Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have been involved with this organization for about 18 years. I especially like knowing that donations are spent on the needy students and families that they work with, and very very little on overhead. I also like that those that volunteer are there for the sincerest reasons. The woman who runs the organization, Maria D'Angelo is a true Angel on Earth. Her desire to help the families is so genuine and contagious that there isn't a person who knows her who doesn't love and admire her. She inspires the volunteers to get involved on a very personal level which is rewarding to not only the families being helped, but the volunteers as well. Maria's daughter Franscesca and son Sean help her run the Foundation and are tireless in their dedication to the families they help. A remarkeable organization because of the family and volunteers that run it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have seen first-hand how the Children's Lifesaving Foundation's changes children's lives. They ensure that their students get a good education, and learn to appreciate and care for that education. They give the children in their Camp4All program, the students they tutor and their families hope, self esteem and the tools to improve their lives. It is always a joy volunteering with them, and I look forward to doing it again this year! :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think they are great, just as they are.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have been volunteering with the CLF for the past 6 months as a tutor, helping kids with their homework. Typically, I am helping kids in the 1st-5th grade. It's very satisfying to make a connection with a child. There is a trust factor that needs to be established by the child with the tutor. It helps for them to like you and enjoy working with you. It's my challenge to make the learning fun and memorable. I want the kids to truly look forward to seeing me, and when they run up to me and say hi or give me a hug, I know it's authentic and I know I am making a difference in their lives.

These kids are like any other kids. They need love, attention and to learn how to focus on their studies. Through this program, these children are gaining confidence, excelling in their studies, and moving on to become productive citizens.

Volunteers are always needed. Come and make a lifetime connection.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have volunteered with this amazing organization for the last 15 years. They are the kindest most giving people you will ever meet. The lives they have touched and saved is extrodinary. Maria and her children have created a safe haven for all the blessed children that have been helped by this wonderful organization. I am so grateful to work with them and my life has been enriched by knowing them.

Diane Perez

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I am honored to have come in contact with this amazing agency. I have been the recipient and watchful eye to all of their good deeds over the past 20 years. I cant go without saying that the Children's Lifesaving Foundation is nothing more than modern day Angels, its been a truly amazing relationship we have had over the years, I've watched them put my friends in homes, I've even seen the President open her own home to a needing family. I've always felt their work was never noticed or somewhat overlooked. So I'm here today spreading the word of all the greatness I've seen personally over the last 20 years, I've really been amazed honestly by their consistency, I was 13 years old when I met Maria Deangelo and the friends at the Childrens Lifesaving foundation, im 33 years old now working for a major Motion Picture company, married 12 years with three little ones and the Children's Lifesaving foundation is still at it! Changing lives!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Have you ever met an angel face to face? Have you ever looked into the eyes of somebody for the very first time and saw nothing but unconditional love? I've had it and you can have it too. All you have to do is look into the eyes of Maria D'Angelo. This happened for me 20 years ago and I have been an ardent supporter, donor, and volunteer ever since. When the day comes that I win the Powerball Jackpot, Maria and The Childrens Lifesaving Foundation will never need another penny from anybodyy else. Until that day comes you should reach deep into your wallets and give all that you can afford, and then give some more. I have had an automatic deduction taken from my checking account every month for 20 years. I only wish that I could give more. I work with other wonderful charities along with The CLF. There is one major and unbeleivable difference. The Childrens Lifesaving foundation has accomplished all the amazing things they have with only three employees. Maria and her two equally amazing children, Francesca and Sean. This means that unlike most charities where you are lucky if 40 cents of every dollar actually goes to help the the people who need it. When you donate to the Childrens Lifesaving Foundation, almost all of it gets to the people that you intended it for. This is beyond amazing and as a volonteer, donor, and friend, over the last 20 years I am still amazed by this fact. This is why I have been Santa Claus at the amazing Christmas parties every year. This is why I start every Thanksgiving with my CLF family at The House of Blues helping them feed upwards of 1500 people and families that would not have a wonderfull hot turkey with all the fixings meal without Maria, The CLF and the owners and volunteers from The House of Blues. Over the years I have also served as an un-official photographer for all these functions. I have watched small children grow up to be fine young adults. I have watched families saved from the streets and shelters and go on to be successful American citizens. All of this because of the work of three angels posing as regular human beings. Thank you to Francesca and Sean McCaffery, and of course to the Angel who gave birth to them, my wonderful friend and sister, Maria D'Angelo. I love you all and just as I knew 20 years ago, I know today that if you need my help, I will always be there for you and the most amazing charity in the world, The Childrens Lifesaving Foundation!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Donate enough money to help Maria have her dream of a permanent village for the Foundation become a reality. We can't just depend on my eventual Powerball winnings. We need the richest 1% of Americans and people around the world to part with some of their millions and billions. It's tax deductable after all!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I could not see myself where I am right now without the help of The Children’s Life-Saving Foundation. I have been involved with this non-profit since I was in 6th grade in middle school. I barely had being in this country for about a year. I started middle school with fear, and not speaking English.
Through my friend Angel Carrasco, whom I lived with in the same apartment structure shared with me the experience of The Children’s Life-Saving Foundation. I started going, and in the first say I was in love. I was welcomed with warmth as if they had seen me grow up since day one. They treated my as part of their family, and were always sincerely caring about me. It was not a regular after school program; I was actually going to my second home. Maria De Angelo genuinely, and with her whole heart cared about my future. Every time she asked me “how my day was”, she wanted to know if everything was going good in school, and outside of school. Her motherly love for me made me feel proud, and gave me strength to pursue a higher education.
Sean McCaffery, is one of the most amazing persons in The Children’s Life-Saving Foundation. You can look up to him as your big brother, and even a dad. He is there for you when you need him. He is fun, loving and cares for you. If you’re feeling down, he will find a way to cheer you up. Francesca McCaffery, another amazing person at The Children’s Life-Saving Foundation. It is because of her I have a passion for the arts, and I’m majoring in film-making. She introduced me to opportunities in photography, and film. It was Francesca that guided me, and showed me to different opportunities that further my education, and future. The amount of gratitude I have for her involvement in my life is tremendous.
I would not be in the same place I am now without the support of The Children’s Life-Saving Foundation. They do so much work to support the lives of youth, encouraging them to pursue their dreams. They believed in me, and still do. Their encouragement makes a difference, and impacts the lives of many children. I am glad, and feel grateful to have being part of The Children’s Life-Saving Foundation. Thanks to them I want to continue my education, and follow my dreams, and contribute back to all their help I’ve received. Through them, I realized the importance of working with the community, and the impact one can have on others lives.
Thank you Children’s Life-Saving Foundation¬, without your involvement in my life, I would not be where I am today.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

My name is Jasmin Romero, age 19. When I was 11, I was introduced to the loving founders of The Children's Lifesaving Foundation, Maria De Angelo, Sean, and Francessca. My first memory I have of Maria goes back to the very first day I met her. I made my way up the stairs to find Maria standing with open arms , waiting to embrace me.
She kissed me on my cheek and welcomed me to the program, and most importantly the family.
That's what we are, a huge family that helps out others and we help eachother out. I instantly became part of the Care Through College Program, which in basic terms, provides tutors, school supplies, support and guidance throughout High School and College. The program also includes surfing lessons every summer at Zuma beach, which is well known for its waves. We also go out to movie outings, and numerous of field trips that include The Aquarium of the Pacific, overnight camping trips, birthday celebrations at numerous of restaurants and much more.
I was part of the program since 6th grade, and I continue to take part in the events and outings we attend. I graduated on time for the class of 2012, and I had the support of my family, "CLF," along the way. My journey of course didnt end there. I am now part of the scholarship program, and i volunteer to help spread the word and good cause that The Children's Lifesaving Foundation participates in. Just last March, we had the opportunity have an article printed in People Magazine, with Maria De Angelo honored as, "Heros Amoung Us." A few of those who part take in the Foundation, including myself, had a photoshoot and a quoted article. An addition of the article was recently added with more filling stories about our giving program. I couldn't be more greatful to take part and be part of the CLF. Francesca, who I adore with all my heart, helped me with college by finding amazing sponsors to help us students pay for our tuition. Sean of course is my hero, and is a fatherly role model and I can always trust and speak to him when I need someone to run to. Without Maria, I don't know what I would be up to or doing with my life right now. I came to her as a complete stranger, and I now see her as my fairy godmother, and role model. She understood my problems at home with my fear of not attending college due to my father's Kidney Faliure and transplant. Thankfully, he is now as health as a horse, but Maria never stopped believing in me and she continues to support me and guide me through life. I love them all very much, and thanks to them, I am now doing my second year of college. Like I stated in the People Magazine article, " I owe my world to Maria." I couldn't be more greatful for the amazing family I was blessed with. I will never leave the foundation, for the day I complete my Bachlores in Science and proceed to become a Midwife, I will give back to those who have given so much to me, Maria and the Children's Lifesaving Foundation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

I've had the honor of knowing The Children's Life Saving Foundation over the past six years and the incredible work that Maria D'Angelo and her children and staff have provided to homeless families. This organization not only provides a home for it's residents but just as importantly provides needed support and educational services. The organization instills hope in the lives of those it has touched and an opportunity to help families and children see a brighter future. I am so impressed by the life skills this program provides to both parents and children. As the old saying goes "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." (W. Churhill). The giving spirit is alive and well at the Children's Life Saving Foundation. Well done!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

I am Valentino, Childrens Lifesaving Foundation is amazing, because they are nice. They give us lots of gifts that are incredibly awesome. They help you a lot with school and homework. I like that they have great hearts! I like when it's Christmas, because we get gifts from Santa Claus.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers