honest, hard-working, and devoted to serving the people of Appalachia. The legacy of Fr. Beiting is strong in that CAP works to serve the needs of of the poor many ways. We recently decided to focus on development of Appalachian children through their families, while maintainingg service to the elderly.
I have seen CAP lead college students to change houses that were virtually unlivable into decent homes. I can also tell you that the board is conscientious about ensuring donor money is well spent in accordance with our mission. CAP does invest in fund-raising because the environment for charitable giving is very competitive, but the money that is raised is well-spent.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers