Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
73 Reviews
1234.917815
| 1 2 3 4...7 |
Write A Review
April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

I volunteered as a UNC-VSA member once this semester when Children of Vietnam held their Little Red Envelope event to celebrate Tet, the Vietnamese New Year. I had immense fun playing a Vietnamese game, Ba Cua Ca Cop, with the little kids who were visiting, and they all seemed to be having fun, too. I was impressed by how organized and put-together the event was, and one woman was telling me how thankful she was to have an opportunity to expose her child to Vietnamese culture -- she even drove 1-2 hours to make it to the event, after hearing about it online! COV is a great, wide-reaching organization, run by very dedicated people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

I have worked with Children of Vietnam through the UNC Vietnamese Student Association. Over the years, we have maintained a great relationship and the VSA executive board members and other members have had a great time working together for a great cause. Volunteering with COV has been fulfilling and such a wonderful experience. The people we have worked with directly such as Helen and Nancy are hardworking and genuinely caring individuals. COV does amazing work and we are thankful for the opportunities COV gives to UNC VSA to be a part of that!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

The results of this organizations assistance has changed the lives of so many. It has mine ! I am so much more aware. I constantly share COV's post (which are excellent) hoping to bring further awareness. Great dedicated work !!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more


1 previous review
June 25, 2012

Children of Vietnam is a small charity with a focused mission. This means it can move quickly and efficiently to address local needs. In 2007 my husband and I decided to build a kindergarten with C... more

November 30, 2012

I had the privilege of visiting Children of Vietnam's (COV)programs on the ground this year. I saw first-hand the orphans who benefit form one of the tutoring programs. The orphanage director told me that grades had improved now that all 50 children at the orphanage participate in tutoring. I was also able to meet a teen-ager who is hoping that tutoring will help with her education. This young lady had just returned from a COV tutoring session when I arrived, and she hopes to use her writing talents to become a journalist. I left this visit with a better understanding of how COV provides direct aid to very vulnerable children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

Children of Vietnam is a small charity with a focused mission. This means it can move quickly and efficiently to address local needs. In 2007 my husband and I decided to build a kindergarten with COV. We donated the money in the summer, the site was selected by September, the kindergarten was built by December, children started school in January and we were able to visit in March. When we returned several years later the same teachers were there, the building was in good condition, and the children were engaged.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Terrific organization for such a worthwhile cause. COV does such a fantastic job educating the public on how much a dollar can provide for the families and children in need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have volunteered with Children of Vietnam for the past four years and could not be more complimentary of the organization. I have had the opportunity to visit the COV operations in Vietnam on two occasions and was so unbelievably impressed with the how dedicated the Vietnamese staff was to COV's mission to improve the lives of impoverished children and families. COV is a transparent organization that makes decisions for all the right reasons. I have had the pleasure of seeing the life-changing effects of COV's programming and I can say with complete confidence that Children of Vietnam is exactly the type of cause you should support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I greatly admire the Children of Vietnam organization for their exemplary assistance to the poverty-stricken people of Vietnam, who continue to suffer the effects of the war with America. More organizations should follow their example and undertake the rebuilding of Vietnam, which was decimated by that 10 year war. COV has a 5-star rating in my book.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a member of the board of directors, I again had the privilege this summer to visit COV operations in Vietnam and participate in several field trips. I came away with two primary impressions. First, COV has "heart". It starts with the founder, Ben Wilson, and the Country Director Luong Thi Huong, and flows down through the staff. Their deep compassion for those in need permeates and drives the organization. Theirs is a labor of love fueled by the desire to enable those they assist to acquire a better quality of life. And Second, COV practices the highest principles of charitable assistance: they enable the downtrodden to help themselves improve their quality of life, while maintaining their dignity throughout the process.
I was especially impressed with how, in their daily operations, they verify need to an established norm and then leverage their resources by acquiring the involvement and assistance of local officials and the surrounding community.
I left Vietnam with the positive feeling that COV is exercising truly good stewardship over the precious resources of our donors and benefactors in the way it carries out the charitable objectives of the organization. I can state unequivocally that COV is indeed bringing hope to the hopeless and improving the lives of so many needy Vietnamese children and their families.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2012

more

August 8, 2012

Thanks to COV, we were able to help our daughter's birth mother who is handicapped and suffering from extreme poverty. COV's staff visited the family, assessed their needs, put together a plan to build improved shelter for them and improve their quality of life by meeting some other basic needs like food and clothing. To accomplish all of this, we made a relatively small and anonymous donation. The COV staff in Danang executed the plan and then sent us a full report with detailed photos to show us the results and how happy the family appeared with the changes. This is an exceptional organization with staff who are genuinely interested in improving the lives of children and families in great need, and have the human resources to accomplish their goals. Their overhead is minimal so donations are used wisely. Can't say enough good things about COV's founder, Ben Wilson, who started his work in Vietnam for all the right reasons. It was never about him or his ego but all about a genuine desire to improve the lives of children. Huong, who directs the work in Danang is also extraordinary in her ability to get things done efficiently and with great heart.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

My experience as a former member of COV's Board of Directors is among those that mean the most to me. At every board meeting, we carefully balanced possibilities, commitments, new initiatives--always keeping in mind the Ben Wilson's question, "What's best for the children?" Every US expenditure was evaluated against our responsibility to donors and children to use our resources wisely. This is an organization with focus, commitment, and the highest ethical standards.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers