Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1.235292345
Write A Review
January 25, 2015

more

January 25, 2015

This charity is number 10 on America's Worst Charities list! Less than 5 cents out of every dollar has been reported as actually been given to cancer patients. Grants were a measly $50 - $200. But, 95 cents out of every dollar, millions of dollars, goes to management and fundraisers, who get filthy rich from 'charitable' contributions. They are being investigated by the state of New York for the car donation scam. Why aren't rip-offs like this illegal under federal law?
March 4, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

Zero stars
DO NOT GIVEā€¦. They need to be shut down
They called everyday early morning even evenings, sometimes 3-4 times a day..
I can hear all the other solicitors in the back ground making calls. I never gave, as Susan Komen would never operate like that. Either would MD Anderson
when fund raising. i think this is a Inc. that raises money but a small portion actually goes to Childrens cancer. The soliciting company and the person that set up Childrens cancer fund get paid with your money.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

You should watch the CNN investigating report on these charities Cancer Fund of America, Breast Cancer Society, Childres's Cancer Fund of America according to IRS filling they brought in over $26 million and gave back $14,000 less then 2 % of what they collected, you should see these families salary yes they are all related, could not respond to CNN questions and The Breast Cancer owner son of the Cancer Fund of America gave reporters the finger... Now we should give them our finger, as a Cancer survival I can Not understand how the gov't does not bring chrages against these crooks, they should go to Jail ....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Terminate them

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 14, 2013

I have received 2 calls from this organization in a few days. They are completely unprofessional,
when I refused to donate, the person told me that 'children were dying' and couldn't I spare $10??
I would never donate to a so-called 'charity' that uses tactics like that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I contributed to this org. when they called once. Then they called a few months later and wanted another donation. I reluctantly authorized it. Then I read that the org. did not give a large percentage of the money to the children's needs. So next time they called, I said I wasn't interested. Now they've sent me a notice saying my last donation was $20, and can I send more? It has a recent processing date and number listed with my phone number. So I assume they did an unauthorized removal of funds from my previous credit card no. given. I will find out.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

August 30, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I manage my Mother's financial affairs and noted several suspicious transactions in her checking account. Between May 1, 2012 and August 22, 2012 were four transactions totaling $130. Two of the transactions were telephone authorized debits, the other two were checks written by my Mother. After questioning my Mother, the pattern described in other reviews became apparent- letters sent with "Friendly Reminders" for donations, followed by telephone calls asking if promised donations had been sent. These tactics strike me as abusive and constitute preying on senior citizens. I cautioned my Mother not to give her checking account or credit card information to anyone calling her on the phone. D. Haig, Dallas, TX

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 17, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 17, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

I manage the financial affairs of several people. One person is generous to a fault. They sent her a "Friendly Reminder" dated January 9th (received in February). Then she received a telephone call asking if the funds had been sent yet. She is insistent on sending them a token donation. HOWEVER, the "Friendly Reminder" is in the exact same format as the Firefighters Fund. The tactics are identical as well...receipt of the "friendly reminder" followed by a telephone call within a day or two. The telephone calls she received insisted that she had promised them money in a previous telephone call. I know this cannot be the case, as she always tells them she has had a stroke and cannot make any donations at this time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 28, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 28, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

These people keep calling, make it stop! Who do I contact to make them stop calling?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers