Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
73 Reviews
1234.917815
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

As a graduate of UNC-Chapel Hill and a master degree candidate at the University of Pennsylvania, I can adamantly say that working with Children of Vietnam has been the vital experience that strengthened my education and enriched my life. I have been working with Children of Vietnam for the past three years - and will always look forward to work with this great organization. First, I worked as a volunteer at their fundraising events and then as an intern for the organization in DaNang, Vietnam.

As an intern, my main objective was to capture and understand the life experiences of these single-women and their children. I also taught English to the Vietnamese COV staff and to young scholars, who are children of family of low-income. I was clear of my objectives and the execution of my plan. Yet, I did not expect to be so profoundly transformed by working with COV staff and experiencing life at a 20/20 eyesight.

COV staff are extremely professional and generous. They are graceful in the ways they treat people, especially to me as an intern who knew little about Vietnam, Vietnamese language, and Vietnamese culture. Yet it was not only grace that made this particular group of people so endearing to my heart. What struck me so deeply about COV staff is that they are incredibly generous and passionate about the work that they do. All of the COV staff truly believe that their work is influential and critical to their community. As such, they work extremely hard to transform a community of need into a community of hope, change, and empowerment.

Additionally, working with COV has transformed the way I viewed my life, thus my career choice. As an undergraduate at Chapel Hill, I sat somewhat on an ivory tower of success. I was academically successful and fairly decent in my living conditions. I have seen poverty plenty of times in TV and researched about people living in poverty. Academically, I possessed the theories and the knowledge about what poverty is and how we could effective resolve it. When I applied to be an intern for COV, I expected to bring my knowledge as a college student to Vietnam to teach people on how to live a more sustainable and empowered life. Yet having met these incredible women and their children, I realized I know little to nothing. I did not expect to be so profoundly educated and transformed. To be brutally honest, they did more to change my life than I did to impact theirs. These women opened up their homes and their life experiences for me to capture and to understand. They know more about living and how to sustain their lives more than anybody can, especially more than any U.S college students. How or why? because despite the challenges of their lives, they are still living and smiling! They do not view their lives as inferior or as unfortunate. They work with the hands they are dealt with. As such, I admire them - their strength, their courage, their knowledge, and their humanity. It is through working with COV that I gained a sense of humanity and understanding about poverty that no books, no great novels or no Nobel Prize-winning or ivy league professors could teach me. COV gave me an opportunity to humanity and a life-changing experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 8, 2012

As a social worker with 30+ years of experience working with families in need, I approach nonprofits with a critical eye and expecting to see wasted resources. Children of Vietnam is the exception to... more

July 31, 2014

Children of Vietnam is expert at developing and administering services for their target population and has improved the lives of thousands of Vietnamese children as a result. COV operates with fiscal responsibility as a top priority. In-country staff is diligent about making sure programs are effective and aimed at those truly in need.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2012

As a social worker with 30+ years of experience working with families in need, I approach nonprofits with a critical eye and expecting to see wasted resources. Children of Vietnam is the exception to the rule. This is an organization that was founded in a grass roots manner with a clearly established mission and the human resources to get the job done and done well. As they've grown into their current size, their goals remain the same, which they accomplish based on the tried and true methods established by their founder, Ben Wilson, and his staff in Danang. Dollars donated to COV are used efficiently, improving thousand's of children's lives in a setting that otherwise offers little hope for their basic needs to be met in the future. COV focuses on providing services for essentials which in the areas in and around Danang are sorely lacking.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

Seeing the many, many children with happy faces who are now living because of Children of Vietnam Programs is a wonderful reward for their effort! So many walking who previously could not, so many
with perfect operating hearts who previously were gravely ill, so many semi-plump and well fed
who were previously hungry or mal nourished. The efficient operation of their staff is remarkable, squeezing total value from every dollar available. !!!
Ben Wilson

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

COV is a great non-profit organization. I traveled to Vietnam on 3 occasions to see their work first hand before becoming a member of the Board of Directors. I continue to be amazed at the low administrative costs and the efforts to maximize every dollar donated to the benefit of the children we are helping. I can also attest to the hard work of our board members who cheerfully donate of their time, talents, and their own money to further our work. We have tremendous staff in Vietnam and an excellent Executive Director in the USA who is passionate about our work and loves the people of Vietnam. I can whole heartedly recommend this organization to anyone longing to help make a difference in the world. Your donations have a direct and substantial impact on the children we serve and the community in which they live. Thank you for your support!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 23, 2013

What a great organization. They really use donations to directly help and change peoples lives. Seeing photos posted on their FB page of people benefiting from my donation makes my day. more

June 27, 2014

An excellent charity. They use donations towards helping children and their families by buying basic things that we take for granted. They regularly update donors with their progress and work. I will continue to support this worthy charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 23, 2013

What a great organization. They really use donations to directly help and change peoples lives. Seeing photos posted on their FB page of people benefiting from my donation makes my day.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

What a special organization. Run by dedicated, selfless people. We receive regular updates and know exactly where our donation is going.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 7, 2014

more

January 7, 2014

I have been a donor / support of COV for over 4 years now and i'd like to express my gratitude to them for being one of the few honest and trustworthy non profit organizations I have ever work with! They are my top supporters and everything they have done for the underprivileged children to create a sustainable income for families has been phenomenal. Every donation send to them have been used wisely and constructively and that is hard to come by now-days. I am honor to be able to support them with their mission and had the life changing opportunity to work along side with them this summer traveling back to Vietnam assistance at the orphanage Hoa Mai! Such a blessing to have found and connected with the wonderful staffs and volunteers of COV! Highly recommend this to anyone

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

so far so good :) I love everyone there especially Nancy for being so easy to talk to and reach out with any help needed!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 29, 2013

more

June 29, 2013

Children of Vietnam provides specialized care for children and their mothers that help the most with their individual situations. As an economist, I like the economic assistance (microloans) they provide that will help the mothers build small businesses that will bring in consistent income to help their families. I appreciate that OOV partners with government agencies and with other community organizations to provide services tailored to the needs of each family. I’ve always received timely news about the charity, and the director, Nancy Letteri, is energetic and dedicated to making sure that the donations are well spent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand their reach.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2013

more

May 8, 2013

I was able to visit Children of Vietnam offices in Danang with a group of women who are members of Dining for Women, a women's giving circle. The offices were clean, orderly, and beautiful-something I look for in not for profits as it shows respect for the staff and the clients served. We heard presentations for the Executive Director, the program directors and staff members. We then were split into groups and spent two days visiting some of the clients, single mothers, who have received micro loans to enhance their home based businesses, or home improvement or other support that enables their children to attend school. Between the three groups, we must have visited and met over 45 women and their children who were recipients. Our visits were facilitated by staff members and interns who translated for us. I was impressed by the professionalism of the staff, the collaborations with government entities, the rate of return of the loans that were offered, and the impact that was clearly evident in the lives of the women and families served. Another aspect I noted was the wrap around services and the case managements plans that continued support of different types to assist the single mothers and their families to achieve their goals. This is a very impressive organization and I felt my donations are being used efficiently, effectively and making a big impact - what more could a donor want?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 27, 2013

more

April 27, 2013

Children of Vietnam is an incredible resource for women and children in Central Vietnam. I was part of a group who visited COV's office in DaNang, Vietnam in March 2013 and had an opportunity to meet the energetic and dedicated staff, including the Executive Director, Nancy Letteri. I was truly impressed with COV's deep understanding of the cultural, economic, health and educational issues facing the women and children they serve. We visited with some of the families being served and it was obvious that COV has been wildly successful in its endeavors. This is an exceptional organization that is there for the long term.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 27, 2013

more

April 27, 2013

Children of Vietnam (COV) has received two significant grants from Dining for Women (DFW). In 2009 and again in 2012, when $45,000 was earmarked for Empowering Foundations for Women and their Children (EFWC) to be distributed over a two-year period.

In March of 2013, I organized and led a
group of 18 members of DFW to Vietnam. We dedicated two full days of our journey to visit COV in Danang. We met the staff and a large number of single mothers who were recipients of a micro loan from EFWC. We were impressed in a number of ways:
1) The COV staff was professional, passionate and organized. They love what they do, and it shows.
2) Candidates are identified by social welfare workers, after which COV staff make an objective assessment based on income, number of children, living conditions, etc. In addition, they consider each woman’s skills and goals to help her decide what kind of income-generating enterprise to pursue. One woman bought a cow, another started a broom-making business, another started to grow mushrooms, etc.
3) COV works with the system, enrolling regional government officials and representative from the Women’s Union to participate in their processes.
4) In addition to the micro-loan, they provide wrap-around services to include health care checkups, nutritional supplements, scholarships for the children, home improvement where necessary, etc. Also, basic items like rice cookers or fans are provided to improve the quality of life for the women. There is much follow-up and support to ensure that the women succeed.
5) The women we met were proud and confident. It was evident that the grants have made a significant difference … which, of course, gives their children a chance at a quality education, food in their bellies and, ultimately, a better life.

They are doing great work!

Marilyn Murphy, CEO
The CTP Group
Woodland Hills CA

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers