Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
87 Reviews
1234.275865
| 1 ... 4 5 6...9 |
Write A Review
November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We have been sponsors for quite a few years and cannot say enough about this organization. I was concerned about how much of our sponsorship actually went to the children and was totally amazed. We have been lucky enough to have visited our sponsored child, John, in the Dominican Republic on a vacation there quite a few years ago. The agency set everything up and was terrific. We are again planning a visit and have been in touch with the staff to have them arrange our visit. It is amazing to watch John grow over the years and turn out to be a fine young man. We stay in touch through the year with letters and though he is of little words when we visited it was like we were there with him always. The yearly photo and updates are great and when I was worried about him they followed through with a check on his welfare and let me know. Even though times here have made us tighten our purse strings we will always find a way to take care of our 'son'. It is a special gift to be able to help someone and Children International makes that very easy and safe.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a sponsor with Children International for sixteen years. I knew very little about the organization when I first started--I was only fourteen, and researching things on the Internet wasn't nearly as common then as it is nowadays--but I knew that my grandmother had sponsored a little boy for years. I chose a child in Colombia and began sponsoring Gisel, who was only five years younger than me. Over the years, the number of children I have sponsored has fluctuated up and down depending on my own financial situation, but even at my poorest I never considered dropping from the program entirely. The services Children International provides to the children is truly life-changing, and I am grateful for the opportunity to take part. I currently sponsor ten children--nine in the Philippines and one in Guatemala. I am planning to go visit them in the next year--I love that Children International not only is willing to work with sponsors who want to visit, but they actively encourage it! Other reviewers have commented about extra money for birthdays and holidays being divided among all the children--this is clearly stated in the communication from the organization. If you want to send a donation specifically for your child, they are happy to accommodate you--all you have to do is specify that your gift of $50 or more is "child specific". It's simple. Another concern voiced by reviewers is that the letters sound like copied, form letters. With younger children, it is true that this is sometimes the case--younger children are assisted with their letters or sometimes write them as a group activity--but you will find that as your child grows older and more independent, their letters become longer, more unique, and more personal. It's a real treat to be able to watch your child grow and progress in this way! All in all, I couldn't be happier with Children International, and I plan to continue sponsoring with their organization for a long, long time to come.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

Children International has made donating a breeze and so very rewarding! I have been sponsoring a child, through Children International, for six years. I sponsor a little girl, named Kakhasha, who lives in India. I know that I am making a difference in her life because Children International takes the time to translate letters that Kakhasha and I exchange. I hear about her life- we have a friendship. The monthly support that I send her goes to help with living expenses and school expenses. The special money that I send at her birthday and Christmas is discussed between the local volunteer and her parents, and then used to buy something special for her (one year she received a new pair of shoes and a sweater). I am then notified by letter what item was picked out. I love that I am kept so involved and informed about what the money is being used for. It is not a faceless exchange; I know who the money goes to, and it is someone I care about because they've given me the opportunity to build a relationship with her. The Children International website is very user friendly and makes being a donor SO easy. I can write a letter to my child (as easy as email), make a special donation, check my child's profile for information (language spoken, birthday, family income, photo, etc), or even browse photos/profiles looking for additional children to 'adopt' with the click of the mouse. I also can update my billing information so that there's no interruption to the automatic billing that I signed up for to make donating SO easy. (For the first few years I donated, I did not exchange letters, and there was no pressure, and I still received the regular updates on my child and how the money was being spent, so if you are interested in something less involved this is still a great charity!) EASY AND REWARDING!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

I have been with children international for 5 years now and have absolutely loved it! Not only do I receive personal messages and pictures from my little girl, the agency regularly sends me information on how my funds have been used (what she is getting for Christmas/birthdays, what services she is able to access, etc). It is very easy to stay in touch with my girl through the easy online letter sending. They also send cards with prepaid envelopes so all you have to do is sign and put it in the mailbox. It's an easy way to let your child know you care. I've also sent her some pictures of my family, which she has hanging on her wall. The agency also sends me an annual report of my contribution for my taxes so I don't have to worry about figuring it out. They occasionally send letters asking for extra donations/to increase your donation, but they have never called me. I have been unable to increase my donations and am therefore still paying my original contribution. I have automatic payments set up so I don't even have to think about it. Overall, it's been a great experience. It's easy to get started, you can have a personal relationship with your child, and you can see the difference you make in your child's life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been sponsoring for seven year children in India, Zambia and The Dominican Republic. I am delighted by the work and services that this organization delivers. While it is true and obvious that they deliver the health, dental care and material benefits, they also engage in development projects that impact entire villages as water, sanitation and education projects. I am convinced by reading the annual reports, their collateral and other comparative materials that this organization has sound and competent management. It also has major impact in transforming lives and communities which is ultimately what matter the most to me as a donor.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

This is an extraordinary organization. I have been lucky enough to see first hand the important work they do for the children, families and communities they serve. Medical and dental care, education and social services are provided that will ultimately help these people break out of the cycle of poverty they are trapped in. I currently sponsor 6 young girls who will now have a brighter future because of CI's work. It takes so little from a sponsor to accomplish so much!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

We first sponsored a child through CI in 2007 and our experiences with the group have been so positive that, since then, we have sponsored one after another child until we now sponsor six children in four countries and I have taken the opportunity to visit and toured its operations in Guatemala and Colombia, as well as the group's headquarters in Kansas City, so I can say that, based upon personal knowledge and experience, CI is without question one of the finest, most efficient and dedicated non-profits I have ever had any experience with.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

After considerable research, I selected this organization to receive much of my attention and financial support. I continue to be interested in Children's International because of their dedication to helping deserving children around the world while keeping administrative costs relatively low (considering the breadth of their activities). I was reminded that I have been a donor for 5 years now; and they will continue as a priority in my giving. I believe that children - especially in significantly depressed Hispanic countries, deserve to have an opportunity to succeed and fulfill THEIR dreams - yea, even surpass those dreams!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

While planning a business trip through Central America I realized I would be in the same country (Costa Rica) as our sponsored child, Georgina. I had no idea whether she lived near where I would be (she did), whether the agency would encourage a visit (THEY DO!!!) and whether the logistics would be manageable. One phone call to the headquarters in Kansas City was all it took to get the ball rolling. Not only do they encourage such a meeting, but they make it extremely easy to know what to do, how to act, etc... Because of my tight schedule, CI picked me up from my hotel and brought me to their offices where they also brought Georgia and her mother. CI even brought me to the airport after my visit. My time with Georgina was extremely pleasant and comfortable, due in no small part to the gregarious nature of Gill Kelvin who hosted the visit and translated our conversation. The visit made Georgina (and her plight) all the more real to me, and renewed my commitment to help her and others if possible. Her picture is always on our fridge, but now it is also in my office where I can be reminded daily of her beautiful smile and gracious personality. A side benefit of the visit was meeting the many other dedicated and friendly staff who do such tremendous work (despite their cramped quarters) to meet the needs of so many. If you will ever be even near where your sponsored child is living I strongly encourage you to reach out to the main offices in Kansas City (or if not in the US, whatever is the local office) and just explore options. You may very well end up with a visit scheduled!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They were fantastic and extremely helpful. I would love to see them have better office facilities...but I'm sure they would rather see the money go to the children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What would you tell others about this organization?

Well run and efficient.

September 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

What made this story remarkable is the fact that I planned over night a trip to visit my sponsored child in Honduras and although I gave Children International a few days in advance notice ; they try hard to accommodate the schedule and they went the extra mile to make the meeting possible; and that's what makes the difference: going the extra mile !!! . So thanks Children International and its staff for your effort !!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 4 5 6...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers