Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Our family is so grateful for Children's Health Council! Our young son was struggling with depression and other mental health issues and no one seemed to know how to help him. He literally could not make it through a school day at our local elementary school. Every day, I waited to get "the call" from the principal that I needed to come get my son because he was unable to cope at school. The staff at CHC, and especially at EBC School, were there to support our son and our whole family, as we worked to get help for our son's very painful suffering. They never said "we don't know what to do". Instead, they said "we'll help you find answers". Today our son is a thriving senior at a local high school, looking forward to college! Thank you, CHC, for giving our son a new lease on life!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to get the word out! CHC is a treasure and more people should know about it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

I have been going to CHC for the last 12 years starting when my son was diagnosed with ASD. As new parents we were very worried and scared. CHC helped us and presently is helping us with their amazing group of professionals going through our journey in a more supportive way. Our son has made great progress after all he has gone through. We as a family could have never made this journey without CHC in our lives.
Gabriela Rojas
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

When i was seven years old, I was in a serious car crash. i still remember vividly the weeks after, when i would wake up int he middle of the night screaming and crying. I couldn't get into cars and i was slowly getting more paranoid about ever type of vehicles or anything related to the crash. When i went to Childrens Health counsel for the first time, I will never forget the warm atmosphere that greeted me and the experienced staff that knew exactly how young children's minds work. After months of feeling petrified without knowing why, the psychologists at CHC helped me open up and come to terms with everything that happened in a way that i could process. From the well trained psychologists, to the warm atmosphere, I will forever be indebted to the people of CHC.
September 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 15, 2014

Our son has been a long time client of CHC. We first met with Dr. Caryn Kovar who diagnosed our son as being dyslexic and helped us seek immediate remediation at the Charles Armstrong School. She ha... more

September 24, 2014

My child was struggling in school and after a diagnosis and treatment from Dr. Elliott, it literally changed his life. He was immediately able to perform above grade level and is now succeeding in the top 10% of one of the top academic high schools in San Francisco. CHC changed our lives!
April 15, 2014

Our son has been a long time client of CHC. We first met with Dr. Caryn Kovar who diagnosed our son as being dyslexic and helped us seek immediate remediation at the Charles Armstrong School. She has been wonderful to work with and has a terrific way with children.

While at Armstrong, we
realized there were attention issues which kept our son from progressing. That's when Dr. Kovar brought Dr. Glen Elliott into the picture and diagnosed him as having"inattentive" ADHD. Dr. Elliott prescribed the perfect medication which unleashed our son's ability to fully apply his natural intelligence to school work.

Within a year, he transitioned out of Armstrong and is now a top performer at one of the top academic high schools in San Francisco.

Thanks to Dr. Kovar and Dr. Elliott our son is one of the lucky ones. They saved him continue to provide extraordinary service. I would recommend them without hesitation to any family who is struggling with a child who has learning difficulties
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

CHC has helped our family in so many ways! When no one else could diagnose our child's issues properly, CHC came through. They were then able to follow-up with excellent family therapy. Today my son is thriving in the IT industry. We are now into our second family generation of treatment, as they are helping my grandson work through some learning issues. What an amazing place!
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

We've had a very positive experience with the Center with two of our children. The staff are marvelous. They are great with kids, great with parents and their reports are very complete and accessible. The reports are so fascinating, we're going to be happy to know more about our kids and their individual learning styles as well. We really appreciate how the team at CHC have been a tremendous help to us at a hard time.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014

Children's Health Council~ My son has been attending Sand Hill School . He also has had a full mental, emotional and social evaluation upstairs in The Center. We have learned valuable information which would have been tough to acquire elsewhere. We are very happy to be more aware of him and his needs. We work hard to help him, but we needed and still need the help of much of what CHC offers in order to have gotten to this point; a stepping off point to addressing the issues he faces. Fortunately, we know what to try to address now. They have the right combination of people and resources to help us progress and perhaps transition to public school one day. My wife and I love the services and protection CHC provides our son. The classroom size, the smaller reading and math groups, the incredible staff and approaches they use at SHS set it apart. The issues CHC can identify and address help us to do the best for our child. I am biased, but I have proof of the quality provided and that is all I need to endorse this great organization. -PeterO
—Submitted by a parent
September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014

My 9 year old son has mild autism. He struggled tremendously in the public school system. After 2 years struggling in the mainstream, he had low self esteem and hated going to school. He was lost in the crowd of his 30 kid / 1 teacher public school classroom. Not to mention completely lost socially on the school yard amongst hundreds of kids. In the classroom he was preoccupied with his various distraction techniques to manage his anxiety or filter out the noise and chaos overwhelming his sensory system. As a result, very little learning was able to take place. And though he had teachers who cared about him, they and I were unsupported by administration in ways to help him. To have to put your sweet and intelligent child into an environment where he is misunderstood and flailing to survive academically, socially, and emotionally on a daily basis, it is one of the worst feelings as a parent. And to now have him at Sand Hill School, in an environment of love and support with people who are lifting him up and helping him to learn, grow, and thrive, it brings tears to my eyes! I cannot express enough how grateful I am to have the privilege of sending my son to this school.
March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

Our daughter has attended Sand Hill School/CHC for the past year. She entered the school a depressed and stressed child but her self esteem has been transformed. No longer does she immediately respond to each school problem by crumbling; she now says, "I may not get it yet, but I will get it soon." She is now an advocate for her needs and no longer a victim of learned helplessness. We have also received amazing OT services at CHC. Thank you Sand Hill/CHC for giving our daughter a second chance at a happy school experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

When asked her opinion about Sand Hill our daughter says that the school should change their mascot. She suggests a butterfly because "Sand Hill transforms you like you are butterfly inside"

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2013

My son is in his second year at Sand Hill School, and it has been a savior for both my son and our entire family. My son hated school with a passion before coming to Sand Hill, and now he never compl... more

March 19, 2014

After two years at Sand Hill School, my 11 yr old son is transitioning to a private, independent middle school next year. This would never have been close to possible without the tools (academic, social, emotional), constant and consistent support, guidance and love that the entire faculty and administration at Sand Hill has given my son. The experience at Sand Hill has been transformative, for both my son and our family. I could not recommend Sand Hill School any higher for families with children who are struggling from ADHD, low self esteem, depression, anxiety, and other LD's. My son hated school before coming to Sand Hill and now his biggest worry is saying goodbye to all of the incredible teachers. I will be forever grateful to the people at Sand Hill and CHC and to the wonderful benefactors who have made this possible for our family and many others like us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013

My son is in his second year at Sand Hill School, and it has been a savior for both my son and our entire family. My son hated school with a passion before coming to Sand Hill, and now he never complains about going to school. He loves his teachers and says that Sand Hill has the "nicest principal ever." As a parent, I can say that the entire faculty and administration has been nothing but supportive and I feel that deeply care about my son's success. I also really appreciate the access to the therapists at CHC and the collaboration between CHC and Sand Hill. Just today, I recommended the School and the Center to a friend who is having challenges with her son. She saw the website and it gave her such hope - and I could not agree more. Sand Hill and CHC do just that - they give hope to families when they think there is no where left to turn. It has changed our lives. Last year, my son would tear his papers up when he perceived he couldn't do things. This year, he advocates for himself and asks for help from the teacher. This is just one small example of growth. I could go on and on, but Sand Hill and CHC have changed our lives!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More extracurricular classes on a regular basis - PE, music, instruments, art more than they can offer now

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers