Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

After working for months at home on activities such as composing letters, interviewing, fundraising, and writing reports about the cultures and histories of the developing countries of Cambodia and Nicaragua, students such as myself, embarked on the the most humbling and eye opening experiences of our entire lives. I, Meaghan, have had the honor to travel with Children's Global Alliance to both Nicaragua and Cambodia. In Cambodia, I, along with eight other volunteers and three mentors worked in the Cooperation of Peace Orphanage in the slums. While in Nicaragua, I was one of five student volunteers to teach in a school for disabled individuals.CGA has truly impacted my life and has redefined me as an individual. With the support and leadership of this amazing organization, I built indestructible relationships with children in Cambodia and Nicaragua and realized how sheltered and blessed my life has been. Volunteering with Children's Global Alliance has empowered a copious amount of student volunteers and has changed the lives of children globally.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have the organization expand to more developing countries.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 31, 2013

more

August 31, 2013

This past summer of 2013, I traveled to Cambodia with Children's Global Alliance. It was the most amazing, life changing, incredible experience I have ever had in my entire life. I learned so much about the culture, about other people, and about myself. There really are not enough words to describe it. I am very grateful to have had the chance to be a part of this, and I am very proud to be associated with the organization. The head of the organization, Lisa-Marie Howell is the most amazing, determined, focused person I have ever met in my life, and she made the trip as affordable as possible for students and really cares about what she does. I never once felt unsafe while there, or while traveling. I cannot express enough how happy I am to have been a part of this, and the only thing that makes me sad is that I'm not still there with those amazing, wonderful kids right now!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Extend the time spent actually spent outside the US.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013

more

August 30, 2013

Having been a part of Children's Global Alliance for over three years now has been nothing short of life-changing and rewarding. I traveled as a chaperone/teacher to Rivas, Nicaragua to volunteer at a school with all students with special needs two times in the last three years. This organization is so effective in preparing the student volunteers prior to their service trip by educating them on the history of the country, each disability, the culture, its people, currency, landmarks, and education system. After hard hours of community service, fundraising and research, the student volunteers prove to the organization, and themselves, that they are mature and ready to move forward. While in Nicaragua, I saw each and every one of our 11 student volunteers grow and develop into role models and leaders. They had moments where there was laughter, smiles, and hugs. They also had moments where there were tears, anger and confusion as to how some students were being treated at home, how they were being cared for, or seeing for themselves that some children simply have nothing. Compassion and love was all I saw being exchanged through our students and as a former teacher, there is nothing else I could ever ask for from them. Children's Global Alliance gives these student volunteers an opportunity to grow from these experiences and take back with them a sense of hope and encouragement for the disabled and unfortunate. The smiles, hugs, appreciation, and love received by this organization from its children in foreign countries, (whether disabled, poor, alone, etc) are worth more than any value you can put on any price tag..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013

more

August 29, 2013

This summer my daughter went on a service trip to Cambodia with Children's Global Alliance and I can not recommend this organization highly enough. From the application and interview process, to the fund raising, to the actual trip, this program challenges and engages these students in every conceivable way. These lucky kids get a real taste of compassion, teamwork, responsibility, accountability, a deep sense of accomplishment, and an eye opening world view. The bar is set high, and they are all challenged to be their best, work their hardest, use their creative problem solving ability, and to learn first hand the joy and satisfaction that comes with serving others with love. It has been a life changing experience for my daughter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

Simply put, Children’s Global Alliance (CGA) is a RARE organization! I was able to experience this first hand when I traveled as a chaperone with a student group to Cambodia. A huge emphasis is placed on student accountability/responsibility, which in turn allows for personal growth of students, at times without them even knowing it. All this takes place during preparation for travel, studying history of the country, raising money for the trip and of course once in Cambodia, much hard work. Improving the lives of the children at this orphanage and experiencing the joy, not only of the students that worked so hard to get to Cambodia, but from the thankful orphanage as well, made me proud of the hard work accomplished by all student participants, and fortunate to be associated with Children’s Global Alliance. This organization creates a loving, safe, life changing experience, for the students and chaperones that travel with it, but also for the children in these third world countries, due to the ongoing research and planning completed in advance of travel. It is exciting to see Children’s Global Alliance grow and work in different countries as it continues to develop global citizens both here and afar! I am grateful to have experienced CGA firsthand!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

My name is Makena, and I am 15 years old and I have been with CGA for over two years. Being able to be part of the Children's Global Alliance family here in the Vail Valley has been so rewarding that words fail to describe. I went to Nicaragua in August of 2012, and recently went to Cambodia with the organization last June of 2013. When I first heard about Children's Global Alliance I never once thought I would be who I am in my life today. Everything I used to value before, now doesn't even come across my mind. This non-profit organization has put a new meaning to "life changing".
I have recommended this organization to many of my friends, some of which actually have been able to embark on a service trip themselves.
I love everything about Children's Global Alliance, and I am eternally grateful for the opportunities I have been given and the lives that have changed because of this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

I have traveled to Cambodia twice with the Children's Global Alliance, I was on the first trip involving kids. I traveled with the founder Lisa-Marie Howell, she is one of my greatest role models in life. I am 15 now and traveled to Cambodia and the ages of 13 and then again as a mentor at age 14. Both trips were life changing for me and have given me an experience that i will never forget. I worked at an orphanage both trips changing my life and the lives of orphans. I have been fortunate enough to watch this program grow from 5 kids to nearly 10 times that many and counting. Every kid that has been able to be apart of this organization has loved it. and i know that this program will continue to grow. I believe that this is or will be, one of the top organizations in the world.
-Jack Skidmore

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

From the beginning, when CGA was an idea in the mind of Lisa Marie, I knew this organization was something special, something I absolutely wanted to be a part of.

Chaperone's and American teenagers traveling to a third world country to assist children in need who have next to nothing...
At the same time changing the lives of all parties involved, making strides in each persons every day existence, teaching love, selflessness and giving, doing what you can to help persons much less fortunate than you... The list goes on..

Until now I have only had the chance to volunteer within the U.S and donate to this cause, in July of 2014 I will make my first service trip to Tanzania! I am beyond excited-- utterly elated to be able to donate my time to this cause and everything that Childrens's Global Alliance stands for!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Lisa Marie thinks of everything...I don't know how she does it!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

I have been to both Nicaragua and Cambodia with Children's Global Alliance, working in an orphanage and a school for children with disabilites. My experiences with CGA have been life-changing- I have become a better leader, more confident, and more excited to give back to my community and the world. The connections I've built with the children I've worked with are stronger than those I have with some of my best friends. Every child has taught me so much about myself, how to achieve happiness, and how to be appreciative of my blessings. These children hold a place in my heart that I never knew existed. I think about the people I've met on a daily basis, and the beauty of this organization is how it's made me not only think about how much I've changed the lives of the kids in Nicaragua and Cambodia, but how much they've changed mine as well.
I believe that Children's Global Alliance is truly unique- they strive for excellence, pushing volunteers to achieve their full potential by sharing their knowledge with the students in Nicaragua, improving the quality of life in Cambodia, and giving all of their love to every child whom we are helping. Every chaperone who is a part of CGA cares deeply for the volunteers and children. Their love is evident by the way that they talk about and to the children, and go out of their way to understand their backgrounds and lives.
The group of adult volunteers working with CGA is astounding. I have always felt safe in both Cambodia and Nicaragua with them, I look up to how enthusiastic they are about helping these kids, and I knew that I could talk to them about anything during the duration of my trips. Additionally, both of my volunteer groups have felt like a family. I have become closer with not only my fellow volunteers but with my adult chaperons as well, and I now feel that I have several people whom I can not only talk to about my experiences, but who will understand what it is like to go on one of these trips.
Children's Global Alliance is an extraordinary organization that is changing the lives of children across the world. It has provided me with opportunites I never thought would be available to me, changed my perspective on the world, allowed me to build relationships with amazing kids in other countries, and helped me become the person I am today. I would reference CGA to anyone who is looking to volunteer across the globe and have their life changed forever.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Children's Global Alliance has changed my life in so many amazing ways! This summer I went on a service trip to Cambodia, while I was there I worked in an orphanage. My experience there has made me want to pursue more opportunities to help others. Lisa-Marie Howell is a great leader and mentor, if you are considering goinging and voluenteering you should definetly join, it will change your life forever!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers