Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.955
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have had the extraordinary opportunity to see firsthand the dedication of the Children of Grace staff both in Uganda and the US. They continually make sure the needs of the sponsored children are met effectively. Close monitoring of the children and programs to insure donor dollars are being spent meaningfully are an integral part of the structure and success of COG. The lives of so many children have been changed and enhanced forever because of COG. It has been a pleasure to be a small part of this truly amazing organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I am impressed with Children of Grace because the staff takes a personal interest in each child.
Cog goes far beyond the goal of providing education for each child.
An example is a student I sponsor named Alex.
When I first met Alex I noticed that he was very thin and small for his
age. I was told that he had a heart defect which hindered his growth and prevented his participating in sports.
This year CoG provided an adult to accompany Alex to a hospital in S.Sudan where he was able to have heart surgery.
He stayed at the rehab center for several weeks. All of the expenses were paid for him.
Now he is back in school and has gained weight and is looking much stronger.
He is taken to Kampala once a month for regular check-ups.
His future has changed from despair to hope, thanks to the generosity and compassion of the staff of CoG and donors in the US.
He has been given a new life.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

We sponsor three children in the Children of Grace sponsorship program. We have been supporting this amazing organization for 7 years. We correspond by letter and email to our sponsored children and have watched them grow and become educated, empowered students. Children of Grace has provided us an opportunity to help children in Uganda and show our children a view into the life of children in Africa. Its been an honor and a privilege to support Children of Grace and we look forward to many more years of child sponsorship.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

My name is Umaru Waizoba. I'm a young man who has been nurtured and transformed from grass to grace by Children of Grace, an organization based in Jinja, Uganda. The organization has given me all the necessary support to fully grow up into a responsible young man. Children of Grace has helped me with all the financial support I needed in order to excel academically-- it provided me with every item I needed for school and as an individual, however small it may seem because I couldn't afford. This gave me the courage to work hard and excel academically and I developed my leadership skills, too. I went ahead to unite all my brothers and sisters in the organization. This achievement led to a great academic excellence in high school last year, I was able to help fellow students who were having challenges and in the end they emerged successful, scoring the top grades and getting government sponsorships for their university education. This was the first time for the organization to achieve excellence in the national exams. I believe the financial assistance CoG offered us with to buy the necessary textbooks: however expensive they were, was the greatest step for this goal.

Further still, Children of Grace has helped me to support my family. During the holidays, I always got a loan from the organization which would help me start up my small project of laying bricks and selling rice such that I could earn some money to support my sisters and buying the basic needs in the home. And its now looking forward to supporting more children with loans in the near future such that they can support themselves during the holidays. This is going to be an advantage to many of its children because they're going to be exposed to real life and it's one way of gaining skills of business.

I can't forget the role Children of Grace played in enabling me get a scholarship to come and study in the United States of America, particularly at Morehouse College where I am having everything going on well. It managed to secure scholarships too, for other four scholars who are at Arizona State University right now. I was excited travelling out of the country, and boarding a plane for the first time!

With this opportunity to study and get the skills, I will be able to go back and light up my 'Dark Village'. My desire to achieve this goal has been growing inside me since I became a teenager and is now bigger than the world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

I sponsor five students in the Children of Grace program and feel confident that the money I give goes directly to the children for their education, healthcare, food and enrichment programs to give them the best opportunities to succeed. Children of Grace is an organization that uniquely serves all of its 800+ students in primary, secondary, vocational and university schools. I have been a sponsor for 10 years, and I have had the opportunity to visit some of my sponsored children in Uganda. I cannot begin to convey the emotion I felt when one of my sponsored boys fell to his knees and, with tears in his eyes, called me, "Mum." It was an experience that changed my life and I know that my donations are changing his life. As Jesus said, "truly, I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me."
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

I have been on the Children of Grace scholarship program for 10 years now. In other words, Children of Grace has seen me through the childhood days and is still giving me the opportunity to become the leader that my community has been deprived of. The holiday bible studies, leadership seminars, youth camps, Christmas parties together is a way of sharing Jesus' love to an African Child. The opportunity availed to me by Children of Grace to apply for an Arizona State University MasterCard scholarship which i did get has enabled me see light at the end of the tunnel. I now want to make the rest of my life the best of it and also lend a helping hand to someone out there. My community will not remain the same if i show to others the love Children of Grace showed me. Children of Grace will always a special place in my heart. "FOR GOD AND MY COUNTRY".
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

You can never know how comforting a graceful touch can feel until you get to experience it. I count myself lucky for being one of those who were touched at their desperate moment of need.
When I lost my mother, this meant me going through a hard time to get through school. I always skipped
school because I could not pay all my fees on time. I had to work much more than an average student my age to maintain my academic level.
However by God's grace, I was able to find out about Children of grace and I applied to have financial support with my education.
When I applied I thought I was only applying for academic support. Little did I know that this organization was not just about the education. It was something more than that. Children of grace is one that I have found emotional, social and spiritual support. It has become a place I find comfort and a place I can call home. I have met such amazing people. These have become my mothers, fathers and brothers and sisters. Children of grace has become a source of inspiration to me.
I walked into the doors of this organization and I had no idea that they would all they can to see me through my education. I never knew I would ever be able to fly to the U.S for school but the ways of the Lord are amazing. Through this great Organization, I was able to find a scholarship for my college education.
To me Children of Grace is not just a Non-profit Organization, It is home to me, a place where my heart feels most at peace and most accepted for who I am irrespective of my background.

Patricia Ibalo
Student At Arizona State University
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I am Wilson Bikaba, a child in the Children of Grace family, a nonprofit organisation found in Jinja Uganda. I became part of the family in 2011 after performing well at St. lawrence S.S. Due to the fact that I had no financial support, I had very high chances of not continuing with the education just after ordinary level. I thank the Children of Grace team (The director, staff and the financial providers ) for the great work done to make the economically humble children (from poverty and health hit families) attend education and have bright futures. I appreciate them for the love they have to seek for great opportunities of the children in the way of making them explore more about their future dreams. As I talk now, I am a student at Arizona State Universuty pursuing a degree in civil engineering. This is all their efforts to look for the extra opportunitise for our success.

I thank the organisation for the great work done in the social, academic and spiritual growth aspects. These have changed my life into a person who focuses on the well- being of other people. I hope this is gonna make me reach my future goals of improving the infrastructural setup of my village , country and the world.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

Children of Grace(CoG) is a non-profit organisation based in Jinja, Uganda that sponsors the education of over 2,000 children deprived of this opportunity because of poverty or demise of their parents( due to the rampant HIV/AIDS in Uganda). I, myself, am a Child of Grace and I joined this profound organisation 7 years ago. My dad had passed on a year before and my mom could not make sufficient funds to pay my school tuition. Despite having good grades in elementary school, I had no chance of ever attending high school or college due to poverty. All I had was hope because it's the last and most precious gift one can lose. Children of Grace gave me love, care and hope. Today, here I am at Arizona State University(ASU) pursuing a Bachelor's degree in Chemical engineering after CoG helped me secure a MasterCard scholarship to ASU. Being part of this organisation is the best thing that has ever happened in my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

just give them support. I have nothing to change about Children of Grace. I just have to support more people through CoG.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

Children of Grace is an amazing Non for Profit that helps children succeed in school and have the ability to attend school. Children of Grace is unique in that they help children directly by allowing people to sponsor certain children and that sponsorship money goes directly to the school to pay for tuition, uniforms, ect. Not only do have people working in the US to help the children in Uganda, but, we have a full staff in Uganda that checks up on the children every week to make sure that they are healthy and in school.
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers