Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.916675
| 1 ... 4 5 67 |
Write A Review
June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

I have visited COV' s office in Danang, Vietnam to have a number of their projects outlined and explained. I was most fortunate to visit a number pf the people benefiting from these projects and in my eyes these"projects" became friends helped! I visited the new home of a mother and her children. It was easy to see the family's joy in their new home provided by COV as well as the excitement over the new bike provided by COV which would allow the son to attend school. I also met and visited with a college student attending college on a COV scholarship. Owning a cow can be very important to village families providing assistance to a family in many ways. I was very touched when I saw many families receive one of these animals from COV Bikes can change lives as well and COV awarded bikes to a number of people as well and I visualized the impact on individuals and families. I also visited a beautiful kindergarten in a village which I found difficult to leave as I so enjoyed the beautiful children cared for and guided by such invested and caring teachers. These were some of the well guided programs that I visited.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

The work COV does in Vietnam meets a need that could not be met any other way. The close cooperation between the organization and local governments is a model for other organizations working in Vietnam.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

I've been very impressed by this organization's work, promotion of it's outreach, and communication with its donors. I have worked very closely as a major donor and volunteer with other non-profits and find COV to be exceptionally well-run.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

Children of Vietnam is a wonderful organization! The members are genuinely interested in making a difference in the children and families in that country. I know of one volunteer who has worked tirelessly to ensure that schools are built for the children and that the role of women in Vietnamese communities is protected. His dedication to this organization, through his travel to Vietnam and work "in-country", and his work here in the US shows me that this is an organzation worthy of my financial support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

The people with COV are so passionate about what they do; and they do it on such a tight budget! I love that so much of the money goes directly to the people we are trying to help.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 28, 2011

In Sept., 2010, before joining the Board, I travelled to Danang and witnessed Children of Vietnam's magnificent work. I visited the of homes impoverished families, orphanages, schools, and hospita... more

June 20, 2012

I first witnessed the incredible work of Children of Vietnam (COV) in the fall of 2010, when I had the opportunity to travel with the administrators of the its various programs to the sites of its beneficiaries. I saw orphanages that had benefited from nutritional assistance and structural upgrades, kindergartens that had been built in remote regions, families who had benefited from housing and sanitation upgrades to their homes, children who had recieved assistance with their education in the form of scholarships and bicycle transportation, and children who had received critical medical assistance provided within and without Vietnam. In addition, I met young people who had received a college education by virtue of COV's education initiative. Of all COV's amazing programs, the one that impresses me most is the Empowering Foundations for Women and Their Children. This is a program that provides microloans for single mothers to start a business to support their families while providing housing assistance along with education and medical assistance for the children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2011

In Sept., 2010, before joining the Board, I travelled to Danang and witnessed Children of Vietnam's magnificent work. I visited the of homes impoverished families, orphanages, schools, and hospitals who have worked with Children of Vietnam (COV) to improve the lives of homeless, poor, and disabled children. COV'sgoal is to provide meaningful, sustainable assistance that empowers children and their parents to grow to their potential and hopefully escape their dire conditions of poverty. Categories of assistance include providing medical treatment (ranging from heart surgeries to treatment for parasites), increased opportinities for education (ranging from building kindergarens, to supplying bicycles for rural children to get to school, to tutoring, to college scholarships), nutritional support (such as food and vitaming supplements for orphanages or livestock for needy families), and improved living conditions for needy children (by building modest new homes or making repairs to existing structures).
In addition, Children of Vietnam has a microfinancing program that allows struggling mothers to start a small, sustainable business to support her child (ren).
As I observed Children of Vietnam implement each of its incredible programs, I was amazed by the very personal attention that each family, school, and orphanage receives in assessing need, delivering services, and monitoring progress. They are very careful in allocating funds and ensuring that they are used in the most efficient and effective way possible. Only 8% of their funds go to overhead - 92% go to the beneficiaries.
Another extraordinary feature of Children of Vietnam is its working relationship with the regional government and its goal of creating with the government a framework for wrap-around services (health, education, nutrition, and housing) for the families of needy and disabled children. Through COV's " Hope System of Care," local government, health care, and community members are enlisted to evaluate, serve, and monitor the needs of beneficiaries, essentially setting up a system of care that can be sustained by the government in 1-2 year's time without the help of COV. The local government officials have been so impressed and pleased that they have expressed the desire to implement the program in other districts of central Vietnam.
After my Sept. visit to Danang, where I saw first hand the truly meaningful work COV is accomplishing and the efficiency and the integrity with which they go about it, I felt honored to join the Board in November. In my opinion, this is a model nonprofit organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced the results of this organization through my observation of and participation in its amazing programs (described above) - both in Danang and in my work with the Board.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Devote more energy to increasing its visibility.

June 11, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 27, 2011

I was a Board Member of COV for over 6 years and am currently on their Advisory Board. In addition, I have traveled to Vietnam as a part of this organization on four separate occasions. The integrit... more

June 11, 2012

When I joined the Children of Vietnam Board, I had never been to Vietnam and only read of the work done by this amazing organization. I have since traveled to DaNang 4 times. Visiting the Street Children program and working with the staff was one of the most heart warming an inspiring experiences of my life. The staff works directly with each child and family. Each penny and dollar is maximized to assist those in need. I have experienced children receiving scholarships, bicycles and homes. Tears of gratitude tell the story. Come and join us. It will change your life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2011

I was a Board Member of COV for over 6 years and am currently on their Advisory Board. In addition, I have traveled to Vietnam as a part of this organization on four separate occasions. The integrity of the staff in Vietnam is impeccable and all funds are used to help those truly in need. The following is an example.

COV provides bicycles to children who would walk 5-6 miles, one way to school. While I was there, COV received a names of needy children from district officials. After a thorough review of the listed children, by the COV staff, it came to light that some children did not meet the COV need criteria. Staff requested that these names be replaced.

I am so proud to be a part of an organization which honors the support of its supports and donors.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

reviewing the programs of COV while in Vietnam. I have had the opportunity to visit and interview families in need of housing and medical support. I have also interviewed university students in need of financial support. In addition, I have spent a number of days working in Street Children facilities in DaNang and experienced the tutoring program managed by COV to assist street children to meet their education goals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to expand Empowering Foundation for Women - a great program, which provides micro loans to women to help them secure meaningful employment, and thus, allows them to support their children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

I learned about COV after the death of my husband, who served with the US Military in Vietnam. Initially my support provided a link between my late husband's love of the children of DaNang and my passion to provide meaningful support to children in need. The experience became so much more. COV is now a part of my life.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

The short tem priority is to provide housing, education, nutrition and healthcare to children in dire need. However, the long term priority is to provide those children with skills, which will allow them to sustain a full and successful life.

What is its top priority in the long run?

The top priority is to provide resources to children, which will allow them to support themselves and their future families.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I served in a field hospital in the U.S. Navy stationed near Da Nang during 1968-69. A few years ago my wife and I returned to the exact area on a wonderful vacation. The local people were kind and friendly and so industrious. When we returned home, we looked for an organization through which we could help some of those people. We were directed to Children of Vietnam. I have been sending medical supplies and equipment to this organization to be used in the Da Nang area. So many children and families are benefited by COV. It only requires a small donation to make a huge difference in some of their lives.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 5, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 27, 2011

Two years ago my family and I went to Vietnam and make a short documentary (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1gda9FHoOFw) to show what Children of Vietnam was doing with $27,000 that had been raised by ... more

June 5, 2012

I have been a volunteer and donor for Children of Vietnam and have been exceedingly impressed with the work they do to improve the lives of people in Vietnam. Their emphasis on education really is a way to break the poverty cycle. I have bought several houses for single mothers in Vietnam and took my family over to see the work done. The people of COV are so devoted and compassionate.

Videos

This shows the work I did through COV in Vietnam

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2011

Two years ago my family and I went to Vietnam and make a short documentary (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1gda9FHoOFw) to show what Children of Vietnam was doing with $27,000 that had been raised by the giving circle, Dining for Women. I was extremely impressed by the organization and efficiency of COV. They are building houses for $1100, providing scholarships to girls and bicycles for transportation. The staff is among the most caring people I have ever met. It is such an outstanding organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Vietnam

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them raise more money

June 5, 2012

more

June 5, 2012

Empowering Foundations for Women and their Children is an exciting, highly successful and relatively new initiative of Children of Vietnam providing micro finance loans to single mothers who are head of households and live below the poverty level in central Vietnam. Within a few short years, hope and a bright future awaits families in this program. Besides loans to become self-suffienct in a small business, counseling, access to health care, home repair and schooling for children are additional components included in the wrap around services of this project.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers