Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
116 Reviews
1234.439665
| 1 2 3 4...12 |
Write A Review
August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been sponsoring a child from the Philippines for about 3 years now and it is truly remarkable what CI is doing for children across the world. I started donating when I was a college student (yes, a very poor college student and it was still affordable), and I will be increasing my donations soon. CI makes it easy to donate, is thoroughly supportive with the process, and allows me to have a great relationship with my sponsored child. This is truly a great non-profit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes I can think of.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

This is a great non-profit organization. It awesome because you can write to your sponsored child and get to know them personally. Children International mission is to provide youth educational, nutritional & medical support and skill building to successfully join the workforce.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

I began sponsoring with CI when I was in college and then once my sponsor child, Nilton, moved away from the CI community I felt disconnected and supported other organizations. I proceeded to earn an MA in International Conflict Resolution and worked abroad in poverty alleviation for the next 3+ years. When returning to the US, I met an incredible woman and major donor of CI. She and her husband were extremely passionate about the work being done in developing countries and invest very generously to ignite youth empowerment. I began volunteering and developing the local San Francisco Chapter of Children International. Then after visiting the field/ 8 community centers in Dominican Republic, selecting a child from the community, and sponsoring a young man named Juan Pablo, I now work full time for CI. I have never had such an amazing opportunity to see my daily work translate into a meaningful impact on tackling poverty.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

I've been involved with Children International since the late 80s. I started off with a single child for many years, then began sponsoring multiple kids about 9 years ago. With a total of 27 kids, I can say that my experience has been very positive and life-changing.

The one-on-one
relationship is what I find attractive. It's not simply cutting a check to a faceless agency that may or may not do something meaningful with the funds.

Better yet, I have had the pleasure of traveling to seven countries (they have a presence in 11) and meeting each child and her family in person, most of them several times now. I view them as part of my extended family and they feel the same way about me.

If you're looking to make a positive difference in the life of a child, I highly recommend you take a look at Children International's program. You'll be glad you did.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

My wife and I are currently supporting a young girl in Central America. In light of the current flow of people from Central America to the southern border of the U.S. I'm very heartened by our direct support for this one child. We need to grow this one-to-one support exponentially as it seems formal governmental systems are stuck in stuck. I'm confident Children's International is building the infrastructure for this exponential growth.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

I´m a three years donor in Children International.

I never even figurate how much impact are going to be in my life the moment when I meet my sponsored children.

Definitely I recommend to be a sponsor with CI and contribute to have a better world helping a child.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

I'm 21 and I am the proud sponsor of 2 CI kids. My father has been sponsoring children with CI for over a decade and this year, I sponsored my own two children (a little boy in India and a little girl in the Philippines). I've grown up being skeptical of this and that nonprofit my father decided to sign up for because they never really addressed the basic issue of poverty that the children lived in. Children International is the only one I've found that really does lift children out of poverty using education as their instrument. It's an instrument that took my mother out of poverty and now, she's the idol for my cousins on the maternal side of my family. This year, I interned for the CI Bay Area Chapter - a huge success! I saw the inner workings of how CI really works and what they achieve all over the world. I'm proud to say that I will support this organization no matter what hardships they face; they will persevere and continue to uphold a long-standing tradition of educating youth and empowering them to become facilitators for real change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

I have personally been a donor for a number of years with this org. and have visited a number of the field offices where my sponsored children are and saw first hand all they do for these families. I am proud to be a part and helping to make a difference

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 24, 2014

more

July 24, 2014

This organization helps end the cycle of poverty through their community development programs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Some of the marketing is outdated.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 12, 2014

more

February 12, 2014

I love Children International! I sponsor two girls here in the USA and have for several years. Everything from the new website layout, which provides a lot of great information about the children you sponsor, to being able to send gifts through the year, they make sponsorship easy and fun. I love receiving letters from the girls I sponsor and I love getting messages from Children International letting me know what exactly me donations provided, such as new shoes for school, new books, school supplies, etc. I sponsor a girl in the USA for each of my grandsons. I am happy that I am able to support children in our country, to help them know that they are valued and an important part of our society. I hope that my sponsorship makes them as happy as it does me. I love this organization and all of their hard work. And I've never regretted a penny. Thank you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Children International is doing such a great job, that I can't begin to think of any improvements. Keep it up!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers