Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
1234.911765
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 27, 2013

more

April 27, 2013

Children of Vietnam (COV) has received two significant grants from Dining for Women (DFW). In 2009 and again in 2012, when $45,000 was earmarked for Empowering Foundations for Women and their Children (EFWC) to be distributed over a two-year period.

In March of 2013, I organized and led a
group of 18 members of DFW to Vietnam. We dedicated two full days of our journey to visit COV in Danang. We met the staff and a large number of single mothers who were recipients of a micro loan from EFWC. We were impressed in a number of ways:
1) The COV staff was professional, passionate and organized. They love what they do, and it shows.
2) Candidates are identified by social welfare workers, after which COV staff make an objective assessment based on income, number of children, living conditions, etc. In addition, they consider each woman’s skills and goals to help her decide what kind of income-generating enterprise to pursue. One woman bought a cow, another started a broom-making business, another started to grow mushrooms, etc.
3) COV works with the system, enrolling regional government officials and representative from the Women’s Union to participate in their processes.
4) In addition to the micro-loan, they provide wrap-around services to include health care checkups, nutritional supplements, scholarships for the children, home improvement where necessary, etc. Also, basic items like rice cookers or fans are provided to improve the quality of life for the women. There is much follow-up and support to ensure that the women succeed.
5) The women we met were proud and confident. It was evident that the grants have made a significant difference … which, of course, gives their children a chance at a quality education, food in their bellies and, ultimately, a better life.

They are doing great work!

Marilyn Murphy, CEO
The CTP Group
Woodland Hills CA

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

I was fortunate to be able to visit Children of Vietnam in DaNang in March 2013 with a group of 19 Dining for Women members. (In 2009, Dining for Women donated a total of $27,000 to COV which benefited 60 women and/or their children.) Not only did we meet the impressive staff of COV, but we spent two days with some of the participants of the Empowering Foundations for Women and their Children Program. We visited the clients in their homes and saw first-hand how COV has changed the lives of these women and their children. What I love about this program is how they partner with government agencies and with other community organizations to provide wraparound services to each family. It's a smart and effective use of resources, and I was very impressed. This IS a great nonprofit and is worthy of on-going support. Wonderful job, COV!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

Children of Vietnam has provided life-changing support to the children I worked with in central Vietnam. I fully support their work and am grateful for all they have done and continue to do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Terrific organization for such a worthwhile cause. COV does such a fantastic job educating the public on how much a dollar can provide for the families and children in need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I greatly admire the Children of Vietnam organization for their exemplary assistance to the poverty-stricken people of Vietnam, who continue to suffer the effects of the war with America. More organizations should follow their example and undertake the rebuilding of Vietnam, which was decimated by that 10 year war. COV has a 5-star rating in my book.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

I have been amazed at how much has been accomplished with what we here in USA would consider to be very limited resources. The work that COV goes way beyond the "bricks and mortar" aspects of aid. It builds international relationships and enhances international understanding.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

I have visited COV' s office in Danang, Vietnam to have a number of their projects outlined and explained. I was most fortunate to visit a number pf the people benefiting from these projects and in my eyes these"projects" became friends helped! I visited the new home of a mother and her children. It was easy to see the family's joy in their new home provided by COV as well as the excitement over the new bike provided by COV which would allow the son to attend school. I also met and visited with a college student attending college on a COV scholarship. Owning a cow can be very important to village families providing assistance to a family in many ways. I was very touched when I saw many families receive one of these animals from COV Bikes can change lives as well and COV awarded bikes to a number of people as well and I visualized the impact on individuals and families. I also visited a beautiful kindergarten in a village which I found difficult to leave as I so enjoyed the beautiful children cared for and guided by such invested and caring teachers. These were some of the well guided programs that I visited.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 27, 2011

more

April 27, 2011

I am amazed at the volume and breathe of services offered to individuals in Vietnam through this organization. They assist children with special needs, but also women and families who are at risk. I deeply believe in helping people become self sufficient within their own community, and COV strives to find what it takes to help them find this equilibrium. Mostly, my heart is with the children and I am always delighted to hear of the medical, educational and emotional support to help the most vulnerable in the beautiful country of Vietnam. I am privileged to be a friend of Nancy Letteri, and learn so much from her travelogues when she travels there. The photos speak a million words, all of which lead to the heart of the people.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

sending educational materials to use with young children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No suggestions.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers