Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
1234.913045
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 23, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 20, 2012

The COV Staff, founder, ED and Board are the finest people I have ever know. They have a heart for these children and are also the best possiable stewards of the funds they manage. The children tha... more

April 23, 2013

I have been involved with COV for almost 10 years now. It has been an honor to work with such fine people and play a very small roll in this groups success. No were can you get more bang for your buck than COV. Thank you Ben/Huong/Nancy, Staff and board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2012

The COV Staff, founder, ED and Board are the finest people I have ever know. They have a heart for these children and are also the best possiable stewards of the funds they manage. The children that COV serves are so very greatful and are wise beyond thier years as to making the most of the opportunities they have been given. It is a joy a pleasure and an honor to work with these fine people and children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more


1 previous review
June 25, 2012

Children of Vietnam is a small charity with a focused mission. This means it can move quickly and efficiently to address local needs. In 2007 my husband and I decided to build a kindergarten with C... more

November 30, 2012

I had the privilege of visiting Children of Vietnam's (COV)programs on the ground this year. I saw first-hand the orphans who benefit form one of the tutoring programs. The orphanage director told me that grades had improved now that all 50 children at the orphanage participate in tutoring. I was also able to meet a teen-ager who is hoping that tutoring will help with her education. This young lady had just returned from a COV tutoring session when I arrived, and she hopes to use her writing talents to become a journalist. I left this visit with a better understanding of how COV provides direct aid to very vulnerable children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

Children of Vietnam is a small charity with a focused mission. This means it can move quickly and efficiently to address local needs. In 2007 my husband and I decided to build a kindergarten with COV. We donated the money in the summer, the site was selected by September, the kindergarten was built by December, children started school in January and we were able to visit in March. When we returned several years later the same teachers were there, the building was in good condition, and the children were engaged.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have volunteered with Children of Vietnam for the past four years and could not be more complimentary of the organization. I have had the opportunity to visit the COV operations in Vietnam on two occasions and was so unbelievably impressed with the how dedicated the Vietnamese staff was to COV's mission to improve the lives of impoverished children and families. COV is a transparent organization that makes decisions for all the right reasons. I have had the pleasure of seeing the life-changing effects of COV's programming and I can say with complete confidence that Children of Vietnam is exactly the type of cause you should support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a member of the board of directors, I again had the privilege this summer to visit COV operations in Vietnam and participate in several field trips. I came away with two primary impressions. First, COV has "heart". It starts with the founder, Ben Wilson, and the Country Director Luong Thi Huong, and flows down through the staff. Their deep compassion for those in need permeates and drives the organization. Theirs is a labor of love fueled by the desire to enable those they assist to acquire a better quality of life. And Second, COV practices the highest principles of charitable assistance: they enable the downtrodden to help themselves improve their quality of life, while maintaining their dignity throughout the process.
I was especially impressed with how, in their daily operations, they verify need to an established norm and then leverage their resources by acquiring the involvement and assistance of local officials and the surrounding community.
I left Vietnam with the positive feeling that COV is exercising truly good stewardship over the precious resources of our donors and benefactors in the way it carries out the charitable objectives of the organization. I can state unequivocally that COV is indeed bringing hope to the hopeless and improving the lives of so many needy Vietnamese children and their families.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

My experience as a former member of COV's Board of Directors is among those that mean the most to me. At every board meeting, we carefully balanced possibilities, commitments, new initiatives--always keeping in mind the Ben Wilson's question, "What's best for the children?" Every US expenditure was evaluated against our responsibility to donors and children to use our resources wisely. This is an organization with focus, commitment, and the highest ethical standards.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 28, 2011

In Sept., 2010, before joining the Board, I travelled to Danang and witnessed Children of Vietnam's magnificent work. I visited the of homes impoverished families, orphanages, schools, and hospita... more

June 20, 2012

I first witnessed the incredible work of Children of Vietnam (COV) in the fall of 2010, when I had the opportunity to travel with the administrators of the its various programs to the sites of its beneficiaries. I saw orphanages that had benefited from nutritional assistance and structural upgrades, kindergartens that had been built in remote regions, families who had benefited from housing and sanitation upgrades to their homes, children who had recieved assistance with their education in the form of scholarships and bicycle transportation, and children who had received critical medical assistance provided within and without Vietnam. In addition, I met young people who had received a college education by virtue of COV's education initiative. Of all COV's amazing programs, the one that impresses me most is the Empowering Foundations for Women and Their Children. This is a program that provides microloans for single mothers to start a business to support their families while providing housing assistance along with education and medical assistance for the children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2011

In Sept., 2010, before joining the Board, I travelled to Danang and witnessed Children of Vietnam's magnificent work. I visited the of homes impoverished families, orphanages, schools, and hospitals who have worked with Children of Vietnam (COV) to improve the lives of homeless, poor, and disabled children. COV'sgoal is to provide meaningful, sustainable assistance that empowers children and their parents to grow to their potential and hopefully escape their dire conditions of poverty. Categories of assistance include providing medical treatment (ranging from heart surgeries to treatment for parasites), increased opportinities for education (ranging from building kindergarens, to supplying bicycles for rural children to get to school, to tutoring, to college scholarships), nutritional support (such as food and vitaming supplements for orphanages or livestock for needy families), and improved living conditions for needy children (by building modest new homes or making repairs to existing structures).
In addition, Children of Vietnam has a microfinancing program that allows struggling mothers to start a small, sustainable business to support her child (ren).
As I observed Children of Vietnam implement each of its incredible programs, I was amazed by the very personal attention that each family, school, and orphanage receives in assessing need, delivering services, and monitoring progress. They are very careful in allocating funds and ensuring that they are used in the most efficient and effective way possible. Only 8% of their funds go to overhead - 92% go to the beneficiaries.
Another extraordinary feature of Children of Vietnam is its working relationship with the regional government and its goal of creating with the government a framework for wrap-around services (health, education, nutrition, and housing) for the families of needy and disabled children. Through COV's " Hope System of Care," local government, health care, and community members are enlisted to evaluate, serve, and monitor the needs of beneficiaries, essentially setting up a system of care that can be sustained by the government in 1-2 year's time without the help of COV. The local government officials have been so impressed and pleased that they have expressed the desire to implement the program in other districts of central Vietnam.
After my Sept. visit to Danang, where I saw first hand the truly meaningful work COV is accomplishing and the efficiency and the integrity with which they go about it, I felt honored to join the Board in November. In my opinion, this is a model nonprofit organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization through my observation of and participation in its amazing programs (described above) - both in Danang and in my work with the Board.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Devote more energy to increasing its visibility.

June 11, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 27, 2011

I was a Board Member of COV for over 6 years and am currently on their Advisory Board. In addition, I have traveled to Vietnam as a part of this organization on four separate occasions. The integrit... more

June 11, 2012

When I joined the Children of Vietnam Board, I had never been to Vietnam and only read of the work done by this amazing organization. I have since traveled to DaNang 4 times. Visiting the Street Children program and working with the staff was one of the most heart warming an inspiring experiences of my life. The staff works directly with each child and family. Each penny and dollar is maximized to assist those in need. I have experienced children receiving scholarships, bicycles and homes. Tears of gratitude tell the story. Come and join us. It will change your life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2011

I was a Board Member of COV for over 6 years and am currently on their Advisory Board. In addition, I have traveled to Vietnam as a part of this organization on four separate occasions. The integrity of the staff in Vietnam is impeccable and all funds are used to help those truly in need. The following is an example.

COV provides bicycles to children who would walk 5-6 miles, one way to school. While I was there, COV received a names of needy children from district officials. After a thorough review of the listed children, by the COV staff, it came to light that some children did not meet the COV need criteria. Staff requested that these names be replaced.

I am so proud to be a part of an organization which honors the support of its supports and donors.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

reviewing the programs of COV while in Vietnam. I have had the opportunity to visit and interview families in need of housing and medical support. I have also interviewed university students in need of financial support. In addition, I have spent a number of days working in Street Children facilities in DaNang and experienced the tutoring program managed by COV to assist street children to meet their education goals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to expand Empowering Foundation for Women - a great program, which provides micro loans to women to help them secure meaningful employment, and thus, allows them to support their children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

I learned about COV after the death of my husband, who served with the US Military in Vietnam. Initially my support provided a link between my late husband's love of the children of DaNang and my passion to provide meaningful support to children in need. The experience became so much more. COV is now a part of my life.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

The short tem priority is to provide housing, education, nutrition and healthcare to children in dire need. However, the long term priority is to provide those children with skills, which will allow them to sustain a full and successful life.

What is its top priority in the long run?

The top priority is to provide resources to children, which will allow them to support themselves and their future families.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 5, 2012

more

June 5, 2012

Empowering Foundations for Women and their Children is an exciting, highly successful and relatively new initiative of Children of Vietnam providing micro finance loans to single mothers who are head of households and live below the poverty level in central Vietnam. Within a few short years, hope and a bright future awaits families in this program. Besides loans to become self-suffienct in a small business, counseling, access to health care, home repair and schooling for children are additional components included in the wrap around services of this project.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012

more

June 5, 2012

Never have I seen a more dedicated and motivated organization providing assistance to children with disabilities and orphan and street children ! This attitude is reflected from the newest staff person to the experienced Board of Directors. The work accomplished in disciplines of health care, nutrition,education and housing could not be provided at lower cost. EVERY dollar is spent with efficiency and at the best value allowing much more to be completed than normally possible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2011

more

April 27, 2011

I have had the privilege of traveling to Vietnam on 3 separate occasions to see the work of Children of Vietnam first-hand. The enormity and diversity of the needs there are staggering and could easily lead an individual or an organization to be overwhelmed to the point of inaction. However, Children of Vietnam has done an excellent job of identifying a variety of ways to help (Housing, Nutrition, Education, vaccination, etc) and developing key relationships with government officials in order to streamline their efforts. What is accomplished with very little overhead or administrative costs is admirable and gives me great confidence that the monies I am able to contribute are being used in the most efficient ways possible to make a difference in the lives of wonderful people who desperately need assistance.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Vietnam and at local presentations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find additional ways to highlight the life changing work that is being done in order to give more people to chance to be a part of something great.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers