Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.863645
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

Wow... where do I start? Singers Marin is one of the best assets in Marin...hands down. It has been instrumental in changing the young lives of two girls for whom I will be forever in gratitude. I am the guardian of two beautiful girls whose mom died in a car accident at a young age and endured neglect and abuse from their former caregivers. And although these girls have been extremely resilient in overcoming their past traumas, they have been challenged by self-esteem, self-worth and confidence issues. Then Last Summer we happened upon the Singers Marin "Musical You" Musical Summer Camp in Mill Valley spear-headed by Jan Schiff and Amanda Morano. Amazingly, In two weeks these girls were singing Broadway tunes in groups and proudly alone on stage. It was simply magical! Then during this past schoolyear, both girls had the confidence to enter their school's talent show. Proudly they both sang...with no accompaniment...and in acapella..."Put A Little Love in Your Heart" to an audience of over 200 people. I don't think their was a single dry eye in the school that night after their performance. I attribute this success to the Singers Marin who introduced them to singing songs in a magical way which has now become part of their souls. And now, they sooo enjoy proudly sharing their songs with others. The gift that Singers Marin gave these girls is not easy to find or come by...and no amount of money can buy it. It is a gift that will no doubt will last these children a lifetime.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 31, 2012

more

May 31, 2012

I m thrilled to share my personal experience with this wonderful orgonization. Choral Singers of Marin have performed for Aegis for over a decade, always looking and sound professional. They are flexible and easy to work with scheduling for the childrens, teens and adult chiors. They're always on time, come prepared for warm-ups and are generous with their time by always staying to greet and thank the residents for coming. I highly recomment Jan Pedersen and the Choral Singers of Marin.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 30, 2012

more

May 30, 2012

Wonderful, adorable and absolutely enchanting. Singers of Marin, Twinkling Stars (their youngest choral group of children 6-8 years old) entertained us at our recent fundraising dinner to benefit, Gilead House, a transitional home for homeless moms and kids. The little singers grabbed the hearts of all who attended and they can sing too! The result was our most successful fundraising event ever. Thank you little Twinkling Stars. They are a must for any event and we hope to have them back again soon.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 24, 2012

more

May 24, 2012

I have participated in several of the summer programs with thei group. No auditions needed just the love of singing. I joined with my elementary school daughter. We were suprised at the high level of professionalism with their choir, directors, and accompanyist. In addtion it was great community service taking our large choir to sing for shut ins who could never have come to see our performance. I have reccomended, and recrutied many to participate. Joining with others to make music touches me in a way that nothing on earth can. While I have not participated for a few years, I still attend their performances and will continue whenever I can.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

Singers Marin brings several wonderful concerts, both small and large, to our community each year. Our audiences value the professional skill of the director (Jan Pedersen-Schiff), and the quality of the voices, especially in the Wings of Song chorus. Wings of Song performs twice a year for us in our large Auditorium and also in our Health Care center serving long term care and rehab patients. Especially to this second group, quality live music is an incredibly meaningful gift to share. Smaller choruses of children also do short informal performances in our Library and Personalized Care areas to the delight of all. A wonderful group to be involved with and we're lucky to be a beneficiary of their considerable talent and generosity.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
March 28, 2012

I moved to Marin in high school and found that my new school had no choir! I was so happy to find SingersMarin and a choir that I could sing in. I got to travel to Europe with the group, and made new friends which was difficult for me moving to a new place at 16. The other thing that this organization did for me was push me to pursue music in my life. I worked with the Artistic Director privately as well, and was able to get into a Performing Arts High School to finish school, which was incredibly life changing for me. I went on the study Music and Vocal Performance in college in large part due to this organization. I now teach for SingersMarin. Though that may make me biased, I think it shows how much this Non-Profit did for my life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 19, 2011

more

April 19, 2011

SingersMarin is a outstanding choral organization that has bringing the gift of music to youth and adults for over 30 years in a disciplined and challenging, yet fun and enjoyable manner. I highly reccommend this organization to anyone interested in exploring and developing their musical voice.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My wife suggested I try-out for SingersMarin. I pleasantly found that I had a voice, and with the encouragement and direction of the SingersMarin Artistic Director, Jan Pederson-Schiff, I have developed musically. I have grown personally by being challenged in a rigorous and disciplined musical environment, and enjoy the reward that creating music provides. The gift that SingersMarin bring to both me as the singer, and to the listening audience, is immensely fufilling.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more persons to try-out.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Wrod of mouth

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Musical discipline and development

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers