Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

My teenager is looking to make marine sciences his college major. This summer was his second trip to CFS as a week long camper. He had the time of his life! The staff is excellent and very engaging. This facility is the perfect fit for those interested in marine science, ecology and similar topics.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I attended Marine Science Consortium for a week with my grandchild in 2012 and again in 2013. We all had a marvelous time learning about the miracles of our marshes, shorelines, bays and creeks. We seined, we netted, we collected, we studied, we experimented, we swam, we enjoyed Chincoteague ponies, we boated, we bused, and we ate huge ice cream cones. What's not to like if you are a 10 year old girl/boy or a 70 something grandmother/father.

The accommodations are clean and although sparse, very comfortable. The daily schedule is fully packed and also allows time for child play and grandparent rest. The staff is well equipped to handle the rambunctious as well as the sedate. Their abundant knowledge is shared in ways consistent with their audience's levels. The interns obviously enjoyed their time with the children and were very helpful to the grandparents. I am very glad that I was able to afford this week at the beach with my grandchildren. We certainly got out monies worth and more. Thank you for keeping this program so affordable. I have one more grandchild that wants to come next year.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

This place is amazing! The staff is always friendly and willing to help. Many programs led by the staff and others who visit make a huge difference in the scientific community as well as with the local wildlife!
Absolutely wonderful place to get hand on experience!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a pool? Or offer scuba classes This place is perfect the way it is!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I had the privilege of teaching a class on kayak building here. I will say up front I was paid to do this so technically I guess that made me part of the staff, but this doesn't influence my review.

I spent 8 days there teaching and what stands out to me is the staff! The staff are like
Disney employees, everyone is smiling and willing to help. Never had a problem with anything I asked for or needed. They were always quick to help.

Once during the class we needed some small something, I can't remember exactly what it was but I made the comment to the student I was working with, “I just hate to ask Jim or Emily ( our assistants for the week) for that its so minor”.

She replied "I know, they will just over serve us!" That comment says it all. Ask for a pencil and you get 3 or 4 and a sharpener too.

Even the young high school age interns I meet were friendly and were not afraid to make eye contact and talk with you.

The facilities were top notch too. The cafeteria food was good and staff was, like everyone else, friendly and willing to help.

I was just totally impressed and looking forward to teaching there next year!

The only complaint I had and that was really out of their hands, was the terrible cellular internet service. There is wi-fi available in the main building and I think the commons area of the dorms. But outside those the service was very spotty but of course they have no control over that.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I brought my homeschooled student for one of the excellent programs. It FAR exceeded my expectations. The science was spot on and my son learned a tremendous amount in the short time we were there. The hands-on activities were very engaging and went so much further than I could have in a home setting. They have very well-appointed labs and didn't hesitate to let the kids responsibly use any of their equipment.
The dorms were clean and comfortable and the cafeteria ladies went over and above to ensure that the kids all had things that they liked to eat. I have celiac disease and they provided gluten-free choices and my son is vegetarian. Even the transportation between activities was fun and entertaining. I can't say enough good things! Thanks to Parker and MSC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not one blessed thing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

What a wonderful nonprofit. It is perfectly located to study the Chesapeake Bay's environment. Staff is knowledgeable and professional. Administrators run programs with great care to address the needs of the general public and specific groups. They offer a variety of opportunities for all ages to learn by doing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Thank you, MSC! They gave me a great experience and I can't wait for my family to have similar ones!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

May 10, 2013

more

May 10, 2013

The MSC is one of the truly unqiue places where people of all ages can have transformational learning experiences. My two children participated in the summer program years ago, before the new nice facilities existed. They loved their experience at the MSC. Both of them are studing sciences now. Nothing like a great hands-on experience to help children find they joy of learning!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

I've volunteered with this non-profit several times over the past few years and have always been impressed with the quality of their programs. Their staff is always willing to go above and beyond to deliver the best programs and they definitely live up to their tag-line: "Hands on, feet wet education".

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

Great programs and fantastic staff! We love visiting the MSC and always learn a lot!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist with aquarium maintenance, prepare educational program materials, or help with scientific database entries. Volunteer