Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

I'm honored to have partnered with CHF. Seeing first hand the passion that Dave and his staff have towards children and those that are in need and the continued impact that they have done all over the world. CHF is second to none.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 19, 2013

more

April 19, 2013

Love the work of CHF. Love the opportunities created by CHF for others to get involved in helping children around the world have a little better life than they normally would have. Love that CHF is one of the few charitable organizations where donations go directly to help the poor and not to "administration". Love that CHF is an international supplier of food to a dying world. Love that CHF is transparent in its operations and worthy to help support by our giving or our volunteering. I have a daughter whose entire family volunteers throughout the year either packing food boxes for shipment somewhere or by volunteering to wrap Christmas packages for the less advantaged. I can't think of a better organization to teach her children the meaning of giving sacrificially and literally to the work of CHF.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 17, 2012

more

Review from JustGive
December 17, 2012

I first came in contact with CHF about 12 years ago when my church was volunteering at their annual Christmas toy wrap. This is an amzing organization serving God with offering life-changing experiences for our local children and children worldwide. Year after year, CHF is recognized for the impact they are making and for being fiscally responsible with the donations received. May God continue to Bless these individuals for the work they are doing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I'm very honor to contribute to this noble organization.. I hope they can achieve all of their goals and wipe out children's hunger..

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 1, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

We were introduced to Children's Hunger Fund in 2002. At that time the charity was 10 years old. After hearing the Founder/President, Dave Phillips at an event he was addressing for the first time, we did our due diligence and not only researched to find out the efficiency of the organization but also wanted to know the effectiveness of the programs. It is now almost 10 years later and we remain loyal donors, supporters and friends to Children's Hunger Fund. It's one thing to know that a charity takes stewardship of the financial donations seriously, but also very rewarding to know that those donations are being put to effective programs that bring about change in the life of the family on the recipient side.

The need is great, the ability for a charity to reach many depends upon a program (such as the one at CHF) that partners with the local church in order to engage an army of like-stewards to reach those families in their zip code area; build the relationship; then assist the family in moving out of what got them into their predicament in the first place. It's not about a box of food, but the effective and continual change that affects and entire neighborhood, community and yes, even the nation.

Thank you Children's Hunger Fund for remaining within God's Will as you project the Vision of CHF to the donors/staff/prospective donors and staff.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Watching the transformation of lives through effective Compassion Ministry by engaging the local church.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more ways to be a great advocate for them and what they do.

March 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I've been so blessed to know and partner with the CHF team for more than seven years. Their amazing leadership, their extensive knowledge of logistics and what works in the more than 70 countries they serve is evidenced by the effectiveness of their campaigns, their steady growth and their compassionate hearts. They're one of the most effective charities I've ever seen and I'm excited to continue partnering with them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In Uganda (in Gaba, Mubende, Muleete & Bethany Village & beyond); Lima, Peru; the Dominican Republic, Haiti and here in California, specifically the San Fernando Valley & beyond.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand into other cities; continue to create engaging content (storytelling)

March 16, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 16, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Children's Hunger Fund is my charity of choice for helping the needy in the US and abroad. They are setup to help individual churches meet their local hunger needs as well as equipped to meet the needs of large crises. I have been privileged to help pack food at their San Antonio location and meet the staff their. I am impressed by their desire to keep the Gospel of Jesus Christ as the focus of their humanitarian work as well as their ability to operate on some very slim margins, making the most of every dollar (or product) donated.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have talked to them about getting involved in their support of our area by my church becoming a partner with them - we could provide workers, they would provide food boxes for the needy in our geographical area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their viability to the public as I believe their type of service is unique. I especially like their partnering with local churches and their philosophy.

March 16, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 16, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is so great. We love helping out a volunteering at our local CHF location. We helped packed Food Paks that were being distributed in our very own city and to places over seas. Our family also had fun wrapping toys for children everywhere during their Toy Wrap. Everyone who works there is incredibly talented with tremendous hearts, we always look forward to volunteering and share about Children's Hunger Fund.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

joining them in packing Food Paks and getting a better look of how I can make changes in my life to better the lives of our neighborers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask them to open an office in my city, but we are moving to be closer to them to serve as we feel we should.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Giving me a better look of how I can make changes in my life to better the lives of our neighborers.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It felt great to serve next to really great people.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 16, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 16, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

We live in an area were our kids cannot serve with us to help out the hungry, poor, homeless. At CHF (3 hours away from us) we are able to do that and have been serving at CHF since my kids were 5 years old. We have since brought CHF Food Pak campaign to our church and the response is bigger then expected. When you see how easy it is to serve and then investigate the financial stewardship (99% going to program and NOT administrative) it is a no brainer.
The best ministry we are involved in, as a family. We will continue far into the future.
Thank you CHF.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Atascadero, CA and in Watts, CA

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOTHING

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

CAN'T THINK OF ANYTHING

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

YES. I see how efficient & affective an organization can be when done in the name of Christ and taking the time to organize volunteers to reduce admin costs.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

AMAZING and it has been doing that consistently for 3 years.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers