Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
123.7058845
Write A Review
December 2, 2014

more

December 2, 2014

Okay, so let me get this straight. Children of the Night used to be called the California Association of Trollops and was partially run by people we now consider human traffickers. Suddenly Hugh Hefner gets involved because he wants to "rescue teenagers from the ravages of prostitution," gives lots and lots of money, till he finally becomes their "hero" a year after he is presumably having sex with twin teenage sisters at the age of 83. And in addition, the founder, executive director, Lois Lee, "devised a scheme" to put another children's charity out of business. She gets people beaten and apparently holds a loaded gun right up to the chest of a 17 year old actress, threatening to kill her. But wait! a 14 year old girl is sodomized inside the Children of the Night shelter. Of course, this is after she tried to have a benefit with a date with a call girl as a grand prize from Danni Ash's Hard Drive. And this was after Children of the Night was majorly fined by the United States Postal Service for misusing their nonprofit bulk mailing permit. Lois Lee apparently takes pride that when she was younger, she used to take teenage girls in the sex trade in, in her apartment. Hmmm. I wonder if there would be any raised eyebrows if Hugh Hefner or Charlie Sheen did that? Oh, and check out the salary of Lois Lee on Guidestar. She make close to a quarter of a mil on a $2 mil budget. Great place to send kids. Great place to donate. Not. I was a runaway. I was a teenage girl prostitute. I know about Children of the Night all too well. Hey, if you see anyone from there coming, run Forrest, run!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Arrest them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

Could there possibly be a worse organization? Children of the Night is a supposed "helping" charity that operates behind locked doors and barred windows. It says that it "rescues" teenage girls from the sex trade, but it posts Hugh Hefner as it's "hero" on its website. A 14-year-old girl was sodomized inside its shelter. Its director, Lois Lee, CON's Founder and Executive Director, takes an obscenely high salary. Lee caused a friend of mine to be beaten while she watched and from what I heard from direct eye witnesses, she aimed a presumably loaded gun with a silencer attached at a 17-year-old girl whom she conned into believing that the girl the 17-year-old girl was trying to help was an endangered runaway. I would as soon recommend that young girls be sent to Al Qaeda than to CON. Maybe that's a pretty extreme statement, but the fact is that it would be a cold day in hell before I would send any girl to either.
March 3, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

I wanted to donate to this organization, but can't justify the salary for the founder. Who is being served here? Compensation % of Expenses Paid to Title
$216,482 12.46% Lois Lee Founder

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2011

more

April 20, 2011

Children of the Night is a valuable tool in the fight against American child prostitution. The founder goes above and beyond the call of duty to help rescue these children. The children get the help they need, justice is provided, and recovery begins here.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

volunteering, and seeing the lives of the many children changed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes. The model is great, the staff are well trained, and the program works.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We need Doctors, Lawyers & Other Professionals Nationwide Volunteer