Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
123 Reviews
1234.471545
Write A Review
September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love being a sponsor at Children International. I sponsor with several child sponsorship organizations and Children International is my favorite. I have sponsored with CI since I was in high school and there are so many good things about this organization that I don't know where to start! Here are some special things that I love about it:

1. Sponsors are able to build relationships with their children through letters, photos, visits, donations and this relationship will last a lifetime for the child and for the sponsor. CI encourages this and as a result, the children blossom under the care of a caring sponsor.

2. There are many ways to interact with other sponsors and communicate with the staff. Most of my interactions with the staff have been very pleasant and helpful. One Senior Staff member is charge of my account because I have so much go on with various sponsorships and she does her best to answer my questions and give me requested information. Sponsors are able to communicate with other sponsors on LiftOne, a wonderful community where we can share photos, letters, thoughts on blogs, message boards that are there to answer questions.

3. CI provides many opportunities for sponsors to help their sponsored children through many kinds of donations like basic things that a child gets from sponsorship like clothing, shoes, birthday gifts, Easter and Christmas gifts. Sponsors are able to send funds for special needs to help families and sponsors are also able to send packages to their children and receive thank you letters and photos.
Sponsors are also able to work together to help each other with special fundraisers for our children.

4. Communication with the sponsored child is very good as sponsors and children exchange letters. Sponsors can write letters or communicate through emails on their personal accounts and there is some cool stationery that can be used. The children love to receive letters from their sponsors and often keep them in special locations in their homes.

5. CI provides opportunities for sponsors to sponsor more than one child in a family and there are opportunities to do group sponsorships. This is where a group of sponsors may work together to sponsor a particular child and raise funds to provide for special needs.

6. CI provides opportunities for sponsors to visit their children and this is one thing that I really love about the organization. It is easy to set up a visit and the staff at the field agencies in each country are competent, caring, and work very hard to make sure that visits are a success!

7. Sponsors have the opportunity to provide for a child's further schooling when they graduate from the program if the child wants to pursue an education, and the sponsor and child can continue to maintain contact once a child graduates from CI, if the child wants to. CI offers scholarships for children and provides programs which help them develop leadership skills, personal and civit responsibility, and other skills.

8. Sponsors can receive news and updates on the CI website, Journey's magazine, newsletters from their child's field agency.

If you are looking for an organization that really makes a difference in the life of a needy child, provides good communication and accountability, is flexible and efficient, provides opportunities for sponsors to interact and share ideas, really cares about helping children, then CI is one that you will definitely want to be a part of!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe one day we can see photos of our kids doing various activities in their home, at school, in their community

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Nothing gives me more satisfaction, than knowing I can at least help one child through school. He also gets birthday and holiday gifts and acknowledgements from me and I get to write to him and it warms my heart to receive letters back. I also get to help his family with gifts once in a while too, and if it helps, then I am happy to do it because I know it is something they can use like dishes or blankets. I love and care for this child as if he were my own grandson. I have sponsored him for almost 3 years now, and as long as I am able to do so, I will continue. Thank you

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Send more than one picture a year. I love to my child's growth, and I would like to see him doing an activity or playing.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My experience with Children International from the start has been extremely satisfying. The staff are consistently helpful and good at addressing concerns and questions. For the past two years since signing up as a donor I've sent a packet of clothes as a gift for Daniela in December and have been rewarded with delightful snapshots of my Daniela in her new duds both times. I plan on visiting her there in Honduras some year in the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

simple :we are talking about children in desperate need of help ..food ,clothing ,housing, education and a few toys ..Children International is a great organization ..I trust children International and as prove of what the organization is doing I get frequent updates (lovely letter from your sponsored child with pictures )... bottom line, it makes me and my family feel good and makes us appreciate that we had a little impacted changing someone's life way we live ..

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 22, 2011

I've come to sponsor 8 kids. CI has worked with me to develop great relationships with them. They go to their homes and find their needs. They help them into schools. They work with contractors to imp... more

September 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have sponsored with Children International since 2005. I've sponsored 8 children, mostly from Central America. The experience has been fantastic. Most charities take your money and your next contact is the junk mail. With Children International, the size of the relationship is in your control. The small monthly expense is a minor part of the potential experience.

Immediately, you begin a letter and photo exchange. You begin to know your child and her family. You can ask that CI do an assessment of the family's needs. If you wish, you can give the family additional help, such as beds, building materials, plumbing, or just a trip to the grocery store. You can also work with CI to ensure that your child receives a proper education. You fill in the missing pieces that kids in the developed world take for granted, such as food and school. You can provide them with their best opportunity in life. And my experience is that they drink it up. They know the value of what you are offering and they appreciate it so much..

I have a continuing relationship with two of my CI graduates. One is in a University Business Administration program, and the other is finishing her second year in a four year Registered Nursing program. I'm very proud of each of my kids.

Starting sponsoring through CI was honestly the best decision I've ever made. It's enriched my life as much as my kid's lives. Directly giving back to one person is what I needed. And it's probably the only shot this kid will have. And the staff at CI is top notch. They make it easy and guide you through everything. I can't recommend this charity more highly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

I've come to sponsor 8 kids. CI has worked with me to develop great relationships with them. They go to their homes and find their needs. They help them into schools. They work with contractors to improve their homes. They work with utilities to keep their electricity on. They take them to the dentist and eye doctor. They do whatever I request of them. They're great.

To those obsessed with the CEO's income, Dante Dante defined Envy as "a desire to deprive other men of theirs." Envy can be directly related to the Ten Commandments, specifically "Neither shall you desire... anything that belongs to your neighbour". Aquinas described envy as "sorrow for another's good". I suggest you get a life and stop hating others for what have failed to accomplish.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They've developed my sponsored kids wonderfully. Some of my kids are now going to college. They saved these kids.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the correspondence digital.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

September 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been sponsoring children through this organization for almost ten years. I did my due diligence by checking out Children International (CI) through several rating agencies and found them to be very reputable. More than 80% of the revenues received by them are used to help impoverished children and their families. The one on one sponsorship with each child has been very rewarding and watching them grow-up is truly an amazing experience and you can see the impact sponsorship has given the children as well as their families who are very grateful. You get letters, yearly pictures and you are encouraged to visit if you want too. I did visit my first child I sponsored and I am planning to visit the five I sponsor now in the near future. CI also has a social network called Lift One where other sponsors share their experiences and updates on their children. Jim Cook the CEO is very smart and all the staff at CI are very caring and helpful when the need is there to contact them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any. They have been in this business for over 80 years.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2013

I found this organization at a time in my life when I really needed support. I found happiness through giving back in a positive way. Sponsoring a child has been very personally rewarding, and my experience with Children International has been terrific.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Being a scientist myself, I did a lot of research when I decided to sponsor a child. The biggest issue for me was to be sure that the help reaches the child I choose to sponsor and that I get the regularly updated information about him/her.
Currently I am sponsoring two girls with CI and the
experience is so much more than I could ever dream about. The staff in the main office in Kansas and in the regional offices go beyond their duties to ensure that all your questions and concerns are answered. They are always available and answer emails right away. One of the girls I sponsor has a difficult situation at home and the staff did everything to help her improve the situation meanwhile communicating with me about what is going on.
CI also gives a possibility to help a child beyond your regular monthly payments and the donation goes directly to the family (the staff buys the things the family want, the money itself are never given to the family to ensure its proper spending, which I really like). If a sponsor makes such an extra donation he/she gets photos, letter and the report of the things bought and why they were chosen. It's really incredible to see how the child (and the whole family) life in gradually improving.
But the most rewarding part is that CI makes you fell like you are right there with a child and his/her family talking, helping, asking questions, but without spending much time doing it yourself.
The website CI uses is incredible having all the information you want and choices you need. The website LiftOne where all the discussions happen is helping me a lot to learn more about the organization and to share the lives of the children I sponsor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would improve a website a little by adding the possibility to see what communication was sent to me and when, so I'll know when to expect a letter from CI or that the one wasn't delivered to me (I move a lot) and ask to resend it. I also know that all the communication is been copied, so it would be great to have these copies of letters, reports and photos online on the website. But I know it's a lot of work I asking from the staff, so I'm pretty happy the way it is.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I decided to sponsor a child I spent so much time talking to people to get thoughts on agencies. I went to the internet and researched. CI had the most information. I called CI and spoke with them. They explained so much. I ask them to mail me info and I must sponsor a young boy on the USA. So, last February 14, 2013 I started sponsoring my first child. Just what I ask for. A young boy in the USA. I started sponsoring my second 3 year old in Guatemala last July. Sponsoring is a life changing, rewarding experience. When I get my letters sometimes they leave me crying or laughing! I can call CI and they are always there for us. They are great. We have LiftOne. A site for sponsors to share pictures, artwork, anything about our kids. I have many friends on LiftOne. We discuss things about everything. We help each other with advice. There are discussion boards and. We can blog. My 2 boys have a chance for a better future because of CI.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOT !!! If it isn't broken.. why fix it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I decided to sponsor a child,,[ about 3 years ago] I studied almost 20 0r 30 of them.Yoi must read their history and all about what the do. The percent of you money that goes directly to the family and how it is controlled .I spent days on this. I decided on CI for all those reasons. I picked my own child and country, also age and a few other things. CI has a sponsors site called "Lift one " which you can talk to hundreds of other sponsors, exchange child pictures and letters. At this time I have five children I sponsor, I am not a bit sorry for this, the letters,pictures and info I get is outstanding. I have actually cried when I read a couple of letters from my children. I cant say enough how CI has made my life a more beautiful thing, I will forever be grateful to them,
You will not find a better organization than CI. go for it right now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers