Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
87 Reviews
1234.275865
| 1 ... 5 6 7...9 |
Write A Review
August 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It was an amazing experience personally and as a family not only meeting our sponsored child but the entire family and see both the different benefits they receive as part of their program as we had opportunity to meet Community House as well as the home of our sponsored child. Since beginning of pre-planning everything worked perfect with the organization, communication and spirit to make our experience really pleasant. We recieved good advices during the visit and the scort going with us was great and always taking care for us and the sponsored family. We enjoyed the visit by looking at the needs of the family, seeing how they liked the little gifts we took with us, the enthusiasm to meet us and the joy to visit the amusement park and enjoy entire day with us. At the end; going to super market and make a grocery shopping for the family was superb. It was fantastic and really I was not aware of the beenfits they received at the Community House where they have annual doctor review, dentist care, nutrition & psycological care if needed, access to computers and internet and so others. What they do with our monthly contribution of $23 USD exceeds our expectations. For sure; we will do it again!!!

Photos

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
2 previous reviews - show all
October 12, 2011

I am delighted to have just begun to sponsor a young girl in the Phillipines. When I saw her picture on the Children International website, I knew she was the one I wanted to foster. I am so happy to... more

August 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I sent a gift of money (Special Gift) to my sponsored child in the Philippines and was delighted with the items that CI bought for my child and the family. Food, including a very large bag or rice, a backpack for school, mattress and also they completed an incomplete wall of the house. I have also gotten lovely pictures of my child with a couple of small packages I've sent in the past. I would recommend anyone send an extra $ amount or a small package. It's so fun to see the results when you receive the pictures.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2011

I am delighted to have just begun to sponsor a young girl in the Phillipines. When I saw her picture on the Children International website, I knew she was the one I wanted to foster. I am so happy to be able to assist another child with their various needs as they grow up. Many of us are so fortunate, and if more of us shared our wealth in this way, an even bigger difference could be made than is being made. I have already sponsored 4 other children with this agency and look forward to doing it again. I have always received documentation that gifts and letters were received and received letters from the children. It is such a respected organization and I have much experience with it and so I know it will be fulfilling. Also, importantly, because it is Children International it will be a "direct benefit" type of sponsorship rather than "community centred". I prefer this type of sponsorship. I don't mind the fact that approximately 1/3 of 1% of my donation goes to the CEO's salary, as this is an effective and valuable charity which achieves its goals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've sponsored children over the years and I've always received photos of the children with gifts I've sent or with gifts Children International has purchased for them with the "Special Gift" amounts I have sent occasionally (in addition to my regular monthly amount of $22. I believe the "Special Gift" amounts do need to be of a certain amount in order to necessarily receive a photo, but acknowledgement in a letter is always received.)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of any at the moment actually. I'm very happy with them up until this point.

August 23, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

This is really an excellent charity. I've been a donor for many years and will continue and hope to add additional children to my sponsorship. It seems that people wiritng negatiave comments are not really seeing the big picture. I like their "all encompassing approach", i.e. having community centres and using youth leadership to assist to keep costs down. Regarding the amounts donated for gifts that someone wrote in about, this amount is not just for birthday gifts, it is for 4 gifts per year, Christmas, Easter, Birthday and Special Hug Day. Their administrative costs are within the acceptable range and they meet all the BBB criteria. I would urge anyone to explore their webiste and think about sponsoring through them. They are really efficient and I've found they really know what they are doing when it comes to spending my extra amounts that I send on my children (called special gifts). There are other wonderful organizations such as World Vision, SOS, Plan, etc., but I prefer Children International.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've found them to be efficient financially and innovative in their use of youth leadership. They also have a Youth Report Card unnlike other charities of this kind.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything actually. All in all they have a good balance between spending and being frugal.

August 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have enjoyed sponsoring 2 children over the past 12 years through Children's International. They send yearly photos/updates and letters from the sponsored child a couple times/ year. I hope they are using the money to help the children/families as promised. I too am saddened to hear about the CEO making so much money for an agency helping some of the poorest of the poor, supported by hard working Americans who make no where near that salary. I want to continue my support for the children, but hope the agency looks at how they can be harming themselves in making such decisions.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2012

more

July 18, 2012

17% of the budget goes to fundraising and admin. I sponsor two children. I get an updated photo once a year, and two or three letters a year from both of the kids. It's only $25/month and you get to inspire a little kid. I occasionally get action updates in the mail (like once a year) and get little things to sign for the kids. I also opt to give an additional $20 or so per child for their birthdays and for Christmas. I get a letter telling me what was purchased for them with the money. Awesome. I know people who have gone to see the work that this organization is doing first hand, and their expectations were far exceeded. All kinds of amazing programs happening. If you don't want to feel like you're making a difference in a kid's life and don't want to be reminded of that every once in a while with a new picture or letter, then don't sponsor. They have never asked me for more money... ever. I opt to spend more, without being hassled. Awesome charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 4, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 4, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

I sponsored a child for about three years. Children International just seemed like a obvious choice because I live in the Kansas City area. I got so much mail and e-mail from them, though. It was just a river of requests and "news" or whatever, I couldn't tell you what it all was because it started feeling like junk and just went straight in the recycling. But worse, after a while the child letters felt really generic. They felt like they were written by the parents or whomever because they had to, like a chore. I started wondering if they were really receiving help from me or that was just an act to make me feel more obligated. So I started asking around, and I talked to someone who had left there. They said the headquarters in Kansas CIty is disorganized and wasteful. This site says almost 20% go to "administrative" costs. That's almost 1 out of every 5 dollars I gave to them! And your money doesn't go to the child, it goes to the company first and then they distribute it however. The child doesn't actually receive anything at all from me unless I follow some complicated rules about amounts. The person told me several other bright people were leaving, because there was too much incompetence. They said there were a lot of people working at the headquarters who had been there forever and basically spent a lot of time and money making simple things complicated, and smart people got frustrated and left quickly. They said management didn't hold anybody to any kind of quality standard, just give people offices who couldn't get a job anywhere else. I know it could have been just sour grapes talking but the person I talked to seemed very down to earth. I should have known. Just look at the website, it is old-looking and messy. I don't know how they can spend that much money on "administration" and still look like a mom and pop operation. If the whole place is like that then it reaally is a mess. It sounded like a lot of money was just being sponged up there that should go to the people who work with the kids in the field. I really want to help kids, but sorry, I am taking my money somewhere else.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I sponsored two children in Ecuador. The first child left the program. The second child was graduated from the program at age 19 in October 2011. I participated as a sponsor for over 10 years. I enjoyed receiving my child's letters. But much has changed in the organization since I had started to sponsor a child. The monthly price for sponsorship is too high. Sponsors are no longer encouraged to send gifts to your child due to problems with customs. And you now are asked to give $50 so the child can receive special gifts. The amount was $25 when I first started. I had sent my child (a girl) alot of gifts through the years. I may sponsor a child again but not right now.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 2, 2012

more

May 2, 2012

I have been fortunate to sponsor 3 children from Ecuador and the experience has been wonderful. I donated for an extra pair of shoes and clothing. Great customer service and I like the fact that I can see where my money is going and read letters from my kids.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 2, 2012

Great company doing great work! As far as the comment about the salary that someone else made please think about the fact that company is doing work in several continents, not just one country or city. The usual plight of non-profits is that you don't have good talent because you can't pay for it. A CEO making 500 grand when he's focusing on several continents really isn't a lot when you think about it. This means intense work, energy, coordination, and stress. In the private world this would easily equate to at least double if not triple income. I support them and you should consider it too.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 4, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

It is so sad to read about the CEO's salary. I would like to continue sponsoring the 2 children but not if this is true. It will be worth looking into it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 21, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 21, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have supported Children International (CI) for the past nine years and I currently sponsor seven children. I selected CI because I wanted to give to a reputable, non-sectarian organization that respects the children's native cultures. CI is a fantastic organization that truly makes a difference in the lives of families living in poverty. I have had the good fortune to meet four of my sponsored children and hope to meet the others in the future. I appreciate the transparency with which this organization operates.

As a nonprofit administrator, I see nothing outrageous about Mr. Cook's salary. He would be making a LOT MORE if he were running a similarly sized international organization in the corporate sector. Running a nonprofit is hard work and successful nonprofits need highly educated leaders with special skills. Quality leadership is money well spent.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have met four of my sponsored children and I reguarly correspond with all of my sponsored children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the program area to include countries in the Middle East.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I have no children of my own and sponsoring a child is a great way to help a young person succeed.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I have been donating since 2003.

What would you tell others about this organization?

I share my positive experiences with others and encourage them to donate to CI.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

| 1 ... 5 6 7...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers