Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
87 Reviews
1234.275865
| 1 2 3 4...9 |
Write A Review
August 30, 2013

I found this organization at a time in my life when I really needed support. I found happiness through giving back in a positive way. Sponsoring a child has been very personally rewarding, and my experience with Children International has been terrific.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Being a scientist myself, I did a lot of research when I decided to sponsor a child. The biggest issue for me was to be sure that the help reaches the child I choose to sponsor and that I get the regularly updated information about him/her.
Currently I am sponsoring two girls with CI and the
experience is so much more than I could ever dream about. The staff in the main office in Kansas and in the regional offices go beyond their duties to ensure that all your questions and concerns are answered. They are always available and answer emails right away. One of the girls I sponsor has a difficult situation at home and the staff did everything to help her improve the situation meanwhile communicating with me about what is going on.
CI also gives a possibility to help a child beyond your regular monthly payments and the donation goes directly to the family (the staff buys the things the family want, the money itself are never given to the family to ensure its proper spending, which I really like). If a sponsor makes such an extra donation he/she gets photos, letter and the report of the things bought and why they were chosen. It's really incredible to see how the child (and the whole family) life in gradually improving.
But the most rewarding part is that CI makes you fell like you are right there with a child and his/her family talking, helping, asking questions, but without spending much time doing it yourself.
The website CI uses is incredible having all the information you want and choices you need. The website LiftOne where all the discussions happen is helping me a lot to learn more about the organization and to share the lives of the children I sponsor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would improve a website a little by adding the possibility to see what communication was sent to me and when, so I'll know when to expect a letter from CI or that the one wasn't delivered to me (I move a lot) and ask to resend it. I also know that all the communication is been copied, so it would be great to have these copies of letters, reports and photos online on the website. But I know it's a lot of work I asking from the staff, so I'm pretty happy the way it is.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I decided to sponsor a child I spent so much time talking to people to get thoughts on agencies. I went to the internet and researched. CI had the most information. I called CI and spoke with them. They explained so much. I ask them to mail me info and I must sponsor a young boy on the USA. So, last February 14, 2013 I started sponsoring my first child. Just what I ask for. A young boy in the USA. I started sponsoring my second 3 year old in Guatemala last July. Sponsoring is a life changing, rewarding experience. When I get my letters sometimes they leave me crying or laughing! I can call CI and they are always there for us. They are great. We have LiftOne. A site for sponsors to share pictures, artwork, anything about our kids. I have many friends on LiftOne. We discuss things about everything. We help each other with advice. There are discussion boards and. We can blog. My 2 boys have a chance for a better future because of CI.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOT !!! If it isn't broken.. why fix it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I decided to sponsor a child,,[ about 3 years ago] I studied almost 20 0r 30 of them.Yoi must read their history and all about what the do. The percent of you money that goes directly to the family and how it is controlled .I spent days on this. I decided on CI for all those reasons. I picked my own child and country, also age and a few other things. CI has a sponsors site called "Lift one " which you can talk to hundreds of other sponsors, exchange child pictures and letters. At this time I have five children I sponsor, I am not a bit sorry for this, the letters,pictures and info I get is outstanding. I have actually cried when I read a couple of letters from my children. I cant say enough how CI has made my life a more beautiful thing, I will forever be grateful to them,
You will not find a better organization than CI. go for it right now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

I had a young gentleman knock on my front door telling me about Children International and asked me if I would like to sponsor a child. He told me all about the program but I was very hesitant at first because the way the economy is and being a single mother and wanted to know if the program was reputable. I was leery with giving him a check for the first month but very uneasy of having an automatic with drawl from my checking account and having access to my account information. As promised by the representative the monies were taken out on the 26th of the month (1) time only for the month.
Once I received a picture and letter from my child Kevin my heart swelled. Kevin is adorable and I am glad that I can help him and his family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None so far

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 31, 2013

I recently sent a Special Gift to Children International for my boy in Honduras. I was very happy with the pictures sent back to me of him with lots of food, clothing and a quality toy. Children Int... more

June 21, 2013

I have found this agency just great! (I have found it to be more communicative in general than any other agencies I dealt with in the past.) Accounts have always been accurate - no problems in the financial area of things. They do send out (from time to time), brochures or cards with a request for additional donations for things like the Scholarship Fund, Parasite Fund, etc., BUT these requests for additional donations ARE OPTIONAL. I called the 1-800 # and asked that I not receive these extra requests for donations as I can only do the basic monthly amount (and I like to contribute to the "4 gifts a year" program - which is completely OPTIONAL as all of these funds are combined to provide practical holiday gifts for ALL sponsored children). CI was just great and they discontinued sending me the extra requests for $$ immediately. Now I just receive yearly photo, yearly report on child, CI annual report, yearly report on my child's area and, of course, a thank you letter and pictures if I happen to very occasionally send an extra amount of $$ for a Special Needs Gift. Really enjoy sponsorship with this agency - and I believe they are the best! in terms of making a change in these children's lives. I plan to sponsor more children in the future as I go along in life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I recently sent a Special Gift to Children International for my boy in Honduras. I was very happy with the pictures sent back to me of him with lots of food, clothing and a quality toy. Children International you always do it right! (If anyone is wondering about sending a Special Gift, the CI Reference Guide mentions the Special Gift option. It also mentions the optional Holiday Gifts program (and that all funds are combined for this program). It also says you may send a package to your child under "Packages." See the section titled "Gifts".)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 20, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been sponsoring two children in Ecuador since April 2011. When i signed up as a sponsor, I indicated that I would be contributing twice the monthly sponsorship fee per child, plus I signed up to contribute extra funds for each child's birthday, Christmas, Easter, and "Special Days" when the children are given extra gifts "just because". I set up the "automatic withdrawal" so that the funds would come out of my bank account each month to cover the monthly sponsorship fees plus administrative fees and withdrawals for birthdays, holidays, etc.

Shortly after I began sponsorship, I received notice from Children International (CI) that, because of an increase in administrative costs, I would be charged more per month for sponsorship. I agreed to pay the extra rather than having to deduct the administrative fees from the monthly sponsorship fees.

Since I signed up for the automatic withdrawal, the correct amount has always been automatically paid to CI from my checking account.

Recently I retired, which means that I will henceforth be on a fixed income. However, I decided to continue sponsoring the two children, Milena and Angel, for as long as I possibly can. I also received notice from CI that they needed additional contributions from me to pay for protection of my sponsored children and their families from parasites. They recommended $50.00 per child, but did not indicate if that was an annual fee, a quarterly fee, or a monthly fee. Seeking more information, I visited CI's Web site and signed in on my account. What I found was perplexing, to say the least.

Under my account, CI was showing that I was only paying the basic monthly sponsorship fee for each child, yet under "Contribution History" it was showing that I had been contributing from 2 to 3 times the amount that i had actually been contributing. In other words, for every $100 that I contributed, my contribution history was showing that I contributed anywhere from $200 to $300. I was also credited for having paid only the basic sponsorship fee for each child, but $168 per month for "All Children". That raised questions in my mind, so I logged into my account at my bank to check the withdrawal history.

My bank account showed that the correct monthly amount plus special contributions had been paid to CI, not the huge amounts that CI was showing that I had contributed. That brought to mind the fact that I had been paying twice the monthly sponsorship fees for each child and raised the question, "What is being done with the extra sponsorship fees that I'm paying each month for each child if they are not receiving it, and why am I being sent a solicitation for more money to cover the cost of 'parasite protection and education?'"

With that in mind, I contacted CI through their "Contact Us" form page and asked them where the extra money that I'm paying each month is going and why I am being credited with having made contributions that I have not, in fact, made. I am currently awaiting a response from CI.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would reduce the salary of the CEO or whatever his title is and would review the salaries, bonuses, etc., of other CI employees. If all were receiving bloated salaries, then I would reduce their pay to reasonable rates and put the difference back into the program so that it actually helped the children and their families. I would also see to it that if $50 was contributed for a child's birthday, that amount would be spent on the gift that the child received.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I rarely post on these sites as they tend to be too overwhelming for me with mixed opinions. I recently googled children international as I was looking for the site and this site came up. I have been sponsoring for several years, even after my wife passed away in 2009. The experience has been good and seeing the letters and photos makes it all real for me. I feel like I am making a real difference in this child's life.

The organization has been great and all of the volunteer workers make it a good experience. I highly recommend them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I do not have any children and sponsorship has given me a sense of hope that one person can make a difference. Children International has made this all possible and I'm quite satisfied with the quality of service. I am a health care worker and my profession is about giving back and helping others. I get the same feeling with sponsorship. Thank you.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Children International opened my eyes to sponsorship and how I'm making a difference in our child's life. My partner and I have been sponsoring since 2008, and we enjoy getting letters from our child and seeing her progress. I would like to get more involved and hope to see her some day. Highly recommend it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers