Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

I went when I was younger and it was a ton of fun. Thanks to all of the people there that made the experience awesome.
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

This organization puts on a retreat each year that we attended for over 15 years. We all learned so much. And the lifelong friends we made will always be there for me. I can never repay them for what they did for us. My daughter found a group that had the same struggles.
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

This is an amazing experience for children with arthritis. It is fun and educational. The most impressive part to me is the feeling of being a family with others also battling arthritis.
June 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I took my daughter to the Jambalaya Jubilee camp for the first time this year. At lunch time the second day, she was already making plans to attend next year's event! The doctors, family therapists, staff and volunteers all work together to make a very enjoyable retreat for children with arthritic and rheumatic conditions and their parents, siblings and extended families. They work really hard to maximize the experience on as little expense as possible, keeping the cost of attendance low. I really appreciate the vision and foresight of Dr. and Mrs. Tom Pressly in founding this charity and the outreach of the Jambalaya Jubilee retreat.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I realize cost and time factor into this, but it seemed like the two days went by too quickly!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Jambalaya Jubilee is a wonderful place for children with juvenile arthritis to come together and meet other children with the same problems so that they don't feel like they are different. The people who put this together are so nice and very giving. I hope our family can make this a tradition for years to come.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Over the past 30 years I have served on numerous nonprofit boards. Nowhere have I found an organization that directs a larger portion of its dollars to its mission. I am responsible for evaluating nonprofit organizations for a large nonprofit corporation, so I have a good idea of what to consider when determining whether or not to give to an organization. Without a doubt, Children and Arthritis far exceeds my expectations for giving...and is actually much better than many other organizations in our community. The founders continue to stand behind the organization which has been sustained for several decades by donors and corporations that see its clear value to the children and families it serves. Other nonprofits would do well to replicate this model!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Seek ways to gain new volunteers and donors. Not enough effort has been placed in donor development, but most effort and dollars are directed to the mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Children and Arthritis is a great organization for helping children who suffer from arthritis, they do great with giving the kids a fun weekend and helping the parents better understand what arthritis is and the different treatment methods. I highly recommend this organization to any family who has a child with arthritis, you won't be disappointed!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization has helped our family for 22 years. We started attending the retreat when my daughter was 3 years old. She is now 25 and we are able to pay it forward now. Our family still attends the retreats and speak with families just beginning the journey. When my daughter was first diagnosed, there was no internet so by attending the retreat, I was able to learn so much about arthritis from all the doctors available at the retreat. I was also able to meet other parents dealing with the same kind of the problems. My daughter was able to meet other children just like her. Some of these families we met in the beginning have become very good friends even though we are separated by 100's of miles. As a parent, I will say the best thing about the retreat is the fact that it empowered me with knowledge. I always felt so helpless because I had no control over the disease but knowledge is power! As a parent, it also gave me the feeling that I was not alone. I knew I could call other parents at any time for help or just a sounding board when I was feeling hopeless.
I know that without this retreat every year, m daughter would not be the confident young woman she is today. Because of the retreat, she knew all things were possible. She met other kids going through the same thing and they boost each other up.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help raise more funds so more families could attend!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This nonprofit organization has helped my family in so many ways. It has brought so many families together in so many ways also. It has not only helped me make new friends but it has also taught me that there are a lot of families dealing with the same issues as my family. It allows families to come together for a fun filled weekend to grow stronger and learn how to deal with children with a rheumatic disease and how to deal with everyday life for the whole family. It also allows family to relax and just have fun and make memories that last a lifetime.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing about this organization. This is a great organization and I'm so glad to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Children and Arthritis puts on a retreat called Jambalya Jubilee every year. This retreat is for children with rheumatic diseases and their families. I began attending Jambalaya Jubilee when I was 3 years old, and I am currently 26 years old. Jambalaya Jubilee has allowed my family and I to get excellent medical advice from some of the best doctors in the South. I continue to learn new things every single year! Children and Arthritis gave me to ability to meet other people who have the same disability as myself. The encouragement that is given to the families and children helped me develop a strong sense of self-confidence. Thanks to Children and Arthritis I can face the day knowing that arthritis does not control me, and that I am not alone in my disability!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers