Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.896555
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 13, 2013

more

November 13, 2013

I am both a board member (since 2006) and a regular presenter. I love this program! Time and time again I leave the classroom feeling like I made a difference in at least one kid's perspective. It's a great message and really gets them thinking about why education will be important specifically to them and the life they wish to lead later!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Serve more kids!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have followed the activities of CHOICES since it was founded in 1985. Since that time over six million students have received the CHOICES message of how the choices they make today can have a profound effect for the rest of their lives. Students hear it and 88% approve of it while 97% of their teachers agree.

A program that has 140 sites in 38 states sounds like it might be expensive. At $4.86 per student it is not. The reason it is not is that a great many volunteers deliver the message because they feel it is very compelling and very necessary.

The National Chamber of Commerce agrees with them in as much as a few years ago it selected CHOICES as one of five finalists in their search for the best Community Based Programs in the country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Search for ways to reach more children with the CHOICES message.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

The CHOICES program that we presented to eighth graders last year really opened some eyes. Eighth grade students are well-positioned to have their eyes opened when their attention is drawn to developments that could be happening in their lives soon. It's relevant, so unless they are completely hopeless they pay attention. And the program is hopeful. So it draws attention.

The presentation is simple, engaging, and easily replicated by willing volunteers, which is a recipe for success and continuity of the program as well as for the kids.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more hopeful and inspiration messages, such as the fact that research shows a child can increase outcomes as well as their intelligence though working hard.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I have been leading the CHOICES program at Junior High Schools in the area of Robinson Township / Moon Township and Hopewell Township in Pittsburgh, PA for some years now. My experience has been that it is helpful to the students to help them learn to make the correct CHOICES in their student life, personal life and learn to plan for the future. I have taught this program at schools with a high High School drop out rate and at schools that really already have the students on a correct path. In all spectrum of the Junior High Schools the program reaches students. People coming from industry and participating in this program probably touch students differently than their parents or their teachers. I participate in the program as much as possible and am considering if I have time to be on the board of directors for this program in the future. I was able to make the right CHOICES when I was young to follow the path that I really wanted to in life. But possibly, not all students are able to do this for so many reasons. This programs helps them realize that they can make changes and can make the right CHOICES, no matter what they have done in the past.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any changes. It is a great program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I have been presenting this program the last 3 years in the St Robert Missouri area. It has been a rewarding experience. As I told the last class last week. If I can help just one student to stay in school and graduate than I am happy happy, but I would like to know that I have helped all 30 of you students so that I may be happy, happy, happy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

drop the factors skit and focus on the self discipline.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I have been involved with Choices for 12 years presenting in the local schools and serving on the Board. It truely makes a difference in the lives of kids reinforcing the message of continuing to build their foundation of education to support their future endeavours. The program is fun and egaging. I would highly recommend it to others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I have been volunteering and presenting the CHOICES program in several diffrent middle schools for about 7 years now. The program is very well constructed to catch the young student's attention and gets them thinking about the importance of education. They are presented with a true account of where they could be in life after high school, good or bad, depending on their dedication to learn.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing comes to mind

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

I started volunteering last year (2012) and enjoyed it very much. When Kathi presented to our Rotary club (Gonzales), I knew it was something I needed to do. I am always talking with youth about going to college and this program is perfect with the ability to reach an entire class at a time and really have an impact.
When presented the opportunity to participate in another year, I jumped at the opportunity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to more schools.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I volunteered for CHOICES when it was just starting out and am honored to be a part of CHOICES again! The program has grown and expanded over the years, but the basic goal of presenting to young people the concept that by graduating from high school they have more choices in life, has only gotten stronger. The program materials blend the basics of why staying in school is so important with the opportunities of using technology to further connect with students and enhance the program. It is also enduring to see long time sponsors continue and new sponsors see value in encouraging young people and providing meaningful volunteer opportunities for their employees.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create opportunities to get the word out about the Program.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I was a volunteer for Choices last year through Lodi Rotary . It was a great experience, the material was easy to use and the kids were able to participate and learn. It is a great program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers