Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

Many groups go to Central America and hand out tracts, vitamins, clothing, etc. But Children of the Americas goes a step further with life-changing surgery. We take children and women who are basically outcasts in their villages, and help turn them into socially accepted, hard-working individuals. It truly changes lives for the better.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a "set" place to go each year in Guatemala. Currently we go to many different areas and hospitals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

COTA is an extremely well run mission that provides health care to more than thousand mothers and their children each year including complicated and life saving surgeries in the US. The missions provide services and medicines that these families would never receive otherwise.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing 1

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

Children of the Americas is comprised of passionate, dedicated and caring individuals motivated by the mission to offer much needed medical care to women and children in Guatemala. Having volunteered for this group on a medical mission trip, I was moved by the compassionate clinicians and volunteers that helped change the lives of those we served. It was a privilege to serve with this nonprofit and I've recommended the experience to my colleagues and physicians as a wonderful, reliable organization with an outstanding history.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 18, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 17, 2013

One strength of the COTA mission is in the size and diversity of people that come together to volunteer. For one week, once a year, over 100 individuals come from across the US with skill sets rangin... more

August 18, 2014

The triple care approach of COTA is one of the non-profit's most remarkable qualities. The organization has a mission to treat women and children on site in Guatemala, provide ambulatory devices as needed, and then goes above and beyond by selecting a few of the most vulnerable children to travel to the United States for lifesaving surgeries. All of this is accomplished by volunteers spread out across the United States who have other full time jobs. I can't think of a more rewarding group to be a part of. Children of the Americas is walking the walk to make life better for families in underdeveloped nations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 17, 2013

One strength of the COTA mission is in the size and diversity of people that come together to volunteer. For one week, once a year, over 100 individuals come from across the US with skill sets ranging from world class surgeons, nurses, and anesthesiologists, to interpreters, logistics personnel, cooks and van drivers. After being a part of the group for two years now, COTA feels more like a family helping other families. They are truly interested in a greater good and are quite efficient at reaching hundreds of women and children in that one short week.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

COTA is a wonderful organization. COTA and its cadre of highly qualified and passionate volunteers provide medical and surgical care to marginalized and under-served women and children. Having been on a medical mission trip with COTA and having attended its Board meetings, I can attest firsthand to the quality of this organization and the services it provides. It takes multi-disciplinary efforts from physicians, nurses, other clinicians, translators, logistics personnel, and a bevy of others to accomplish what COTA manages to do well so consistently. It all works seamlessly because all involved share the singular focus of helping those in need. I am blessed to know and to participate in the activities of this great organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Figure out a way to expand its services even further. Generous donations can help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

Cota is an organization that has over 20 years helping the poor people in Guatemala. The group of physicians from different specialties, nurses, prosthetists and orthotists and many, many volunteers make a monumental work, helping people from different regions of the country. I was unable to participate and observe the great work they perform donation in all fields. Operations of different types, dentists, special care for children with common disease, etc, etc.. I have no more to say Cota is a simply wonderful and efficient organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would suggest only to perform a better promotion when and where they will be attending, so that the information flow a little faster by the day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

Children of the Americas is a wonderful group of dedicated volunteers who provide medical and surgical services to indigent mothers and children in Guatemala. It has been an honor and pleasure to be part of this amazing organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing whatsoever.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

I was impressed with the Children Of The Americas based out of Kentucky from the day we went to work in Guatemala. I work for a lean manufacturing company as my real job and I liked the fact that everyone had a job with specific expectations with minimal overlap so it was structured to make us highly efficient. It was my first year as with others and the seasoned members of COTA insured that we were safe and briefed as to what we should be doing and shouldn't be doing. The rewarding part is that the medical, dental, orthopedics, teams and others gave the women and children life saving and quality of life changing medical care. If anyone wants to work for or donate to an amazing organization I suggest you devote some time and check COTA out on the web or seek out a member to ask questions to to hear about the great things they do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd like to see a slow increase in current services with added personnel.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

A 90+% return rate speaks volumes to the people and work of this group. I am continually amazed at how 100+ highly independent and motivated people all come together in January and work like a well oiled machine. Everyone does what need to be done to do as much as possible for the women and children of Guatemala in that one short week. I am honored to be part of COTA!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 27, 2013

more

July 27, 2013

Working with COTA has been the most rewarding work my wife and I have ever done. As volunteer ARNP and pharmacist we have been truly blessed by working with the needy women and children of Guatemala. COTA is making such a difference in the lives of "the least of these". If you go your heart and outlook are changed forever. Can't say enough about all the COTA volunteers and their dedication. The biggest reward is on the faces and smiles of those we are serving. Hosting a foster child for medical treatment stole our hearts. We always look forward to returning each year with COTA. Please support COTA to continue this important work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers