Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
120 Reviews
1234.458335
Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
November 8, 2014

Barely a month before my trip to visit family in New Delhi, I learned about the Children International's Teresa Tilden center during a CI SF Bay area luncheon meeting. Being a part of CI for the last 2 years, I have always wondered how CI worked at the ground level and this was a perfect opportunity to find that out!

I met up with the CI staff in New Delhi and was immediately struck by their warm personalities. As we walked around on a tour of the community center, I was pleasantly surprised by how well planned and organized everything was: the nutrition center, the health clinic with the orderly health checkups, the well stocked library and an up to date computer center. The thing that struck me the most was the genuine passion and caring nature of every one who worked there. The center acts like an oasis of hope to the community (which we visited later) where children run bare foot in a neighborhood overwhelmed by poverty, chaos and garbage.

I also took part in some of the activities that the center hosts for the children. The first was the computer literacy class; I was highly impressed by the smart kids, who haven't touched a computer before in their lives, showing me how they use MS paint! In the library session that followed, 7-8 year olds read out loud from books, some with confidence, some with sheepishness; but all of them incredibly adorable! Then I had a career counseling session with the youth of the community; discussing their ambitions as they looked for jobs, hoping to break out of poverty. It was heartbreaking to see the teenagers coming to terms with the reality of the outside world, but also heartening to see how CI has provided them hope where they now feel they can achieve their dreams.

The true enormity of the task on CI's plate hit me then: helping children break out of the circle of poverty can't be done with education alone. I was very encouraged to see CI taking steps to address the fact that the children need support and help in all aspects of their lives: physical and mental health, a stress free social environment and support from surrounding communities. The whole staff is passionate, dedicated and employ ingenious ideas to solve problems; tie ups with local medical centers and job agencies provide the much needed support. All in all, I came back with optimism, a sense of pride to be associated with CI and an overwhelming feeling of gratitude to all the people involved in this effort. I am signing up to sponsor another child soon.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I sponsor two children with Children International. This experince has been everything that I could hope for. The difference that one can make with auch a small effort is amazing. I know that people can spare 30 dollars a month to make sure that kids can just eat food and drink clean water. It blows my mind that the issues Children International has to deal with are still even issues. The fact that I'm writing this review from my Ipda while some kid is currently fighting to find clean water is upsetting. It really boils don to selfishness, people can justify why these issues are happening all day long but when it comes down to it if more people gave leas people would die and that's the simple truth.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I have been sponsoring children for over 15 years and have found the experience to be rewarding and enjoyable. Service from Children International has been consistently superb. David K
August 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been sponsoring two children in India for more than a year. It has been a wonderful and touching experience. It is astonishing that for such a tiny amount of money I can make such a big difference in couple of lives.
I am impressed at the scale at which they operate and how comprehensive
their help is. The children are definitely given a great chance at having a normal life that we take for granted.
CI has opened a new chapter in the Silicon Valley and I am extremely impressed with the energy, commitment and excitement shown by the CI folks, particularly Maria Elena Franco and Lianne Heller.
I wish them luck and will do my best to help them succeed.
August 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We have been sponsoring "our child" for a number of years and though we will likely never meet face to face know we are doing our part to make her life better.
We know Children's International to be honorable in their efforts and a great resource in improving the lives of many children
through their efforts. Members of our church family have visited the facilities in Haiti and met with their children. They've seen first hand where the funds go, and how they are used. Give generously and know, it is money well spent.
August 22, 2014

The connection with children in another country is both interesting and rewarding. We have so many blessings and it is another blessing to be able to help these young folks to thrive and succeed. Children International is a trusted and valued organization that allows us to do this important work.
August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I like receiving letters from family members of my sponsored child and the coloring or number pictures. I have been pleased that I get an updated picture of my child.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to be able to send a special gift once in a while, but it isn't easy to do, so I just send money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 20, 2014

It is a wonderful experience sponsoring a child. I know that everything I can give will give him and other children a better and more joyful life. It brings me joy to hear how happy he is when he hears from me or when I am able to provide more help in times of need. He is so grateful. It is the second child I have sponsored and I will sponsor children as long as I am able.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 18, 2014

I sponsored a child, and I sponsored another child in my sons name and he is so excited to see the letters arrive in the mail. I have my child's picture on my wall and every one asks if she is related to me and I say yes and no because even though I don't write letters to her as I would like I still consider her family.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

my wife and i each support a different family.... the cost is very little..... but we help in more ways than just the monthly cost.....
we have grown along with our adopted familys,,,,,
we love them as our own family and kids.....
there is nothing we would not do
to help them live better lives,,, healther lives.....
they have blessed us in so many ways....
we send enough money each christmas for all the family members to receive gifts......
to see them smile and receive things they need and wish..... is a great blessing to us here....
a big thank you to childrens int..... they do so much and go out of their way to bring
the connection together......

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers