Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
79 Reviews
1234.924055
Write A Review
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

I worked as an Accounting mentor for COV for 4 weeks in Feb\March 2014. This was an assignment organised by AFID (Accountants for International Development)where UK qualified accountants are matched with Non-Profits in Developing Countries to assist or advise on their financial processes and reporting.
I felt very lucky to become involved with and get to know the lovely COV team in Da Nang and especially to work with their accountant. The Director and CEO provide great leadership and I was made to feel very welcome.
It's a testament to the integrity of this organisation that I have myself become a sponsor to one of the COV supported students and intend to keep links with this Non Profit for many years to come.
October 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2012

As a member of the board of directors, I again had the privilege this summer to visit COV operations in Vietnam and participate in several field trips. I came away with two primary impressions. First,... more

October 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I last wrote about COV on the Great Nonprofits website two years ago. Since that time I again had the opportunity to observe COV operations in Vietnam, and I have continued to work with the board of directors in an advisory capacity on a regular basis. Every positive thing I said about COV in that first posting remains accurate to this day. COV continues to remain true to its mission, operating with absolute integrity and total transparency. They provide benefactors an opportunity to contribute with complete confidence that their precious donations are handled responsibly, used for their intended purpose, and really make a difference in the lives of needy and disabled Vietnamese children and their families.
October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a member of the board of directors, I again had the privilege this summer to visit COV operations in Vietnam and participate in several field trips. I came away with two primary impressions. First, COV has "heart". It starts with the founder, Ben Wilson, and the Country Director Luong Thi Huong, and flows down through the staff. Their deep compassion for those in need permeates and drives the organization. Theirs is a labor of love fueled by the desire to enable those they assist to acquire a better quality of life. And Second, COV practices the highest principles of charitable assistance: they enable the downtrodden to help themselves improve their quality of life, while maintaining their dignity throughout the process.
I was especially impressed with how, in their daily operations, they verify need to an established norm and then leverage their resources by acquiring the involvement and assistance of local officials and the surrounding community.
I left Vietnam with the positive feeling that COV is exercising truly good stewardship over the precious resources of our donors and benefactors in the way it carries out the charitable objectives of the organization. I can state unequivocally that COV is indeed bringing hope to the hopeless and improving the lives of so many needy Vietnamese children and their families.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 11, 2012

When I joined the Children of Vietnam Board, I had never been to Vietnam and only read of the work done by this amazing organization. I have since traveled to DaNang 4 times. Visiting the Street Chi... more

September 25, 2014

Where to begin. I became acquainted with Children of Vietnam in 2003 and my love for the organization and its mission grabbed me from the beginning. My late husband had served in DaNang and had always wanted to return. Through Children of Vietnam, I was able to fulfill his dream and his passion for its children. I have had the opportunity to visit Vietnam on four different occasions with COV, both as a volunteer and member of the COV Board of Directors. In working with the COV staff in Vietnam, I saw, first-hand, that each program is carefully developed and administered. Each child and family is treated with respect and dignity; every dollar/dong is spent carefully. My fondest memories were meeting with university students - hearing their life stories and dreams. I have been able to provide university scholarships for 2 young ladies and correspond with them on a regular basis. There is no better way to bridge the miles that divide us and truly make the world a family.
June 11, 2012

When I joined the Children of Vietnam Board, I had never been to Vietnam and only read of the work done by this amazing organization. I have since traveled to DaNang 4 times. Visiting the Street Children program and working with the staff was one of the most heart warming an inspiring experiences of my life. The staff works directly with each child and family. Each penny and dollar is maximized to assist those in need. I have experienced children receiving scholarships, bicycles and homes. Tears of gratitude tell the story. Come and join us. It will change your life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2011

I was a Board Member of COV for over 6 years and am currently on their Advisory Board. In addition, I have traveled to Vietnam as a part of this organization on four separate occasions. The integrity of the staff in Vietnam is impeccable and all funds are used to help those truly in need. The following is an example.

COV provides bicycles to children who would walk 5-6 miles, one way to school. While I was there, COV received a names of needy children from district officials. After a thorough review of the listed children, by the COV staff, it came to light that some children did not meet the COV need criteria. Staff requested that these names be replaced.

I am so proud to be a part of an organization which honors the support of its supports and donors.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

reviewing the programs of COV while in Vietnam. I have had the opportunity to visit and interview families in need of housing and medical support. I have also interviewed university students in need of financial support. In addition, I have spent a number of days working in Street Children facilities in DaNang and experienced the tutoring program managed by COV to assist street children to meet their education goals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to expand Empowering Foundation for Women - a great program, which provides micro loans to women to help them secure meaningful employment, and thus, allows them to support their children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

I learned about COV after the death of my husband, who served with the US Military in Vietnam. Initially my support provided a link between my late husband's love of the children of DaNang and my passion to provide meaningful support to children in need. The experience became so much more. COV is now a part of my life.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

The short tem priority is to provide housing, education, nutrition and healthcare to children in dire need. However, the long term priority is to provide those children with skills, which will allow them to sustain a full and successful life.

What is its top priority in the long run?

The top priority is to provide resources to children, which will allow them to support themselves and their future families.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers