Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

I have traveled to Cambodia twice with the Children's Global Alliance, I was on the first trip involving kids. I traveled with the founder Lisa-Marie Howell, she is one of my greatest role models in life. I am 15 now and traveled to Cambodia and the ages of 13 and then again as a mentor at age 14. Both trips were life changing for me and have given me an experience that i will never forget. I worked at an orphanage both trips changing my life and the lives of orphans. I have been fortunate enough to watch this program grow from 5 kids to nearly 10 times that many and counting. Every kid that has been able to be apart of this organization has loved it. and i know that this program will continue to grow. I believe that this is or will be, one of the top organizations in the world.
-Jack Skidmore

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

My 13-year old daughter just went to Cambodia with Children's Global Alliance and had a life changing experience. The organization and time spent with the kids months before they left not only made us comfortable as parents, but also made her comfortable to be traveling so far away from home. Before they even left for Cambodia, they learned about the history, culture and customs of the country by preparing assigned reports for their group. They also learned to speak enough of the language to interact with the kids at the orphanage where they worked as well as in the markets where they went to shop. As soon as they arrived in Phnom Penh they began to work, and by the end of their stay they had built a dorm for the boys (the previous trip had built a dorm for the girls), which made all of them feel SO good for what they'd accomplished. My daughter came home more confident and willing to push herself to the limit, and now she can't wait to apply for another trip next year. I highly recommend working with Children's Global Alliance for anyone looking to make a difference in this world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

From the beginning, when CGA was an idea in the mind of Lisa Marie, I knew this organization was something special, something I absolutely wanted to be a part of.

Chaperone's and American teenagers traveling to a third world country to assist children in need who have next to nothing...
At the same time changing the lives of all parties involved, making strides in each persons every day existence, teaching love, selflessness and giving, doing what you can to help persons much less fortunate than you... The list goes on..

Until now I have only had the chance to volunteer within the U.S and donate to this cause, in July of 2014 I will make my first service trip to Tanzania! I am beyond excited-- utterly elated to be able to donate my time to this cause and everything that Childrens's Global Alliance stands for!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Lisa Marie thinks of everything...I don't know how she does it!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

I have been to both Nicaragua and Cambodia with Children's Global Alliance, working in an orphanage and a school for children with disabilites. My experiences with CGA have been life-changing- I have become a better leader, more confident, and more excited to give back to my community and the world. The connections I've built with the children I've worked with are stronger than those I have with some of my best friends. Every child has taught me so much about myself, how to achieve happiness, and how to be appreciative of my blessings. These children hold a place in my heart that I never knew existed. I think about the people I've met on a daily basis, and the beauty of this organization is how it's made me not only think about how much I've changed the lives of the kids in Nicaragua and Cambodia, but how much they've changed mine as well.
I believe that Children's Global Alliance is truly unique- they strive for excellence, pushing volunteers to achieve their full potential by sharing their knowledge with the students in Nicaragua, improving the quality of life in Cambodia, and giving all of their love to every child whom we are helping. Every chaperone who is a part of CGA cares deeply for the volunteers and children. Their love is evident by the way that they talk about and to the children, and go out of their way to understand their backgrounds and lives.
The group of adult volunteers working with CGA is astounding. I have always felt safe in both Cambodia and Nicaragua with them, I look up to how enthusiastic they are about helping these kids, and I knew that I could talk to them about anything during the duration of my trips. Additionally, both of my volunteer groups have felt like a family. I have become closer with not only my fellow volunteers but with my adult chaperons as well, and I now feel that I have several people whom I can not only talk to about my experiences, but who will understand what it is like to go on one of these trips.
Children's Global Alliance is an extraordinary organization that is changing the lives of children across the world. It has provided me with opportunites I never thought would be available to me, changed my perspective on the world, allowed me to build relationships with amazing kids in other countries, and helped me become the person I am today. I would reference CGA to anyone who is looking to volunteer across the globe and have their life changed forever.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Children's Global Alliance has changed my life in so many amazing ways! This summer I went on a service trip to Cambodia, while I was there I worked in an orphanage. My experience there has made me want to pursue more opportunities to help others. Lisa-Marie Howell is a great leader and mentor, if you are considering goinging and voluenteering you should definetly join, it will change your life forever!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I went on a service trip with Children's Global Alliance over the past summer and it completely changed my outlook on life. It was the kind of opportunity that is once in a lifetime.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is one of a kind in multiple different ways. One thing that makes Children's Global Alliance stand out among others is the fact that you have to fundraise all your own money to go. This adds so much more appreciation to your trip because you have worked for it, it was not just given to you. Another way this non-profit is unique is because of the one on one connections you make with not only the kids you are helping but also the chaperones. They aren't just given the role they are hand picked on who would do the best job and that is what they do. The way this organization is set up is amazing. The trusting relationships Lisa Marie Howell (founder) has formed with the different schools and orphanages allows you to become completely submerged in helping them and teaching them. This is by far the most amazing, unique and life changing organization out there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My dream has always been to travel the world and help people. One year ago, Children's Global Alliance brought me to Phonm Penh, Cambodia, where we worked in an orphanage for two and a half weeks. Over spring break this year, I went to Rivas, Nicaragua to work in a school for children with special needs. Children's Global Alliance does not simply take you somewhere to help strangers who will become a distant memory - they teach you to fund-raise and support yourself, they hold you to a high standard and challenge you to be the best you can be, to give everything two-hundred percent, and they teach you what it means to have global responsibility. You don't travel the world to work all day and not build on something more. Children's Global Alliance travels to fix what needs to be fixed and work hard, but also to build the most unbreakable bonds with every person you come into contact with. CGA has exceeded every standard and expectation I have held, and has built my character beyond any heights I could have imagined.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make CGA known around the nation, and have plenty of destinations to work at (but that takes time).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Children's Global Alliance, I believe, is different than most non-profit programs out there. Not only does this program drastically change the lives of children in some of the most poverty stricken countries in the world, it forever changes the lives of our youth right here at home. Having the opportunity to be a part in creating more passionate, compassionate, and globally aware individuals(including myself) gave me an unbelievable sense of purpose. This was my first year as a volunteer chaperone. I spent the whole year before preparing. Fundraising for myself to get to Cambodia and also helping the local Vail Valley students with their fundraising efforts as well. I loved having the opportunity to be involved in the community, getting to know the kids and their families, being able to form a level of trust and respect before embarking on such a big journey.

Being in Cambodia and working with the kids in the orphanage, being able to be so hands on and give so much love, was life changing. Then seeing the massive amount of pride and confidence it brought to the students from Vail made an even bigger impact.

We all as humans want to feel that we are making our world a better place and that we are bringing love and light to others. Children's Global Alliance gives us the opportunity of not only wanting this but actually doing it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This non-profit organization is incredible and helps so many different groups of people have a life changing experience, the American students we bring, the children we work with in foreign countries, the families of the students we bring, and the chaperones. I have been involved with CGA for 2 years and have had the opportunity to travel as a chaperone to Cambodia twice. CGA gave me my first chance to travel to another country and I was able to be a part of something amazing while on this journey. Being involved with Children's Global Alliance has personally helped strengthen many aspects of my life including my leadership, organization, fundraising, time management, and motivation to help others.

The students who are involved in this program are held to an incredibly high standard and are pushed to reach their potential through lesson planning, presenting information on the country they will travel to, community service hours, and the hard work that needs to be put forth while on the trip. Every single student comes away from these trips a better person in at least one aspect of their life.

The children that we have the amazing opportunity to work with in these foreign countries will be in my heart forever. Their smiles never leave my mind, and when I am frustrated and stressed out in my daily life, I think about how content these children are with what they have, and I am thankful for my life. The children do not have many things in their lives and it is incredible when we are able to provide them with things such as enough food to eat, running water, delousing products, a bed inside a dormitory, and love.

I am confident it would be in any individuals best interest to become involved with this organization as it is sincerely life changing. I absolutely love the experiences I have had and hope to be involved with this organization for many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers