Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
1234.911765
| 1 2 3 4...7 |
Write A Review
November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Terrific organization for such a worthwhile cause. COV does such a fantastic job educating the public on how much a dollar can provide for the families and children in need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have volunteered with Children of Vietnam for the past four years and could not be more complimentary of the organization. I have had the opportunity to visit the COV operations in Vietnam on two occasions and was so unbelievably impressed with the how dedicated the Vietnamese staff was to COV's mission to improve the lives of impoverished children and families. COV is a transparent organization that makes decisions for all the right reasons. I have had the pleasure of seeing the life-changing effects of COV's programming and I can say with complete confidence that Children of Vietnam is exactly the type of cause you should support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I greatly admire the Children of Vietnam organization for their exemplary assistance to the poverty-stricken people of Vietnam, who continue to suffer the effects of the war with America. More organizations should follow their example and undertake the rebuilding of Vietnam, which was decimated by that 10 year war. COV has a 5-star rating in my book.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a member of the board of directors, I again had the privilege this summer to visit COV operations in Vietnam and participate in several field trips. I came away with two primary impressions. First, COV has "heart". It starts with the founder, Ben Wilson, and the Country Director Luong Thi Huong, and flows down through the staff. Their deep compassion for those in need permeates and drives the organization. Theirs is a labor of love fueled by the desire to enable those they assist to acquire a better quality of life. And Second, COV practices the highest principles of charitable assistance: they enable the downtrodden to help themselves improve their quality of life, while maintaining their dignity throughout the process.
I was especially impressed with how, in their daily operations, they verify need to an established norm and then leverage their resources by acquiring the involvement and assistance of local officials and the surrounding community.
I left Vietnam with the positive feeling that COV is exercising truly good stewardship over the precious resources of our donors and benefactors in the way it carries out the charitable objectives of the organization. I can state unequivocally that COV is indeed bringing hope to the hopeless and improving the lives of so many needy Vietnamese children and their families.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2012

more

August 8, 2012

Thanks to COV, we were able to help our daughter's birth mother who is handicapped and suffering from extreme poverty. COV's staff visited the family, assessed their needs, put together a plan to build improved shelter for them and improve their quality of life by meeting some other basic needs like food and clothing. To accomplish all of this, we made a relatively small and anonymous donation. The COV staff in Danang executed the plan and then sent us a full report with detailed photos to show us the results and how happy the family appeared with the changes. This is an exceptional organization with staff who are genuinely interested in improving the lives of children and families in great need, and have the human resources to accomplish their goals. Their overhead is minimal so donations are used wisely. Can't say enough good things about COV's founder, Ben Wilson, who started his work in Vietnam for all the right reasons. It was never about him or his ego but all about a genuine desire to improve the lives of children. Huong, who directs the work in Danang is also extraordinary in her ability to get things done efficiently and with great heart.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2012

more

August 8, 2012

As a social worker with 30+ years of experience working with families in need, I approach nonprofits with a critical eye and expecting to see wasted resources. Children of Vietnam is the exception to the rule. This is an organization that was founded in a grass roots manner with a clearly established mission and the human resources to get the job done and done well. As they've grown into their current size, their goals remain the same, which they accomplish based on the tried and true methods established by their founder, Ben Wilson, and his staff in Danang. Dollars donated to COV are used efficiently, improving thousand's of children's lives in a setting that otherwise offers little hope for their basic needs to be met in the future. COV focuses on providing services for essentials which in the areas in and around Danang are sorely lacking.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

My experience as a former member of COV's Board of Directors is among those that mean the most to me. At every board meeting, we carefully balanced possibilities, commitments, new initiatives--always keeping in mind the Ben Wilson's question, "What's best for the children?" Every US expenditure was evaluated against our responsibility to donors and children to use our resources wisely. This is an organization with focus, commitment, and the highest ethical standards.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 4, 2012

more

July 4, 2012

I had the pleasure to volunteer for this incredible non-profit organization, Children of Vietnam. The staff are very committed, dedicated, and professional. They are so amazing and I'm very satisfied with their work and hard efforts to bring the best to these disadvantage children. I'm honor to have supported such caring people and the lives they have enriched through their services.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 3, 2012

more

July 3, 2012

Wonderful nonprofit. They do great work on the ground in Vietnam and provide donors with regular and extensive updates on their impact.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

My brother and his wife adopted a young girl from Viet Nam about 10 years ago. Our families are very close and we have become aware of the programs that COV has brought to many children and families in Viet Nam. Having grown up in the 60s, I have known of the trials, tribulations and tragedies of Viet Nam for most of my life and I am so pleased that COV is actively working to improve the lives, health and education of Vietnam's children and their families. Ben Wilson has developed an action, product heavy non profit rather than an administrative operation. I feel my contributions are used well and wisely for the purposes specified and advertised. Brava COV!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers