Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.255325
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
May 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

A few months ago I contacted CLF via their website. I was inquiring about how my grandson who was diagnosed with ALL could receive a gift basket. Kate Booth replied that they would information to be able to contact a nurse or someone who works with him to be able to verify diagnosis. After providing the info and making several follow up attempts, they never got back to me!! So much for their mission! It's some kind of scam if you ask me. No sense in contacting them because you will never hear from those people again!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close it down

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I got a call from 'Rachel' soliciting funds for this organization. She called from a spoofed number that said it was a Private Caller. What kind of organization does that? There is some kind of scam going on- no legitimate charity would use a Private Caller telephone number. I asked to be taken off thier call list- let's see what happens.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Use a real Caller ID number.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Hi, We are just writing in to thank you for our son's wish basket and gift card. It could have not came in at a better time for him, his hair began falling and was really sad asking if his hair would grow back any time soon.. Our son Gilbert(Jr) had asked us for a couple of Video Games as this is how he passes time while being home, since he cannot attend school like normal boys and girls do to his weakened immune system. We would like to thank you and all your supporters who support this cause of having a child dealing with a life threatening illness/disease. CLF, sure put a big smile and filled our son Gilbert's little heart with Joy. Thank You So Much!!!! Bless You all!!!!
Respectfully ,
Rocio & Gilbert

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to make sure that all children battling cancer are able to receive the benefits from this wonderful organization

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

My son just received an IPAD from Childhood Leukemia Foundation. It could not have come at a better time. Since he started his treatment, we have not seen one smile...Ugh! When he opened the box and saw the IPAD his face just lit up! As a mother, I am so grateful that others do care about my son. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for all you have done for my family. Sincerely, Rose Garcia

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Pray that they continue to help other families to experience the joy this brought to my son.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Dear Ms. Barbara,

I just wanted to say thank you so much to you and the Childhood Leukemia Foundation for the Hugs U Wear wig, the Wish Basket, and the Visa gift card. I got my wig and wish basket with the help of Cindy, the social worker at CHOA. I have enjoyed wearing my wig and I
always feel pretty when I wear it. It makes me feel like I have hair again. It was also special because I received my wig and wish basket a week after my birthday. I was diagnosed with Severe Aplastic Anemia in 2009 at the age of 7 and in April 2013, I received my bone marrow transplant. Thank you again for sending me these wonderful gifts.

Love, Meredith

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything with the organization but would like it if they were able to send a Wish Basket or a Hug to any child who is eligible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

I just wanted to say Thank You so much for the Wish Basket you have my son Mathias. This company has helped to put a smile on my sons face at a time when everything else was in a state of confusion.

My son Mathias is a 11 year old fighting ALL/Philadelphia Plus for the second
time.
Mathias was diagnosed on May 2011 and did everything to prepare him for his first transplant (brother donor). He did amazing! 18 months later on February 1, 2013 he had a relapse and our journey started again. He should have been in transplant in April but a day before being admitted they found mass I'm his liver and lung. After two biopsies and waiting it came back as a fungal. Transplant had to be in hold cause to risky to go in with a fungal. We stayed in hospital for three months for treatment. We then were given a two week break to go home (home is 21/2 hours away) and get some family time before our next big journey. Transplant was on August the 15. So far he is doing great. Inclosed is a picture of Mathias at the zoo days before his second transplant, dr gave him permission to enjoy and no limitations!! Zoo is one of his favorite places.
God Bless you CLF!!!

Michelle (Mathias's Mom)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make sure that this foundation is able to give a Wish Basket to any child that requests it. They are a great organization and really care about making a difference to the children

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 13, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

Last year this firm used a telemarketing firm that paid the charity 40% of the monies received - this telemarketer was located on the West Coast. This year they have contracted with a NJ telemarketer (in their home state of NJ, who has a post office box for an address) and their contract is for only 15% of monies collected going to the cause.

The telemarketer will get 85% of all monies collected. This is UNACCEPTABLE!!!

I live in NC and received a call from this telemarketer on 8/12/13 - since I was on the computer I popped up our state's Charitable Solicitations site and looked to see if this was a legit deal, and they had been registered in our state, but their last license had expired in March, 2013 and so far it had not been renewed.

I HATE these "professional solicitators" since they drain SO MUCH MONEY AWAY from a good cause. This may be a great organization, but when you go from a 40% contract to a 15% contract - their board of directors needs to be FIRED and REPLACED with a group of people who still have gray matter between their ears instead of pudding (or possibly poop?)!

I am appalled by the percentages here - telemarketers from India can set up call centers and deluge our country with telemarketing calls made on a shoestring budget using CHEAP VoIP internet phone systems - and yet these "professional Solicitators" claim they can't do it?

Bull - other charities can. There are quite a few that can do it and turn numbers well above 50%.

I obtained these figures from the NC Secretary of State filings PUBLICLY posted on their website - figures provided by the Childhood Leukemia Foundation, Inc. themselves.

Find someone else to donate to until these people get their act together. There is NO reason why the telemarketer's portion should EVER be that high. The board needs to get its priorities straight and remember that they are NOT there to serve themselves and their friends, but to serve those that have cancer and their families - like their mission statement speaks of.

Vote NO CONFIDENCE with your money! Donate elsewhere until this appalling situation is corrected.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take the responsibility to do a much better job of vetting my telemarketing firms and NEVER contract with one who provides such a LOW figure for the charity side of the equation. The board should be replaced for acting in such an irresponsible manner. No one with any sense would sign off on such a horrid fee split.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 3, 2013

more

July 3, 2013

The Child Life Team at Kaiser Permante, Los Angeles would like to express our gratitude for the kind donation of iPads and laptop we received from your wonderful foundation. We are so excited to utilize this technology with our oncology patients. It has helped us in our daily work with the children at Kaiser.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 3, 2013

Jagger is an extraordinary little boy. He was diagnosed with b-type ALL leukemia this past November and is actively receiving treatment/chemo. He received his wish basket from you a few weeks ago but didn't feel quite up to going thru it. We both wanted to thank you so very much!! It was a nice thing to have when the last few weeks have rough for him. Thank you again!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make sure that every child with cancer could receive a Wish Basket. It really made my son smile!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

Thank you so much for all of the wonderful services the Childhood Leukemia Foundation has provided to our families. Working with families in pediatric oncology presents many challenges to us and we have come to rely on CLF to assist us in meeting some of those challenges.

Our kids spend
many hours in the hospital and clinic receiving lifesaving therapies; the time can seem endless. The iPad program has been a wonderful addition to our kids as the iPads are used for assisting in their continued education, providing a vehicle for them to stay connected to their peers, and not to be forgotten... providing a fabulous distraction through music, movies and games when appropriate.

The Wish Baskets have also been a wonderful addition to our support services. Our families have many additional expenses with the diagnosis of cancer, many times there is not enough extra financial means to cover those expenses that bring only one thing...comfort and joy. Each family has met the Wish Basket with a genuine smile and "Is this really for me? Wow!"

We cannot thank all of you enough for your dedication, caring and compassion to children and their families journeying through pediatric cancers. We look forward to working with The Childhood Leukemia Foundation for many years to come!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to know that each child battling cancer has the opportunity to receive services from this amazing organization. The truly care about each child and their family. I would not change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers