Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
92 Reviews
1234.315225
| 1 ... 4 5 6...9 |
Write A Review
February 27, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

We have been sponsoring for several years and the experience with Children International has been wonderful. We have two girls from the Philippines and one boy from Ecuador and we love to see the progress they have made over the years. The volunteers at this organization are good people and we hope to travel to see our kids next year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 25, 2013

I have been a sponsor through Children International for 5 years. I have sponsored one beautiful girl in India from the age of 15 and she is now attending college thanks to us. Children International helped facilitate this special arrangement, because we were willing to help and she and her family were so extraordinarily eager to work hard and take advantage of the opportunity we could offer her. Now I sponsor another little girl in India, age 5. I cannot express how vital and rewarding it is to help these deserving children, who, with their families, are so grateful. It is a miracle to help them achieve a better life and, sometimes, even their dreams. It is a testament to Children International for how smoothly this all works. I have found Children International to be thoroughly reliable, trustworthy, and professional. They work hard to create real relationships between the sponsors and the ones they aid. It's clear this is a mission with them. I am in awe of their achievements. I recommend this charity highly! If you are considering this charity, try it--you will be blown away by how quickly and how importantly your mere dollars can affect a child's life, health, education, well-being, and future. There are few things I do more important than this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I sponsor two children through this organization, both of whom I've visited. The money you donate goes to programs that the kids and their families utilize and directly benefit from. I have been impressed all the way around.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I've been a sponsor of several children through this organization for five years. I appreciate the communication from my sponsored children but also from the local group where they live. The background information they provide about the family's situation really helps me to see that my donation is impactful. They also send pictures of my child with the items they have purchased with my donation. That's particularly nice. I can see they are grateful and my funds are not just going to cover overhead. I will continue to support Children International and recommend it to friends and family all the time. I have pictures of my sponsored children on my fridge - it usually sparks a conversation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Through Children International I have been able to form stong relationships with the children that I sponsor. Their letters are filled with love and thankfulness. And I know that many of the childrens' greatest needs are being met by my donations. (It is very rewarding sponsoring when you can read in the childrens' own words how much they are being helped.) I have sponsored with many other organizations, but Children International is my favorite of them all.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We have been sponsors for quite a few years and cannot say enough about this organization. I was concerned about how much of our sponsorship actually went to the children and was totally amazed. We have been lucky enough to have visited our sponsored child, John, in the Dominican Republic on a vacation there quite a few years ago. The agency set everything up and was terrific. We are again planning a visit and have been in touch with the staff to have them arrange our visit. It is amazing to watch John grow over the years and turn out to be a fine young man. We stay in touch through the year with letters and though he is of little words when we visited it was like we were there with him always. The yearly photo and updates are great and when I was worried about him they followed through with a check on his welfare and let me know. Even though times here have made us tighten our purse strings we will always find a way to take care of our 'son'. It is a special gift to be able to help someone and Children International makes that very easy and safe.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a sponsor with Children International for sixteen years. I knew very little about the organization when I first started--I was only fourteen, and researching things on the Internet wasn't nearly as common then as it is nowadays--but I knew that my grandmother had sponsored a little boy for years. I chose a child in Colombia and began sponsoring Gisel, who was only five years younger than me. Over the years, the number of children I have sponsored has fluctuated up and down depending on my own financial situation, but even at my poorest I never considered dropping from the program entirely. The services Children International provides to the children is truly life-changing, and I am grateful for the opportunity to take part. I currently sponsor ten children--nine in the Philippines and one in Guatemala. I am planning to go visit them in the next year--I love that Children International not only is willing to work with sponsors who want to visit, but they actively encourage it! Other reviewers have commented about extra money for birthdays and holidays being divided among all the children--this is clearly stated in the communication from the organization. If you want to send a donation specifically for your child, they are happy to accommodate you--all you have to do is specify that your gift of $50 or more is "child specific". It's simple. Another concern voiced by reviewers is that the letters sound like copied, form letters. With younger children, it is true that this is sometimes the case--younger children are assisted with their letters or sometimes write them as a group activity--but you will find that as your child grows older and more independent, their letters become longer, more unique, and more personal. It's a real treat to be able to watch your child grow and progress in this way! All in all, I couldn't be happier with Children International, and I plan to continue sponsoring with their organization for a long, long time to come.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

Children International has made donating a breeze and so very rewarding! I have been sponsoring a child, through Children International, for six years. I sponsor a little girl, named Kakhasha, who lives in India. I know that I am making a difference in her life because Children International takes the time to translate letters that Kakhasha and I exchange. I hear about her life- we have a friendship. The monthly support that I send her goes to help with living expenses and school expenses. The special money that I send at her birthday and Christmas is discussed between the local volunteer and her parents, and then used to buy something special for her (one year she received a new pair of shoes and a sweater). I am then notified by letter what item was picked out. I love that I am kept so involved and informed about what the money is being used for. It is not a faceless exchange; I know who the money goes to, and it is someone I care about because they've given me the opportunity to build a relationship with her. The Children International website is very user friendly and makes being a donor SO easy. I can write a letter to my child (as easy as email), make a special donation, check my child's profile for information (language spoken, birthday, family income, photo, etc), or even browse photos/profiles looking for additional children to 'adopt' with the click of the mouse. I also can update my billing information so that there's no interruption to the automatic billing that I signed up for to make donating SO easy. (For the first few years I donated, I did not exchange letters, and there was no pressure, and I still received the regular updates on my child and how the money was being spent, so if you are interested in something less involved this is still a great charity!) EASY AND REWARDING!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

I have been with children international for 5 years now and have absolutely loved it! Not only do I receive personal messages and pictures from my little girl, the agency regularly sends me information on how my funds have been used (what she is getting for Christmas/birthdays, what services she is able to access, etc). It is very easy to stay in touch with my girl through the easy online letter sending. They also send cards with prepaid envelopes so all you have to do is sign and put it in the mailbox. It's an easy way to let your child know you care. I've also sent her some pictures of my family, which she has hanging on her wall. The agency also sends me an annual report of my contribution for my taxes so I don't have to worry about figuring it out. They occasionally send letters asking for extra donations/to increase your donation, but they have never called me. I have been unable to increase my donations and am therefore still paying my original contribution. I have automatic payments set up so I don't even have to think about it. Overall, it's been a great experience. It's easy to get started, you can have a personal relationship with your child, and you can see the difference you make in your child's life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been sponsoring for seven year children in India, Zambia and The Dominican Republic. I am delighted by the work and services that this organization delivers. While it is true and obvious that they deliver the health, dental care and material benefits, they also engage in development projects that impact entire villages as water, sanitation and education projects. I am convinced by reading the annual reports, their collateral and other comparative materials that this organization has sound and competent management. It also has major impact in transforming lives and communities which is ultimately what matter the most to me as a donor.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 4 5 6...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers