Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
87 Reviews
1234.275865
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
February 12, 2014

more

February 12, 2014

I love Children International! I sponsor two girls here in the USA and have for several years. Everything from the new website layout, which provides a lot of great information about the children you sponsor, to being able to send gifts through the year, they make sponsorship easy and fun. I love receiving letters from the girls I sponsor and I love getting messages from Children International letting me know what exactly me donations provided, such as new shoes for school, new books, school supplies, etc. I sponsor a girl in the USA for each of my grandsons. I am happy that I am able to support children in our country, to help them know that they are valued and an important part of our society. I hope that my sponsorship makes them as happy as it does me. I love this organization and all of their hard work. And I've never regretted a penny. Thank you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Children International is doing such a great job, that I can't begin to think of any improvements. Keep it up!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 10, 2014

more

February 10, 2014

This is the sponsorship organization of choice for me, for the last 8 or 9 years I have sponsored a number of kids in various countries and I love their pictures and the ability to communicate with them. CI does a great job keeping me inform, they impact the child live, family and the community and they are very accountable with the use of funds. The greatest thing that I get is how big is the impact of my contribution, a great ROI.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see more digital information and more PR and media pieces. This is a great organization and more people should know about it!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Children International is one of the few non profit organizations that I have talked to my family and friends about because they have actually stood by their mission as far back as I remember. I am a proud sponsor of an eight year old in the Philippine Islands and I am looking forward to continuing to support Children International in their future endeavors!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been sponsoring kids with Children International since 2008. My family currently sponsors 17 children through this organization. We have sponsored (and still sponsor) with other programs, but we prefer Children International because of how this organization encourages sponsors to be truly involved with their children. We visit our kids frequently, and Children International has always gone above and beyond to make the time spent with our kids an extra special experience. The organization is willing to work with sponsors to facilitate special fundraising projects that will benefit our individual children - such as paying for medical procedures, home improvements, income generation, etc. The Children International staff are friendly and qualified, both at their U.S. headquarters and in the countries they service.

By visiting my children at their homes, I have been able to see first hand all the benefits that they receive through their sponsorship and how much these benefits are appreciated by the families. Even if a sponsor is not able to visit, we are kept informed about our child's progress through regular reports, letters, and photographs.

One of the great features of Children International is their Youth Programs - which help teens make the transition into adulthood and provide them with opportunities that can assist them in breaking the cycle of poverty.

I am very impressed by this organization, and I will continue to sponsor kids through Children International until the day I die (and beyond, thanks to life insurance).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage them to use advances in technology to make overseas communication smoother and faster.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have 4 children with this charity and am able to stay in touch with all 4. When one young man aged out I sponsored his youngest sister. I have also sent extra money to help the family during crises such as typhons The $100 dollars was well spent on repairing thier humble home and getting food and garden supply. I recieved pictures of the donation with my sponsored child His letter later confirmed he had recieved my gift thank you for doing a great job Sue W

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I have been sponsoring a child now for 18 mos. and recently started sponsoring his two sisters as well. I can't say how impressed I am with the amount of good this non profit does with so little. I now donate $30/mo per child, and the children receive health and dental care, help with education, clothing, school supplies, etc. And the whole community benefits as well.
In addition, I am able to send "special needs gifts" which are monetary and used for that child. The field worker takes photos of the children and of the gifts and the kids write wonderful letters. In addition, I have been able to donate what's called an "income generating" gift to help the family start a small business.

The reports I receive are detailed and business like. Whenever I phone the organization with questions, staff members are so helpful!

There's also a website where I can connect with other sponsors and learn about them and their children--we can share experiences and ideas. If I were able, I'd even be allowed to visit my sponsored kids in person.

I always wanted grandchildren but never had any--now I feel as if I have three!

I worked for 30 years as a non profit fund developer and know first hand the challenges in supporting such a program. I'm amazed at how little of the donation goes to overhead and how much to helping the children and the communities.

Years ago I donated to another child sponsorship organization and it was good, but can't compare with Children International.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really can't think of any changes at the present time.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a donor/sponsor for over 2 decades with Children International. They have always been very good and I have not had any complains. I have sponsored kids that have graduated out of the program. Currently I have a 10 year old girl from Kolkata, India. This year on my visit to Kolkata I requested to meat my sponsored child. It was a wonderful visit. The staff in Kolkata were really wonderful. They knew the family, they were very mindful of Priyanka, my sponsored child and knew her family. We went to lunch and took Priyanka shopping. The staff were very helpful and took us to places where the family and Priyanka were comfortable at. There was no pressure to give anything more. My daughter who is also 10 became friends with Priyanka and they drew pictures and talked. I asked a lot of questions and got direct responses. On the whole it was a wonderful experience. I was really pleased about the services that were being provided to the kids and to the community. Next time I visit, we will go to Priyanka's village. The family invited us and the staff assured us that it could be easily arranged.
The staff was so dedicated to the work and it was such a pleasure and honor to meet the people that do this great work!!
Congratulations to Children International and best wishes for all your future projects.

Pushpa

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This is a wonderful organization- keep the good work going and please don't change!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been sponsoring children for 17 years. I am currently sponsoring 2 children, a little boy in Honduras and a young man, who recently graduated high school, in the Philippines. I will be sponsoring one of the siblings of my young man in the Philippines when he graduates from the program. I adore my sponsored children, and the letters and pictures they send me give me a lot of joy.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

We have sponsored children through Children International for over a decade and have been very pleased with the way it is run. We get detailed letters telling specifically what our donations have purchased for our sponsored child as well as updates on our child, his family, his country, etc. Best of all, we receive hand-written notes from our child and are able to write back. It is a truly rewarding experience!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of any complaints or areas where I think it needs to improve.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I started sponsoring one young woman in India when she was 17 years old. When she graduated from the program at age 19 I took on a younger girl in Mexico. I also joined LiftOne - a social website for CI sponsors to share information. I discovered that I had been missing out on a lot of the sponsor experience. I now sponsor 2 young girls in Mexico, and 2 girls in Guatemala.
The things I like about Children International :
- They are not religious based - the children are not required to belong to a, or any religion in order to receive help - they get enrolled into the program based on need.
- the sponsorship experience is GREAT! You get back more then you put in. I receive letters from all my girls on a routine basis. Also I have mailed packages of gifts to the girls and gotten back thank you letters with pictures of the things I sent. I have also sent extra money for the children and their family to improve their lives - such as purchasing materials to repair a leaking roof. I received back heartfelt thank you letters along with pictures of what the money had been spent on.
- when I have contacted the service reps at the Kansas City office the staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and very helpful.
- you are allowed and encouraged to visit your sponsored children if you are able to. I am going to be doing just that in November of this year
- CI follows all the regulations of world organizations to ensure the children are protected and kept safe. Every time I interact with CI staff I have no doubt the staff believe that the children are their first priority.
- I know that I am able to impact a child's life in a positive manner - not only do they learn that someone they don't even know cares about them, but in many more tangible ways too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None needed

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers