Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1.252345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I gave a couple of times. Then decided to do the research I should have done long ago. Now when they call I simply tell them I have done some research and won't be giving to them anymore. They usually slam the phone down. I hope I ruin these scumbags day.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

How about this >>>>> These charities deserve NO stars!!!! I just watched the CNN presentation for the third time. I've given to both the Breast Cancer and Children's Cancer Fund, each year over the last few years. Wow! How selfish can you be - stealing in the name of the poor and sick!

They'd better not call my home again. Someone's going to get their feelings hurt.

Sick and Disgusted

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Send the founders the Rose Perkins, her ex-husband, and her son to prison and disband these "charitable" organizations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

I received a call today from 1-877-218-8370 and the rep was very, very nice (a little too nice). She told me she would send out my donation envelope for $50.00 but I told her I would donate $20.00. She put her 'secretary' on the phone and requested by credit card information. I explained I don't give that information on my checking account over the phone, but if they mailed me something, I would send in the donation. The line disconnected! I WILL NEVER DONATE TO THIS ORGANIZATION.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

they call too much I am disabled but I cant stand the thought of selfishness with what is given to me. I had a stroke so i dont really deserve this money, but i also cant function in society so i want to give back... but it seems scammy at this point.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 5, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 5, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I previously donated to this organization but this year decided to do some research before answering calls for donations. My research determined that nearly 95% of the money donated goes towards corporate salaries, commissions and administrative costs. I have stopped donating to them but they continue to call me 8-10 times per day. Additionally, it appears that the company operating the Childrens Cancer Fund of America also runs several other funds, each calling me for donations. This company sells your information to others and will not stop calling. I recommend that no one contribute to this organization but research companies like the American Cancer Society and other reputable organizations where your money will be used for something other than CEO payouts.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 3, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

more

January 3, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

This organization called me last year and asked for a $25 contribution. I said that I could send a check. The caller pressured me for a credit card number, saying that they would get the donation faster - I said no. I received their letter and sent in the check. I then received a call thanking me and asking for another contribution. They promised not to call again, but I said no thanks. Since then they have called twice. Each time I have reminded them that they said they wouldn't call again and I hang up.
I am very upset because I found out that only a small percentage of their donations actually gets paid out and that the BBB has asked them for information with no response.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

A few weeks ago I received a mailing like the kind you would get once you have offered money. I knew I had not made a donation promise, so I threw it away. The next week I received a call from the charity reminding me that I promised to make an annual contribution. I asked them the date of my last donation. The solicitor said I last gave in July. I said I wanted to make an annual donation and that if I had given in July then it was too early for another donation. Then the solicitor told be the previous donation was July of 2011. This was a LIE, but I did not discover it until after I promised a small donation. When I went back to my records I discovered that my last contribution was made THIS July. I am sending the donation this time in the hopes that it will actually do some good, but I have my doubts. I will no longer be making any contributions to this charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers