Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
116 Reviews
1234.439665
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a sponsor for my child for 9.5 years. I wanted to help and I knew that as one person I was limited to how much I could do, but joining forces with Children International I was able to do so much more. I am a working mother and between those two jobs, I don't have any spare time to volunteer. But for a very minimal amount every month, I can make someone's life better. And it's not just better, in some cases it could mean the difference of surviving. I love knowing that I've made a difference in my child's life and also his family's life too. Now his parents don't have to worry about how to make ends meet. If every person who was financially able would donate to just one child, it could mean the end of world hunger.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

I'm 21 and I am the proud sponsor of 2 CI kids. My father has been sponsoring children with CI for over a decade and this year, I sponsored my own two children (a little boy in India and a little girl in the Philippines). I've grown up being skeptical of this and that nonprofit my father decided to sign up for because they never really addressed the basic issue of poverty that the children lived in. Children International is the only one I've found that really does lift children out of poverty using education as their instrument. It's an instrument that took my mother out of poverty and now, she's the idol for my cousins on the maternal side of my family. This year, I interned for the CI Bay Area Chapter - a huge success! I saw the inner workings of how CI really works and what they achieve all over the world. I'm proud to say that I will support this organization no matter what hardships they face; they will persevere and continue to uphold a long-standing tradition of educating youth and empowering them to become facilitators for real change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I've been sponsoring children since my college days, but it wasn't until I visited my child and volunteered for CI in India for a month that I truly understood the depth of their impact. It's not just about food, clothing and shoes, it's about a holistic system that empowers youth and their community not only to get out of poverty, but to become the ones who then gift back to others. I've spent my career managing non-profits, and this is the most effective organization I've seen for true child and community development.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the number of children and communities that have access to their programs, by inspiring other sponsors to spread the word about what they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a sponsor of Maria for about 8 years. She is now 13 years old, and I have enjoyed watching her progress, through annual pictures and letters that she now writes herself. When she was very young, her mother wrote the letters.

Children International is a very worthwhile
non-profit, where your contributions make a big difference in the lives of children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes needed, they have always been transparent and communicastive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Best of all the child sponsorship programs. I have sponsored children for several years. Big organization, but their system allows wonderful personal attention to the needs of each child.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 25, 2013

I have been a sponsor through Children International for 5 years. I have sponsored one beautiful girl in India from the age of 15 and she is now attending college thanks to us. Children International helped facilitate this special arrangement, because we were willing to help and she and her family were so extraordinarily eager to work hard and take advantage of the opportunity we could offer her. Now I sponsor another little girl in India, age 5. I cannot express how vital and rewarding it is to help these deserving children, who, with their families, are so grateful. It is a miracle to help them achieve a better life and, sometimes, even their dreams. It is a testament to Children International for how smoothly this all works. I have found Children International to be thoroughly reliable, trustworthy, and professional. They work hard to create real relationships between the sponsors and the ones they aid. It's clear this is a mission with them. I am in awe of their achievements. I recommend this charity highly! If you are considering this charity, try it--you will be blown away by how quickly and how importantly your mere dollars can affect a child's life, health, education, well-being, and future. There are few things I do more important than this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers