Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
87 Reviews
1234.275865
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Nothing gives me more satisfaction, than knowing I can at least help one child through school. He also gets birthday and holiday gifts and acknowledgements from me and I get to write to him and it warms my heart to receive letters back. I also get to help his family with gifts once in a while too, and if it helps, then I am happy to do it because I know it is something they can use like dishes or blankets. I love and care for this child as if he were my own grandson. I have sponsored him for almost 3 years now, and as long as I am able to do so, I will continue. Thank you

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Send more than one picture a year. I love to my child's growth, and I would like to see him doing an activity or playing.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I decided to sponsor a child I spent so much time talking to people to get thoughts on agencies. I went to the internet and researched. CI had the most information. I called CI and spoke with them. They explained so much. I ask them to mail me info and I must sponsor a young boy on the USA. So, last February 14, 2013 I started sponsoring my first child. Just what I ask for. A young boy in the USA. I started sponsoring my second 3 year old in Guatemala last July. Sponsoring is a life changing, rewarding experience. When I get my letters sometimes they leave me crying or laughing! I can call CI and they are always there for us. They are great. We have LiftOne. A site for sponsors to share pictures, artwork, anything about our kids. I have many friends on LiftOne. We discuss things about everything. We help each other with advice. There are discussion boards and. We can blog. My 2 boys have a chance for a better future because of CI.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOT !!! If it isn't broken.. why fix it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I decided to sponsor a child,,[ about 3 years ago] I studied almost 20 0r 30 of them.Yoi must read their history and all about what the do. The percent of you money that goes directly to the family and how it is controlled .I spent days on this. I decided on CI for all those reasons. I picked my own child and country, also age and a few other things. CI has a sponsors site called "Lift one " which you can talk to hundreds of other sponsors, exchange child pictures and letters. At this time I have five children I sponsor, I am not a bit sorry for this, the letters,pictures and info I get is outstanding. I have actually cried when I read a couple of letters from my children. I cant say enough how CI has made my life a more beautiful thing, I will forever be grateful to them,
You will not find a better organization than CI. go for it right now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

We have been sponsoring for several years and the experience with Children International has been wonderful. We have two girls from the Philippines and one boy from Ecuador and we love to see the progress they have made over the years. The volunteers at this organization are good people and we hope to travel to see our kids next year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We have been sponsors for quite a few years and cannot say enough about this organization. I was concerned about how much of our sponsorship actually went to the children and was totally amazed. We have been lucky enough to have visited our sponsored child, John, in the Dominican Republic on a vacation there quite a few years ago. The agency set everything up and was terrific. We are again planning a visit and have been in touch with the staff to have them arrange our visit. It is amazing to watch John grow over the years and turn out to be a fine young man. We stay in touch through the year with letters and though he is of little words when we visited it was like we were there with him always. The yearly photo and updates are great and when I was worried about him they followed through with a check on his welfare and let me know. Even though times here have made us tighten our purse strings we will always find a way to take care of our 'son'. It is a special gift to be able to help someone and Children International makes that very easy and safe.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 2, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 2, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

After doing some research on Children International, I dicovered that their CEO makes over 450k a yr. This does not include company perks such as company car, company credit card, private jet, and other so called "ADministrative cost". Now include their other executive officers and board members who are likely making over 350k, we have a problem on our hands. Non-profit means money does not go into the company, but to the cause. In this company it goes into these fat cats pockets.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

150k is more than enough for a person to live comfortably. There is no reason why their executive officers should have to make so much money. All that money can go to more children. I am very disappointed in this company.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How did you learn about this organization?

I was approached by a volunteer on the street and I agreed to check out their website and do some research before I donate

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 29, 2010
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 29, 2010
5 people found this review helpful

My beautiful 23 year old daughter, a recent college graduate was recently hired by Children International marketing department. They required her to stand on the City Streets of Denver all day long and pander for sponsors. She was physically and verbally assulted by a number of homeless men and others. When she tried to report this to her supervisor she was told he did not have time to talk to her as he was busy hiring others. I have seen young people used to get money in the streets in 3rd world countries. Shame on Children International for doing this to my daughter!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My daughter was placed in harmful situation by this group

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would never support this group again

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers