Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 19, 2012

more

March 19, 2012

I went to Sevalaya School, west of Chennai city, India from January to February 2012 as a volunteer for Children's Art Village. I worked as an art teacher along with the local teacher to produce an installation with 800 kids made from rubbish which was then exhibited in the city. I had email contact and had met Mai before I went and she was amazing in putting me in contact with past volunteers as well as supporting me through email when I was out in India for the two months. I felt prepared when I went and had a good picture of what to expect. The school was great and I really enjoyed my time there working with the art teacher. The kids were brilliant and very amusing. I stayed in accommodation on the school site which is basic but with great food served three times a day, eating with the kids from the orphanage who are always on site. The staff at the school were great and I had the opportunity over that time to make good friends and enjoy the beauty of Indian hospitality. The school is run really well and the kids are well looked after. Mr Murali the founder and his wife, Bhuvana, are great and were really supportive in the project. Having the opportunity to volunteer with Children's Art Village was an incredible experience and one in which I took many things from. Cant thank Mai enough. Charlotte

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2011

more

October 11, 2011

Children Art Village had provided me the opportunity to affect the children of the orphanage run by Christ Church in fetteh- Gomoa in central region of Ghana.
I am da-costa Adeoye and was invited by Mai Breach on behalf of the children’s Art village to participate in the one week children’s
Art summer school that provides the children with experiences in music, drawing, painting, sculpture, textile design, dance and craft.
I had always loved to impart knowledge into others and engage in human capital development through art.
Art is a veritable tool to developing the three domains of human that is the affective (attitude), cognitive (knowledge), and psycho motor (skill) domain.
This was the focus of our endeavour when I and my friend Olusegun Adeniyi an astute and amiable art instructor cum painter was in Ghana. The children of the Hope orphanage were able to express themselves in a relaxed atmosphere to learn art as this had gone a long way to providing a therapy for children that had gone through some painful past. The classes were enjoyable to the children.
Our students express joy and they had fulfillment in what they were learning. It also affords me and Olusegun of exporting our skill via a charity programme at the CAV summer Art class.
I cannot but talk about Mai Breach a visionary leader who made everyone to feel comfortable and stay focused. It was so evident that she was doing all that for her love for humanity seeing all the virtues, care, and unparalleled leadership she displayed in Ghana. Worthy of commendation is the sense of urgency and passion with which she does her work.
I would like to do more with CAV using my God-given talent and skill to encourage and bring up children to become a better and responsible citizen of this world.
There are innate abilities locked up and embedded in every child and it is such laudable project like CAV’s summer art school that can harness and develop it.
Moreover, future wise these children will also if given opportunity would do the same to their generation and those coming after them, so one cannot over emphasize the benefits of conscientising and changing the thinking/mentality of these wards towards improving humanity in whatever noble way.
Consequently, many tyrants and Despots that has gone down in history became ruthless and devoid of every form of human feelings due to the fact that their childhood was marred with different kind of abuse and deprivations as a result, myself and my friend Olusegun have purposed to go any length rightly possible to be an instrument of change and development to this generation especially the upcoming children. As it was once said by “Edmund Burke” that the greatest evil is not the one that has been done but when good people refuses to do something about the ills of our days (Paraphrased).
Art appeals to the psyche of every human being. It can tame the widest, heal the hurtful, fill the void of the emptied, comfort the soul of the bruised and change the view of the misled. And CAV had provided the perfect platform for those that have the same vision to do something. The challenges in our world, which also pose a threat to our corporate peaceful co-existence, should stir us to act.
As da-Costa Adeoye and Olusegun Adeniyi is poised to continue to add value to humanity especially children through textile design, drawing, painting, and crafts. The experience in Ghana as facilitated by Mai Breach and the donors to the CAV programme cannot be easily forgotten. As long as we can continue to have such project like the summer Art school of the children’s Art Village then there is hope that the world would be a better place for us and the upcoming generation.


Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It give me joy and fulfillment being an element of change through CAV.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...they should just maintain the passion.

September 18, 2011

more

September 18, 2011

I first became involved with Children's Art Village as an intern creative arts teacher while studying International Development in Ghana. I was led to CAV in search of a dedicated and responsible organization that a) recognized the importance of exposing youth to creative expression through the arts; and b) also embodied through its programming the incredible value in developing sustainable long-term partnerships with local and international communities and artists.
This organization more than met these expectations. Through its loving and well-orchestrated work, CAV brings children and youth together with local and International artist-teachers to expose children to a vast array of art forms, including those with roots in Ghana.
Being a part of both CAV's academic and summer programming has exposed me to the ongoing commitment of CAV to remain a constant part of the community at the Village of Hope Orphanage in Ghana, and to do so through meaningful partnerships and mutual learning.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

With exceptional leadership and guidance from Mai Lai, it is the synergy of the artist teachers and the children at the Village of Hope that truly brings the work of CAV to life. Art, music and dance have incredible power to connect people and their experiences to something that is both beautiful and expressive, and CAV makes this process possible with a high degree of respect and cultural sensitivity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think my hopes for the future of CAV pertain less to the changes I would make to the organization, and more to the continuation and strengthening of its partnerships and locally-relevant programming. It is rare and inspiring to find an organization with such a high level of commitment to its partnerships with local artists, and I can only foresee that these partnerships will continue to strengthen.

September 16, 2011

more

September 16, 2011

I am an artist-cum-creative art instructor and a blogger of Nigeria descent. I was part of the team of 16 creative minds at the Summer Art and Music program held recently by Children Art Village. I and my artist friend Adeoye daCosta from Nigeria were in Ghana for the Summer Art and Music program at the Village of Hope in the month of August. It was a rare opportunity for artists from different cultures and continent of the world to come together to help kids unlock their potentials.

My friend, da-Costa and I had fulfilled moments and we were able to connect with the children’s aspiration to create Art and exposed them to a unique form of Art from Nigeria, ADIRE. We offered a unique artistic concepts, introduced new visual art techniques and media that stimulate the interest of the kids to create differs art form. We both share from the philosophy of the Spanish painter, Pablo Picasso; “Every child is an artist, the problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up”. Oluwasegun and Adeoye choose to fill the gap, to help the young ones with their God’s given talents and potentials, build their creative lives and give them form.

The credit goes to Mai Lai Breech for providing such a platform to nurture new talents. I respect her for her great understanding of individual differences and her ability to accommodate people irrespective of their race, cultural background and social status.
“You’ll never stand so tall as the day you stoop to help a child.” – Anonymous.
The above quoted texts constantly spoken by Mai; the founder of Children Art Village was an influence and motivation on the team to do more with the kids at the Village of Hope. Mai kind gestures and selfless acts is an ignition for every one in the team to give their heart into the project. She is such a humanitarian with the drive to change the world. She offers with the team an art engagement for the kids which are a powerful means of expression and therapy.

Every child has some artistic ability and with the right environment and guidance they can discover and harness their inner creative genius. Their artistic abilities awaiting expression can be tapped as a therapy to help cope with crisis, and achieve mental and emotional stability. I believe CAV Ghana 2011 had a tremendous impact on the children of the Village of Hope, Ghana.

The images to this effect are just a click away, please follow this links;

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150339798861159.399227.724076158&l=cc64740952&type=1

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150342400861159.399948.724076158&l=1a2a56be29&type=1
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150341620181159.399754.724076158&l=13847c6d18&type=1

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150341629016159.399758.724076158&l=685dca12bc&type=1


with much love from Nigeria

Olusegun Michael, Adeniyi
www.olusegunadeniyi.blogspot.com
www.coroflot.com/adeniyi

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Art is my passion, the organization offers me the platform to create art with the kids.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would suggest more "palette" should be encouraged for an excellent visual expression. The organization is fantastic with a great passion and zeal to cause a CHANGE.

September 15, 2011

more

September 15, 2011

I volunteered with CAV as a music teacher for their art camp held in Ghana, Africa at the Village of Hope Organization in 2011. As for Children's Art Village, it is a worthwhile cause devoted to helping young people who have been through tragic experiences be able to heal through the use of the different arts. I thoroughly enjoyed my experience and am so grateful for the work that CAV does. The organization itself is well structured and completes its mission. Volunteers are kept in contact with the director and questions are always answered. The volunteers are well taken care of while serving at the camp. My experience in Ghana, Africa was hard (due to the nature of the work, culture shock, and the children's backgrounds) but very rewarding. The kids and the experience (as well as your team) quickly become a part of you. I hope to return as a volunteer again in the future!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have a renewed outlook on children, education, and the power of music and fine arts. I have been reminded how important it is to love, especially children. I have also gained a better insight on how connected our world really is and how we all have an important role.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't necessarily think I would make any changes. Instead, I would like to see CAV expand in the future (funded by an outside organization or grant) and reaching more places around the world!

September 14, 2011

more

September 14, 2011

I volunteered with Children's Art Village in the summer of 2011 and traveled to Ghana to do an art camp with the Village of Hope Orphanage. CAV is an incredible organization that truly focuses on aiding children in expressing their emotions as well as opening up their minds to creativity and fun! We had an excellent time, our team bonded so well and each child feels extremely loved and valued by the volunteers. When dealing with abandonment and trauma, Children's Art Village does a lovely job of creating a safe and colorful environment for the students. My experience was life changing and I am so thankful.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My everyday life is changed because of the opportunity I was given. Art is such a wonderful connector between people, and working with the children was unbelievable and such a blessing. I learned so much about teaching and my own strengths, as well as how to serve other people as a team.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There really is not much I would change. With art, teaching, children, and being in a foreign environment all combined, there will always be things that are unpredictable and things we needed to work through as a team. Overall, it is a wonderful organization.

February 23, 2010

more

February 23, 2010

The heart of the Children’s Art Village is really the gift of imagination. Many of the children we encountered, taught, and spent quality time with have experienced some real trauma. The process of creating something beautiful with their very own hands, minds, and hearts speaks to something greater than the object or art form itself. It says that creative energy, endowed in us all, if actualized in a child, she/he has the power to re-imagine the world and their role in it. As a volunteer who has traveled with the Children Art Village to Ghana two times now, I have left that orphanage with a deeper and more profound sense of art-in-relationship. Classes are taught, but above all else, connections are fostered and friendships are made. Returning to the same faces made it harder to leave the second time. My fondest memory is when the kids performed that last day to the song “Stand By Me”. More than 50 children gathered around to shout on the top of their lungs the lyrics they had learned all week - “So darling, darling, stand by me! Whooah, stand by me!” All eyes and ears were on them. Maybe they were just performing what I had taught them with my guitar. But maybe, just maybe, through song they were declaring this to one another and demanding this from us. I hope you have the privilege as I have to join the Children’s Art Village in this artful, fun, and creative endeavor!

Photos

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

creative, kind-hearted, and genuine people.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

February 22, 2010

more

February 22, 2010

I first came across the Children's Art Village and Mai in 2008 when I was searching for a way to use my gifts and talents in art with orphaned children in Africa. After speaking to Mai and seeing the video from the first art and music camp in Ghana, I knew without a doubt that this was an incredible opportunity to get involved in and minister to the children in Ghana through the arts. My experience with the CAV was more amazing and inspiring than I could have possibly imagined! I absolutely loved the time I was able to spend with the children at the Village of Hope orphanage, and I imagine being involved each summer for the camp. My life has been forever changed by my time in Ghana and as an artist I desire to tell the children's stories through my portraits of them. Last summer, I had the privilege of meeting children from the Village of Life orphanage in Kete-Krachi and children from an orphanage in Tema who were all rescued from a life of slavery on Lake Volta and joined us for the camp. It was so exciting to see how the children absolutely came alive and truly shined as they created art, played music, and danced. Having the opportunity to express themselves creatively is healing, and it allows them to be kids again, free to be who God created them to be. They are able to grow as artists as well as discover new ways of expressing themselves. The CAV and Mai have encouraged and strengthened my passion for creating and teaching art to the orphan children in Ghana so much so that I will be teaching art at Hope Christian Academy in Ghana following the camp. I am truly thankful for the CAV and Mai's dedication to creating a sustainable art program for the children in Ghana as well as Vietnam, Cambodia, and India.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the 100's of smiling faces at the Village of Hope in Ghana when they are able to create and express themselves through art, music, and dancing.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

February 19, 2010

more

February 19, 2010

The mission of The Children's Art Village is made real in such a magical and sincere way. Mai Lai and all of her volunteers create a space for true expression and beauty to emerge in all children. It is such a special thing to be a part of. Mai's dedication to excellence and these children is so inspiring. The camps are extremely well organized, yet also allow for course corrective changes and spontaneity. I highly recommend getting invloved or supporting this nonprofit!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Ghana

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the fun, the laughter, the love, the expression, the joy!

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

brilliant beings

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

make each child smile and know he/she is so special and unique.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

February 18, 2010

more

February 18, 2010

Childrens Art Village is truly dedicated to bringing artistic expression to children in need all over the world. After meeting and corresponding with the founder, I immediately made plans to travel with them to India. Not only does CAV bring art projects and teachers to orphanages, but they also leave the children with the supplies necessary to continue creating works of art long after the volunteers of CAV have left. I have seen first hand how these excursions come together, as well as witnessing the passion and commitment that drives this organization forward, developing its curriculum and reaching out to new locations around the globe. It's phenomenal and inspiring.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

unconditionally devoted to serving orphaned children, encouraging creativity and fostering a sense of empowerment.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

make a positive change in the lives of countless children around the world.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Solicit for art materials and cash donations. The cash donations go toward paying our teacher's salaries as well as ongoing art & music materials used in Ghana and India. Volunteer