Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
119 Reviews
1234.453785
| 1 2 3 4...12 |
Write A Review
August 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is by the best organizaion i been sponsoring from children international for 6 years now i love sporing children from Children International

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is by far the best organization for helping & sponsoring children through out the world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have always dreamed of helping kids. I have tried and done voluntary work in my country, which has been really rewarding.
However, I feel I have done things in a especially gratifying way since I started sponsoring a child with CI.
For one thing, you can sponsor a child through CI,
irrespective of the country you live in.
Also, CI helps lots of kids all over the world and shows you who these children are in a myriad of ways, even in the stage when you are deciding whether to sponsor or not. Then, while thinking about sponsorship, you can browse through this long list of kids that need help. You're presented with a picture and a short profile of each child's situation and general needs.
Having the opportunity to let a child's face or story transmit something to you in a very personal way --in such a way you tell yourself, I want to sponsor *this* child-- is something I truly appreciated of CI, and which is not possible in my country, wherein --for one thing-- you cannot sponsor individual children.
Sponsoring a child is such a special experience, and CI helps you make the best of it: you are allowed to write to your child as much as you want, and you'll be sure getting a letter from him/her once a year, as well as a picture (to see how he/she is growing). And you'll probably get more letters too, if you write often or send them special gifts (which you can pick yourself and send, or donate money to CI so that they buy what your child needs).
I emphasize on letters and pictures as they are the highlight of the sponsoring "benefits" for me. I get to see how my sponsored child grows, how he bonds with me, and knows about me. And I can see, from the stuff he gets from CI (and from seeing, for example, he has braces in a picture), that my money is indeed allowing him to go to school, receive medical care, have a (better) chance in life...
CI also offers a great customer service. Every person you talk to on the phone or chat to (you can do that, and it's great if you are not within the US) is extremely nice and helpful. They try to make your sponsorship experience the best for you. That is something else I truly appreciate.
Another perk of sponsoring with CI is the chance to visit your child. I have to live that experience to comment on how CI handles it, but I've read marvelous accounts from fellow donors, and the fact that they offer you the chance to go to the community your child lives in, discover further needs and advantages of the program and give a big hug to that kid that holds a special place in your heart is just wonderful.
All in all, even though sponsoring in dollars from Argentina is hard, and sometimes I wonder whether my child would be better off with a wealthier sponsor, I cherish my experience, try to do my best and, of course, thank CI deeply for letting me enter the life of my sponsored child and make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

--Allow people to donate less than the suggested amount for some CI programs that benefit all the kids.Sometimes you can only spare little money,but at least it's something... --Allow to make partial payments (with certain interest that would benefit CI) in the case of costly special needs gifts (these are things your child needs and you can donate money for him/her to have). As a dollar equals 10 times my local currency, I sometimes can't provide those gifts for my child due to cost.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been sponsoring a child from the Philippines for about 3 years now and it is truly remarkable what CI is doing for children across the world. I started donating when I was a college student (yes, a very poor college student and it was still affordable), and I will be increasing my donations soon. CI makes it easy to donate, is thoroughly supportive with the process, and allows me to have a great relationship with my sponsored child. This is truly a great non-profit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes I can think of.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

This is a great non-profit organization. It awesome because you can write to your sponsored child and get to know them personally. Children International mission is to provide youth educational, nutritional & medical support and skill building to successfully join the workforce.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

I began sponsoring with CI when I was in college and then once my sponsor child, Nilton, moved away from the CI community I felt disconnected and supported other organizations. I proceeded to earn an MA in International Conflict Resolution and worked abroad in poverty alleviation for the next 3+ years. When returning to the US, I met an incredible woman and major donor of CI. She and her husband were extremely passionate about the work being done in developing countries and invest very generously to ignite youth empowerment. I began volunteering and developing the local San Francisco Chapter of Children International. Then after visiting the field/ 8 community centers in Dominican Republic, selecting a child from the community, and sponsoring a young man named Juan Pablo, I now work full time for CI. I have never had such an amazing opportunity to see my daily work translate into a meaningful impact on tackling poverty.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

I've been involved with Children International since the late 80s. I started off with a single child for many years, then began sponsoring multiple kids about 9 years ago. With a total of 27 kids, I can say that my experience has been very positive and life-changing.

The one-on-one
relationship is what I find attractive. It's not simply cutting a check to a faceless agency that may or may not do something meaningful with the funds.

Better yet, I have had the pleasure of traveling to seven countries (they have a presence in 11) and meeting each child and her family in person, most of them several times now. I view them as part of my extended family and they feel the same way about me.

If you're looking to make a positive difference in the life of a child, I highly recommend you take a look at Children International's program. You'll be glad you did.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

My wife and I are currently supporting a young girl in Central America. In light of the current flow of people from Central America to the southern border of the U.S. I'm very heartened by our direct support for this one child. We need to grow this one-to-one support exponentially as it seems formal governmental systems are stuck in stuck. I'm confident Children's International is building the infrastructure for this exponential growth.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

I´m a three years donor in Children International.

I never even figurate how much impact are going to be in my life the moment when I meet my sponsored children.

Definitely I recommend to be a sponsor with CI and contribute to have a better world helping a child.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

I'm 21 and I am the proud sponsor of 2 CI kids. My father has been sponsoring children with CI for over a decade and this year, I sponsored my own two children (a little boy in India and a little girl in the Philippines). I've grown up being skeptical of this and that nonprofit my father decided to sign up for because they never really addressed the basic issue of poverty that the children lived in. Children International is the only one I've found that really does lift children out of poverty using education as their instrument. It's an instrument that took my mother out of poverty and now, she's the idol for my cousins on the maternal side of my family. This year, I interned for the CI Bay Area Chapter - a huge success! I saw the inner workings of how CI really works and what they achieve all over the world. I'm proud to say that I will support this organization no matter what hardships they face; they will persevere and continue to uphold a long-standing tradition of educating youth and empowering them to become facilitators for real change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers