Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12.76923345
Write A Review
November 25, 2014

more

November 25, 2014

http://www.dnainfo.com/new-york/20141125/bed-stuy/board-quits-brooklyn-nonprofit-after-parents-protest-founders-firing

A board doesn't just resign for no good reason. People should really think about what is happening here. Bed-Stuy needs real leadership and support - look what happened to
Assemblyman William Boyland Jr. He was convicted of extortion and soliciting bribes by a federal jury and immediately tossed in jail.
This was proven! People of color need to research more, be realistic and see what's going on in front of them, to them, and educate themselves before jumping on the bandwagon of support.

The agency is needed in the community but under leadership that cares and supports the community. WAKE UP PEOPLE! Darkness is coming to light and it's up to you to put on your glasses and see it!!!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

The executive staff is very unorganized, they charge parents a weekly - monthly fees for having their child enrolled in the program. There is a grotesque amount of nepotism whiting the company. The staff is over worked and underpaid. The only time that the President comes out of her office is when there are site visits from funders. Most of the kids do not even know who she is. She has no shame in telling staff that if they do not do their job there are people that are willing to take over their position. The kids are amazing and they grow on you so much. They honestly deserve to have a President that will interact with them more than what this President does.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get rid of the President and add someone that would do a better job

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Sharon Content ( President ) and her sister Monique Newton ( Vice President ) is a fraud and should be stopped. The children in this program deserve the support and accommodations that funders are providing however, Children of Promise, NYC is ran by two of the most arrogant, fast talking, and fraudulent people that exist. Christmas presents given by organizations are taken and given to their personal family members, they promise and promote van transportation to support families that have a loved one incarcerated and yet they never provide any support other than requesting medicaid cards to fund the frivolous mental health clinic that is not properly staffed and has a lack of trained professionals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

REPLACE the leadership of this organization with people who care !!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 1, 2013

more

May 1, 2013

I attended the Junior Board's dodgeball event near CPNYC's headquarters and got a chance to meet other members of the junior board and as well as some staff/former members of CPYNYC. I think the recent addition of the junior board will help propel CYNYC's mission and awareness throughout the greater community and am very excited to attend future events and continue to support their mission.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became interested in joining the Junior Board of The Children of Promise because of the amazing impression that Sharon Content, and my first visit to CPNYC's site made on me. The passion and excitement that Ms. Content expresses when she speaks about the non-profit's mission is flat out contagious, and the happiness that fills the building when the children are present would make anyone want to help out her cause. CPNYC's after school program, along with its mentoring and therapeutic services, allows the children a safe and supportive environment where they can grow up to reach their greatest potential. Every single person I have ever met that is associated with the non-profit is very openly emotionally invested in CPNYC, and impressed with the effect that the organization has had on the lives of so many children in NYC.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I joined the junior board of Children of Promise after meeting with the Executive Director, Sharon Content, and really appreciating her work and vision for this relatively young non-profit. It is clear that Mrs. Content is well-suited to run this organization, especially as it continues to grow at such a high rate.

Having visited the site multiple times, most recently for their holiday party when Santa showed up and distributed gifts to the children, I walked away quite impressed. The staff was great and clearly dedicated to their work, as were the mentors who were there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered with CPNYC over my winter break from grad school. I was immediately put to work helping with a number of pending grant proposals. At the end, I felt like my time was appreciated, my assistance was useful, and I enjoyed working in an environment where everyone was so dedicated to their work. It was especially wonderful to see the great interactions between the staff and the children!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I must review this nonprofit as one that is a poorly run. I ended my tenure as a volunteer because more often than not I arrived with no assignment or was abruptly switched throughout the afternoons to areas I was not fit for. Frequently, I requested assignments involving sitting with the young people to do homework help. I am a retired senior and on many occasions was assigned to projects outdoors or in the gym even though I notified the organization of my physical limitations due to arthritis. I volunteered weekly for over 8 months before I had end my term.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my time as a volunteer. I mentored youth as a volunteer for over 8 months.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Organize afterschool volunteering so it makes more sense. It should meet the needs of volunteers and not just the organization. Information about my physical limitation and preferences was listed on my volunteer application.

December 7, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 7, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

Children of Promise, NYC is a wonderful organization with a compelling mission. I had the opportunity to work with Sharon Content, the organizations founder and President a few years ago while working at another NGO and subsequently was brought in to assist with restructuring the Project Dream Mentoring program. My personal experience with CPNYC was very rewarding. Sharon is an intelligent, forward-thinking and inspiring leader. Ms. Content is committed to growing the organization and willing to accept constructive feedback where necessary. I've offered numerous suggestions on ways in which Sharon could strengthen CPNYC and my feedback was always given consideration.



CPNYC has achieved a tremendous amount of success in a relatively short amount of time. Lest we forget the organization is still a start-up (3 years old) and for those reasons I feel CPNYC has definitely exceeded expectations. CPNYC is experiencing a growth spurt and unfortunately like so many start-ups, it lacks the structural or organizational capacity to effectively manage all of its new and wonderful programming. Sharon should be commended for her efforts not ridiculed by anonymous reviewers. More funding is needed for this organization so that Sharon can not only improve the organizations capacity but so that more children can realize their true potential.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Matching children of incarcerated parents with positive adult role models

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase board participation and community involvement

November 27, 2010

more

November 27, 2010

My neices are in children of promise. I do not feel it is a good program.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Bad teachers. Teacher grabbed and pushed my neice.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Teachers should not push on the kids.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers