Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
87 Reviews
1234.275865
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

I don't have any kids but wanted to help children with few opportunities. I've traveled a lot and know that some situations are so heart breaking and hopeless.

I am so happy and gratified that Childrens International is there to help and provides a way for people like me to
help.

Thank you so much.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 11, 2013

i have been a sponsor with Children International for many years. I do not have any complaints with my dealings with them. I always get a quick response to my questions. The website is very easy to use and I am able to write my sponsor children very easily.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have been lucky to have visited 2 of the children during this time. The local representatives were very kind and accommodating when planning the visit. I wish we had a way to correspond with the local agents by email or through the website rather than having to call them. That was the only issue for me. In India i had a hard time getting hold someone who spoke English. So it was a little challenging. And email system would have been easier.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love being a sponsor at Children International. I sponsor with several child sponsorship organizations and Children International is my favorite. I have sponsored with CI since I was in high school and there are so many good things about this organization that I don't know where to start! Here are some special things that I love about it:

1. Sponsors are able to build relationships with their children through letters, photos, visits, donations and this relationship will last a lifetime for the child and for the sponsor. CI encourages this and as a result, the children blossom under the care of a caring sponsor.

2. There are many ways to interact with other sponsors and communicate with the staff. Most of my interactions with the staff have been very pleasant and helpful. One Senior Staff member is charge of my account because I have so much go on with various sponsorships and she does her best to answer my questions and give me requested information. Sponsors are able to communicate with other sponsors on LiftOne, a wonderful community where we can share photos, letters, thoughts on blogs, message boards that are there to answer questions.

3. CI provides many opportunities for sponsors to help their sponsored children through many kinds of donations like basic things that a child gets from sponsorship like clothing, shoes, birthday gifts, Easter and Christmas gifts. Sponsors are able to send funds for special needs to help families and sponsors are also able to send packages to their children and receive thank you letters and photos.
Sponsors are also able to work together to help each other with special fundraisers for our children.

4. Communication with the sponsored child is very good as sponsors and children exchange letters. Sponsors can write letters or communicate through emails on their personal accounts and there is some cool stationery that can be used. The children love to receive letters from their sponsors and often keep them in special locations in their homes.

5. CI provides opportunities for sponsors to sponsor more than one child in a family and there are opportunities to do group sponsorships. This is where a group of sponsors may work together to sponsor a particular child and raise funds to provide for special needs.

6. CI provides opportunities for sponsors to visit their children and this is one thing that I really love about the organization. It is easy to set up a visit and the staff at the field agencies in each country are competent, caring, and work very hard to make sure that visits are a success!

7. Sponsors have the opportunity to provide for a child's further schooling when they graduate from the program if the child wants to pursue an education, and the sponsor and child can continue to maintain contact once a child graduates from CI, if the child wants to. CI offers scholarships for children and provides programs which help them develop leadership skills, personal and civit responsibility, and other skills.

8. Sponsors can receive news and updates on the CI website, Journey's magazine, newsletters from their child's field agency.

If you are looking for an organization that really makes a difference in the life of a needy child, provides good communication and accountability, is flexible and efficient, provides opportunities for sponsors to interact and share ideas, really cares about helping children, then CI is one that you will definitely want to be a part of!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe one day we can see photos of our kids doing various activities in their home, at school, in their community

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My experience with Children International from the start has been extremely satisfying. The staff are consistently helpful and good at addressing concerns and questions. For the past two years since signing up as a donor I've sent a packet of clothes as a gift for Daniela in December and have been rewarded with delightful snapshots of my Daniela in her new duds both times. I plan on visiting her there in Honduras some year in the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

simple :we are talking about children in desperate need of help ..food ,clothing ,housing, education and a few toys ..Children International is a great organization ..I trust children International and as prove of what the organization is doing I get frequent updates (lovely letter from your sponsored child with pictures )... bottom line, it makes me and my family feel good and makes us appreciate that we had a little impacted changing someone's life way we live ..

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2011

I've come to sponsor 8 kids. CI has worked with me to develop great relationships with them. They go to their homes and find their needs. They help them into schools. They work with contractors to imp... more

September 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have sponsored with Children International since 2005. I've sponsored 8 children, mostly from Central America. The experience has been fantastic. Most charities take your money and your next contact is the junk mail. With Children International, the size of the relationship is in your control. The small monthly expense is a minor part of the potential experience.

Immediately, you begin a letter and photo exchange. You begin to know your child and her family. You can ask that CI do an assessment of the family's needs. If you wish, you can give the family additional help, such as beds, building materials, plumbing, or just a trip to the grocery store. You can also work with CI to ensure that your child receives a proper education. You fill in the missing pieces that kids in the developed world take for granted, such as food and school. You can provide them with their best opportunity in life. And my experience is that they drink it up. They know the value of what you are offering and they appreciate it so much..

I have a continuing relationship with two of my CI graduates. One is in a University Business Administration program, and the other is finishing her second year in a four year Registered Nursing program. I'm very proud of each of my kids.

Starting sponsoring through CI was honestly the best decision I've ever made. It's enriched my life as much as my kid's lives. Directly giving back to one person is what I needed. And it's probably the only shot this kid will have. And the staff at CI is top notch. They make it easy and guide you through everything. I can't recommend this charity more highly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

I've come to sponsor 8 kids. CI has worked with me to develop great relationships with them. They go to their homes and find their needs. They help them into schools. They work with contractors to improve their homes. They work with utilities to keep their electricity on. They take them to the dentist and eye doctor. They do whatever I request of them. They're great.

To those obsessed with the CEO's income, Dante Dante defined Envy as "a desire to deprive other men of theirs." Envy can be directly related to the Ten Commandments, specifically "Neither shall you desire... anything that belongs to your neighbour". Aquinas described envy as "sorrow for another's good". I suggest you get a life and stop hating others for what have failed to accomplish.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They've developed my sponsored kids wonderfully. Some of my kids are now going to college. They saved these kids.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the correspondence digital.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

September 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been sponsoring children through this organization for almost ten years. I did my due diligence by checking out Children International (CI) through several rating agencies and found them to be very reputable. More than 80% of the revenues received by them are used to help impoverished children and their families. The one on one sponsorship with each child has been very rewarding and watching them grow-up is truly an amazing experience and you can see the impact sponsorship has given the children as well as their families who are very grateful. You get letters, yearly pictures and you are encouraged to visit if you want too. I did visit my first child I sponsored and I am planning to visit the five I sponsor now in the near future. CI also has a social network called Lift One where other sponsors share their experiences and updates on their children. Jim Cook the CEO is very smart and all the staff at CI are very caring and helpful when the need is there to contact them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any. They have been in this business for over 80 years.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013

I found this organization at a time in my life when I really needed support. I found happiness through giving back in a positive way. Sponsoring a child has been very personally rewarding, and my experience with Children International has been terrific.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

I had a young gentleman knock on my front door telling me about Children International and asked me if I would like to sponsor a child. He told me all about the program but I was very hesitant at first because the way the economy is and being a single mother and wanted to know if the program was reputable. I was leery with giving him a check for the first month but very uneasy of having an automatic with drawl from my checking account and having access to my account information. As promised by the representative the monies were taken out on the 26th of the month (1) time only for the month.
Once I received a picture and letter from my child Kevin my heart swelled. Kevin is adorable and I am glad that I can help him and his family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None so far

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 31, 2013

I recently sent a Special Gift to Children International for my boy in Honduras. I was very happy with the pictures sent back to me of him with lots of food, clothing and a quality toy. Children Int... more

June 21, 2013

I have found this agency just great! (I have found it to be more communicative in general than any other agencies I dealt with in the past.) Accounts have always been accurate - no problems in the financial area of things. They do send out (from time to time), brochures or cards with a request for additional donations for things like the Scholarship Fund, Parasite Fund, etc., BUT these requests for additional donations ARE OPTIONAL. I called the 1-800 # and asked that I not receive these extra requests for donations as I can only do the basic monthly amount (and I like to contribute to the "4 gifts a year" program - which is completely OPTIONAL as all of these funds are combined to provide practical holiday gifts for ALL sponsored children). CI was just great and they discontinued sending me the extra requests for $$ immediately. Now I just receive yearly photo, yearly report on child, CI annual report, yearly report on my child's area and, of course, a thank you letter and pictures if I happen to very occasionally send an extra amount of $$ for a Special Needs Gift. Really enjoy sponsorship with this agency - and I believe they are the best! in terms of making a change in these children's lives. I plan to sponsor more children in the future as I go along in life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I recently sent a Special Gift to Children International for my boy in Honduras. I was very happy with the pictures sent back to me of him with lots of food, clothing and a quality toy. Children International you always do it right! (If anyone is wondering about sending a Special Gift, the CI Reference Guide mentions the Special Gift option. It also mentions the optional Holiday Gifts program (and that all funds are combined for this program). It also says you may send a package to your child under "Packages." See the section titled "Gifts".)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers