Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
87 Reviews
1234.275865
| 1 ... 3 4 5...9 |
Write A Review
April 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Both my husband and I are sponsoring a girl from Ecuador and the experience has been wonderful. We get letters from her and we can see the progress she has made over the past few years. Children's International has been great and I hope to visit her in the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 20, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 20, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I will continue to sponsor my two children until they age out; however, I will not automatically accept "replacement" children (as I have in the past) when that occurs. My reluctance is primarily a reaction to the excessive salary drawn by the CEO. There are similar child sponsorship programs with higher ratings than CI. I will likely consider one of them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 7, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

I have been sponsoring a child in Columbia since 2001. I am appalled at the salaries made by the personnel of Children International. I intend to see my child through to age 18, but I plan to write a letter to this organization as to why I won't sponsor another child. A half million dollar salary for the CEO? Do you know how many children could be served by cutting that salary in half? How many Americans make $250,000/yr let alone a half million? I find this unconscionable.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 23, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 23, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

It was Christmas, and we received a solicitation from Children International for a Christmas gift for our sponsored child. We donated $50 in addition to our monthly support payment. Later we were notified that our sponsored child received pajamas. $50 for pajamas. We were not happy. When we wrote Children International, we were informed that they pool the extra Christmas donations so every child they sponsor can get at least something, even if their sponsor did not donate extra money for this purpose. We sort of understood but were annoyed we were not informed upfront. Now it's our sponsored child's 15th birthday...very special in Latin America. Basically, we were told the same thing. They did add that, if we donated $100, we could specify what we wanted her to get and receive a picture of her with her birthday gift. We feel this is just another fundraising tactic, that birthdays should be handled differently than Christmas and that $50 should be quite sufficient to get her something special for her 15th birthday. We are dismayed at these turn of events and are unsure of our future with Children International.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Best of all the child sponsorship programs. I have sponsored children for several years. Big organization, but their system allows wonderful personal attention to the needs of each child.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

We have been sponsoring for several years and the experience with Children International has been wonderful. We have two girls from the Philippines and one boy from Ecuador and we love to see the progress they have made over the years. The volunteers at this organization are good people and we hope to travel to see our kids next year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 25, 2013

I have been a sponsor through Children International for 5 years. I have sponsored one beautiful girl in India from the age of 15 and she is now attending college thanks to us. Children International helped facilitate this special arrangement, because we were willing to help and she and her family were so extraordinarily eager to work hard and take advantage of the opportunity we could offer her. Now I sponsor another little girl in India, age 5. I cannot express how vital and rewarding it is to help these deserving children, who, with their families, are so grateful. It is a miracle to help them achieve a better life and, sometimes, even their dreams. It is a testament to Children International for how smoothly this all works. I have found Children International to be thoroughly reliable, trustworthy, and professional. They work hard to create real relationships between the sponsors and the ones they aid. It's clear this is a mission with them. I am in awe of their achievements. I recommend this charity highly! If you are considering this charity, try it--you will be blown away by how quickly and how importantly your mere dollars can affect a child's life, health, education, well-being, and future. There are few things I do more important than this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I sponsor two children through this organization, both of whom I've visited. The money you donate goes to programs that the kids and their families utilize and directly benefit from. I have been impressed all the way around.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I've been a sponsor of several children through this organization for five years. I appreciate the communication from my sponsored children but also from the local group where they live. The background information they provide about the family's situation really helps me to see that my donation is impactful. They also send pictures of my child with the items they have purchased with my donation. That's particularly nice. I can see they are grateful and my funds are not just going to cover overhead. I will continue to support Children International and recommend it to friends and family all the time. I have pictures of my sponsored children on my fridge - it usually sparks a conversation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Through Children International I have been able to form stong relationships with the children that I sponsor. Their letters are filled with love and thankfulness. And I know that many of the childrens' greatest needs are being met by my donations. (It is very rewarding sponsoring when you can read in the childrens' own words how much they are being helped.) I have sponsored with many other organizations, but Children International is my favorite of them all.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 3 4 5...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers