Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 22, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 17, 2014

Children of the Americas is a wonderful group of dedicated volunteers who provide medical and surgical services to indigent mothers and children in Guatemala. It has been an honor and pleasure to be ... more

October 22, 2014

I have had the honor to serve this organization since 1996, as a board member, a host parent, and a volunteer on the teams. My decision to become involved has been one of the most positive and influential decisions of my life. It has not only given me a better appreciation of the culture of a beautiful country, but also an understanding of the challenges that face people in all developing countries. That appreciation has changed not only my life, but the lives of my family and friends, who have seen for themselves the importance of service to others in need. I am humbled and honored to work alongside the other COTA volunteers in our efforts to improve the lives of the women and children of Guatemala.
July 17, 2014

Children of the Americas is a wonderful group of dedicated volunteers who provide medical and surgical services to indigent mothers and children in Guatemala. It has been an honor and pleasure to be part of this amazing organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing whatsoever.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 21, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 9, 2013

COTA is doing what most would think impossible. With no paid staff and a volunteer board, they are providing essential health care services to some of the world's most desperate and impoverished peopl... more

October 21, 2014

I have been privileged to work with this all volunteer group since 2006. We are called upon to serve those who are marginalized by poverty, disease or circumstance. Working side by side with the wonderful people of Guatemala, I find that we transform not only those whose needs we serve, but ourselves as well, making the world a better place one child at a time.
May 9, 2013

COTA is doing what most would think impossible. With no paid staff and a volunteer board, they are providing essential health care services to some of the world's most desperate and impoverished people. Volunteers donate their time and money to gather, pack supplies and to organize medical trips to Guatemala. After a year of preparation, volunteers the use vacation time and pay for travel expenses to spend a week providing medical care to those who need it most. Every dollar collected in fundraising goes directly to patient care. Money could not be better spent. I am proud to donate my time and money to this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

I was introduced to COTA in 1997 through my sister, who has served in many capacities for the organization. I have 100% confidence in the sincerity and effectiveness of this non-profit. It's incredible to see how much good can be done by this group with limited funds. I have no doubt that every dollar contributed is used wisely. The COTA volunteers are truly amazing.
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

As a full time volunteer in the Highlands of Guatemala, I went as a translator in Jan-2014 to Solola which is about an hour from where I volunteer. The way these folks are from the beginning of the huge health campaign…the organization, the details, the love, the shoes, the comrades, the experts in their field, the previous recipients now the givers, the high quality care, the willingness to adapt, the honoring system and respect for the local culture, the generosity of every single person on the team, the kindness, the sacrifices,…I can go on and on. I've worked here 5 years and to date have not found finest volunteers with so much talent and heart! Kudos to the Board of Directors and everyone that carries such a smooth and fruitful operation. Special thanks to Jody Greenlee who loves unending and passes on such joy and passion to all that meet her.

August 20, 2014

more

August 20, 2014

I had the sincere honor of joining this goup for their 2014 trip. It is a humbling and incredible experience to be part of group that is so committed to thier charter and provides this kind of medical care, both in Guatemala, and at times bringing severe cases back to the US for intense surgeries. They are a well run, and growing organization of caring individuals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

Many groups go to Central America and hand out tracts, vitamins, clothing, etc. But Children of the Americas goes a step further with life-changing surgery. We take children and women who are basically outcasts in their villages, and help turn them into socially accepted, hard-working individuals. It truly changes lives for the better.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a "set" place to go each year in Guatemala. Currently we go to many different areas and hospitals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

COTA is an extremely well run mission that provides health care to more than thousand mothers and their children each year including complicated and life saving surgeries in the US. The missions provide services and medicines that these families would never receive otherwise.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing 1

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

Children of the Americas is comprised of passionate, dedicated and caring individuals motivated by the mission to offer much needed medical care to women and children in Guatemala. Having volunteered for this group on a medical mission trip, I was moved by the compassionate clinicians and volunteers that helped change the lives of those we served. It was a privilege to serve with this nonprofit and I've recommended the experience to my colleagues and physicians as a wonderful, reliable organization with an outstanding history.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 17, 2013

One strength of the COTA mission is in the size and diversity of people that come together to volunteer. For one week, once a year, over 100 individuals come from across the US with skill sets rangin... more

August 18, 2014

The triple care approach of COTA is one of the non-profit's most remarkable qualities. The organization has a mission to treat women and children on site in Guatemala, provide ambulatory devices as needed, and then goes above and beyond by selecting a few of the most vulnerable children to travel to the United States for lifesaving surgeries. All of this is accomplished by volunteers spread out across the United States who have other full time jobs. I can't think of a more rewarding group to be a part of. Children of the Americas is walking the walk to make life better for families in underdeveloped nations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 17, 2013

One strength of the COTA mission is in the size and diversity of people that come together to volunteer. For one week, once a year, over 100 individuals come from across the US with skill sets ranging from world class surgeons, nurses, and anesthesiologists, to interpreters, logistics personnel, cooks and van drivers. After being a part of the group for two years now, COTA feels more like a family helping other families. They are truly interested in a greater good and are quite efficient at reaching hundreds of women and children in that one short week.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

COTA is a wonderful organization. COTA and its cadre of highly qualified and passionate volunteers provide medical and surgical care to marginalized and under-served women and children. Having been on a medical mission trip with COTA and having attended its Board meetings, I can attest firsthand to the quality of this organization and the services it provides. It takes multi-disciplinary efforts from physicians, nurses, other clinicians, translators, logistics personnel, and a bevy of others to accomplish what COTA manages to do well so consistently. It all works seamlessly because all involved share the singular focus of helping those in need. I am blessed to know and to participate in the activities of this great organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Figure out a way to expand its services even further. Generous donations can help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers