Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

Our youngest son died very suddenly, at the age of 21 months, in April of 2005. I didn't know how to care for myself, much less help my 5 and 10 year old sons, who were devastated by their brother's death. I was told about the Children's Grief Center and called immediately, only to be told that their sessions had ended and they would start up again in September (they run on the same schedule as the schools). It was a rough summer for our family and I wasn't sure CGC would be of any value when we did start attending. After the first meeting, my son said he didn't "know why they call it the Grief Center because all we did was have fun." He didn't realize how much he was being helped but he refused to miss a single meeting. We attended CGC for almost two years and I can't tell you how much it helped our family. It was a lifeline where we could all express our feelings in a safe and understanding environment. We received so much help that I am now volunteering as a Bereavement Facilitator and trying to give back a little of what CGC gave to me and my family. If the children in your life have lost a loved one, the very best place to bring them is CGC. The support they will receive from the staff and from the other participants is life saving and life changing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

I have donated to the Children's Grief Center for a few years - I am consistently impressed with how effectively they spend their donor dollars to maximize the impact to the children they serve. Their mission is extremely important to the community and I'm very happy to be involved!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered for the Children's Grief Center for over two years now and I have enjoyed working with people who have so much passion, heart, and understanding in working with children who are grieving the loss of a loved one. Working with Jessica and Jade I have been very lucky to see first hand how to promote this very important non-profit and their success has been due to their passion for the children and families they help each year. I will continue to help the Children's Grief Center anyway I can because I believe in this non-profit and the people who created a wonderful place where children can go to not be alone in their time of grief.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been involved in a lot of nonprofits over the years, and volunteering at The Children's Grief Center has been one of the most rewarding experiences for me. You see my mother died when I was just 13 so I know how difficult it is for a kid to lose a parent-- or any family member. The CGC offers support groups for kids (and their parents) so that they can learn to live with the loss, and just as important, get to know others who are going through or have been through similar experiences. I wish there had been a Children's Grief Center for me...

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It's hard to measure results in terms of grief process, but I can say that I've seen kids open up and share their experiences with each other and I think that helps.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would make is to grow the organization so that more kids could be served.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

nothing I can think of.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

This experience has helped me understand my own grief, and given me insight into my family. I've also become a better listener, and am much better at facilitating groups than I was when I started.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Some days I didn't want to go, but I went anyway and ALWAYS felt glad that I did.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers