Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
73 Reviews
1234.917815
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

As a graduate of UNC-Chapel Hill and a master degree candidate at the University of Pennsylvania, I can adamantly say that working with Children of Vietnam has been the vital experience that strengthened my education and enriched my life. I have been working with Children of Vietnam for the past three years - and will always look forward to work with this great organization. First, I worked as a volunteer at their fundraising events and then as an intern for the organization in DaNang, Vietnam.

As an intern, my main objective was to capture and understand the life experiences of these single-women and their children. I also taught English to the Vietnamese COV staff and to young scholars, who are children of family of low-income. I was clear of my objectives and the execution of my plan. Yet, I did not expect to be so profoundly transformed by working with COV staff and experiencing life at a 20/20 eyesight.

COV staff are extremely professional and generous. They are graceful in the ways they treat people, especially to me as an intern who knew little about Vietnam, Vietnamese language, and Vietnamese culture. Yet it was not only grace that made this particular group of people so endearing to my heart. What struck me so deeply about COV staff is that they are incredibly generous and passionate about the work that they do. All of the COV staff truly believe that their work is influential and critical to their community. As such, they work extremely hard to transform a community of need into a community of hope, change, and empowerment.

Additionally, working with COV has transformed the way I viewed my life, thus my career choice. As an undergraduate at Chapel Hill, I sat somewhat on an ivory tower of success. I was academically successful and fairly decent in my living conditions. I have seen poverty plenty of times in TV and researched about people living in poverty. Academically, I possessed the theories and the knowledge about what poverty is and how we could effective resolve it. When I applied to be an intern for COV, I expected to bring my knowledge as a college student to Vietnam to teach people on how to live a more sustainable and empowered life. Yet having met these incredible women and their children, I realized I know little to nothing. I did not expect to be so profoundly educated and transformed. To be brutally honest, they did more to change my life than I did to impact theirs. These women opened up their homes and their life experiences for me to capture and to understand. They know more about living and how to sustain their lives more than anybody can, especially more than any U.S college students. How or why? because despite the challenges of their lives, they are still living and smiling! They do not view their lives as inferior or as unfortunate. They work with the hands they are dealt with. As such, I admire them - their strength, their courage, their knowledge, and their humanity. It is through working with COV that I gained a sense of humanity and understanding about poverty that no books, no great novels or no Nobel Prize-winning or ivy league professors could teach me. COV gave me an opportunity to humanity and a life-changing experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 27, 2013

more

April 27, 2013

I have volunteered with Children of Vietnam (COV) since my early days in college and have seen first hand the devotion that COV's staff in Vietnam takes care of the children and families in Danang when I returned to the country after graduation. They give families the personal attention and specialized care that will help the most with their situation, from personal health plans to economic assistance that will help them built small businesses that will bring in consistent income to help their families. I had the opportunity to interact with COV's staff in Vietnam who are very talented and have chosen to work with COV even though they could also choose to work for many others. I can see the passion they have to their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

I visited Children of Viet Nam (COV) with Dining for Women in March of this year. Our group was fortunate enough to have Nancy Letteri with us for a visit with several of the recipients of COV's generosity and guidance. What a difference these benefits can make in the lives of the women and children involved! COV is certainly doing a remarkable job with the many approaches they are using to pull a community out of dire poverty.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

This nonprofit hits near and dear to my heart, as I am Vietnamese. The people involved in the nonprofit are so passionate about what they do, and they are definitely doing great things by trying to help the children of Vietnam.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

When I first heard about Children of Vietnam, I thought this was a nonprofit too good to be true. I'm in the Vietnamese Student Association at the University of Virginia and COV was our cultural philanthropy project last year. I admire Children of Vietnam so much for putting a phenomenal amount of time and effort into a worthwhile cause that they are truly passionate about. I feel like Children of Vietnam embodies one of my favorite quotes by Margaret Mead, “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.”

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

I volunteered as a UNC-VSA member once this semester when Children of Vietnam held their Little Red Envelope event to celebrate Tet, the Vietnamese New Year. I had immense fun playing a Vietnamese game, Ba Cua Ca Cop, with the little kids who were visiting, and they all seemed to be having fun, too. I was impressed by how organized and put-together the event was, and one woman was telling me how thankful she was to have an opportunity to expose her child to Vietnamese culture -- she even drove 1-2 hours to make it to the event, after hearing about it online! COV is a great, wide-reaching organization, run by very dedicated people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

I have worked with Children of Vietnam through the UNC Vietnamese Student Association. Over the years, we have maintained a great relationship and the VSA executive board members and other members have had a great time working together for a great cause. Volunteering with COV has been fulfilling and such a wonderful experience. The people we have worked with directly such as Helen and Nancy are hardworking and genuinely caring individuals. COV does amazing work and we are thankful for the opportunities COV gives to UNC VSA to be a part of that!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 23, 2013

What a great organization. They really use donations to directly help and change peoples lives. Seeing photos posted on their FB page of people benefiting from my donation makes my day. more

June 27, 2014

An excellent charity. They use donations towards helping children and their families by buying basic things that we take for granted. They regularly update donors with their progress and work. I will continue to support this worthy charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 23, 2013

What a great organization. They really use donations to directly help and change peoples lives. Seeing photos posted on their FB page of people benefiting from my donation makes my day.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

What a special organization. Run by dedicated, selfless people. We receive regular updates and know exactly where our donation is going.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 4, 2012

more

July 4, 2012

I had the pleasure to volunteer for this incredible non-profit organization, Children of Vietnam. The staff are very committed, dedicated, and professional. They are so amazing and I'm very satisfied with their work and hard efforts to bring the best to these disadvantage children. I'm honor to have supported such caring people and the lives they have enriched through their services.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

An amazing charitable organization! Ben, Nancy, Huong and numerous staff work so very hard to to provide food, education, housing, and medical care to the wonderful children and families in Vietnam. Way to go and keep up the amazing work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers