Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1.252345
Write A Review
March 4, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

Zero stars
DO NOT GIVEā€¦. They need to be shut down
They called everyday early morning even evenings, sometimes 3-4 times a day..
I can hear all the other solicitors in the back ground making calls. I never gave, as Susan Komen would never operate like that. Either would MD Anderson
when fund raising. i think this is a Inc. that raises money but a small portion actually goes to Childrens cancer. The soliciting company and the person that set up Childrens cancer fund get paid with your money.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I gave a couple of times. Then decided to do the research I should have done long ago. Now when they call I simply tell them I have done some research and won't be giving to them anymore. They usually slam the phone down. I hope I ruin these scumbags day.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

How about this >>>>> These charities deserve NO stars!!!! I just watched the CNN presentation for the third time. I've given to both the Breast Cancer and Children's Cancer Fund, each year over the last few years. Wow! How selfish can you be - stealing in the name of the poor and sick!

They'd better not call my home again. Someone's going to get their feelings hurt.

Sick and Disgusted

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Send the founders the Rose Perkins, her ex-husband, and her son to prison and disband these "charitable" organizations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

You should watch the CNN investigating report on these charities Cancer Fund of America, Breast Cancer Society, Childres's Cancer Fund of America according to IRS filling they brought in over $26 million and gave back $14,000 less then 2 % of what they collected, you should see these families salary yes they are all related, could not respond to CNN questions and The Breast Cancer owner son of the Cancer Fund of America gave reporters the finger... Now we should give them our finger, as a Cancer survival I can Not understand how the gov't does not bring chrages against these crooks, they should go to Jail ....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Terminate them

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

I received a call today from 1-877-218-8370 and the rep was very, very nice (a little too nice). She told me she would send out my donation envelope for $50.00 but I told her I would donate $20.00. She put her 'secretary' on the phone and requested by credit card information. I explained I don't give that information on my checking account over the phone, but if they mailed me something, I would send in the donation. The line disconnected! I WILL NEVER DONATE TO THIS ORGANIZATION.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

they call too much I am disabled but I cant stand the thought of selfishness with what is given to me. I had a stroke so i dont really deserve this money, but i also cant function in society so i want to give back... but it seems scammy at this point.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 19, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 19, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

I worked as a professional fundraiser for CCFS and let me try to explain how this works. First we contact you for a childhood charity (this is what is called cold calling). Once you make a donation your name became part of the companies list, which gave us the okay to call you again on behalf of other charities such as Children's Cancer Fund of America. These calls usually came just a couple of weeks after your donation was received. Then a few weeks later we'd be calling you again on behalf of another organization, and then another and another. After that...we'd be calling you again to renew your pledge, which is usually every three months. So all in all, your kind hardheartedness bought you a boat load of calls. As callers we had no way of knowing when your donation was last made and as for me, I lost sleep over the harassment that we were causing you, the donor.
It seemed to most of us in the office that some of these charities were fraudulent but when you need a job, you need a job.
As for asking to be removed from our calling list...as callers we did click the remove button on the computer, but once we moved on to the next call we had no idea what took place. There are thousands of people I talked to over the course of the last two years that demanded to be removed, only to be contacted by us again and again.
If you feel that you have been harassed, please contact the attorney general in your state to find out what you can do.
While I was a caller we called CA MN and MI

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 14, 2013

I have received 2 calls from this organization in a few days. They are completely unprofessional,
when I refused to donate, the person told me that 'children were dying' and couldn't I spare $10??
I would never donate to a so-called 'charity' that uses tactics like that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 5, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 5, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I previously donated to this organization but this year decided to do some research before answering calls for donations. My research determined that nearly 95% of the money donated goes towards corporate salaries, commissions and administrative costs. I have stopped donating to them but they continue to call me 8-10 times per day. Additionally, it appears that the company operating the Childrens Cancer Fund of America also runs several other funds, each calling me for donations. This company sells your information to others and will not stop calling. I recommend that no one contribute to this organization but research companies like the American Cancer Society and other reputable organizations where your money will be used for something other than CEO payouts.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 3, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

more

January 3, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

This organization called me last year and asked for a $25 contribution. I said that I could send a check. The caller pressured me for a credit card number, saying that they would get the donation faster - I said no. I received their letter and sent in the check. I then received a call thanking me and asking for another contribution. They promised not to call again, but I said no thanks. Since then they have called twice. Each time I have reminded them that they said they wouldn't call again and I hang up.
I am very upset because I found out that only a small percentage of their donations actually gets paid out and that the BBB has asked them for information with no response.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers