Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
12.38462345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 1, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I strove, as a member of the executive leadership team at Childhelp, to increase transparency and accountability. There is a concerted effort among senior leadership to hide poor practices. Licensing is not serious about compliance or this charity would have seen it's villages closed. Children deserve better who come through the doors of the villages seeking treatment. Donors-- Spend your dollars elsewhere and in good conscience. To root out the bad seed, operations needs an overhaul. There is something rotten at the helm of this ship. No confidence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The ladies could begin regaining faith by foregoing their salaries. Fire your Quality & Improvement VP. Replace this unscrupulous individual with someone whose character is above reproach. Release financial information that is overdue and be honest with the public.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Okay

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Over two years now, and no IRS990 form? What is Childhelp hiding? This place has "scam" written all over it. Why no IRS sanctions against these people?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Follow the law and file required financial information on time.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 21, 2013

more

June 21, 2013

I phoned Childhelp's hotline for some professional advice. Although I do crisis counseling, I do not consider myself trained in the area of the after effects of sexual abuse. I was calling about a young woman of 20, who had been sexually abused by her stepfather from when she was 5 years old. He was sent to prison for several years but when he was released, her mother invited him back into their home, where he molested her again. This time, she took all the pills she could find in an attempt to kill herself and it nearly worked. The hospital reported the incident and she was placed in foster care, as were her younger half-brother and half-sister, whom she dearly loved. She never saw them or her mother again. Now at 20, she has deep-seated issues. She is a compulsive liar and sexually obsessive. I am deeply concerned for her well-being. I had to wait more than 10 minutes before a counselor picked up, and then the women was very unprofessional. I just hung up, frustrated.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire professionals, not volunteers who can 't or don't know how to be.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Childhelp is a very lucrative venture for the two founders; two old lady movie stars from the 50's. Together that take a huge salary from the business as do most of the leadership team. They travel around the country first-class on the dime of those that make donations. However, most of revenue comes from the government in the form of medicaid, grants etc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close the doors.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 23, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 23, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

Alice C. Tyler Village and Merv Griffin Village are being utilized by this national organization to siphon Medicaid and fund ancillary projects in support of abused and neglected children. The company does not invest enough in the villages, the programs, or in professional development of it's staff. As a result, services are mediocre or poor and treatment, as well as education, suffers. Childhelp is gilded, at best. Great name recognition, but much shinier on the outside than within. They are perpetually in trouble with licensing, and more interested in appearances than actual services. Be wary. The only reason they have not been closed the villages at various times in the past couple of years, is because social services has nowhere to house these children. One advantage of serving severely abused and neglected populations is that licensing is not going to hold the organization as accountable as it should be held for fear that there is, literally, nowhere else for these children to go. Truly a sad state of affairs: poorly managed, understaffed, and under trained. Childhelp is a train wreck waiting to derail, with a lack of accountability. Yvonne and Sara are amazing, and deserve to see their legacy better managed.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 1, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 1, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

I cannot say that I know the organization personally, but in doing some research on them, I read their recently posted 990 (for fiscal year ending June30, 2011) and it does indeed state, in their own words and as a matter of public record, that the top executive leadership makes very high salaries, they closed at least two group homes in the Arizona area, at least two staff were no longer working there as of mid-2011 (though reasons are not stated) and at least one was given a six-figure severance package, and they are in considerable debt, ending the year with a negative balance. The 990 shows a huge sum spent on lobbying and more than $150,000 spent on conferences and the like. The charity rating sites reveal that in 2003 and earlier, they were a four star organization and have been considerably unsteady since then, although recent years show a bit of an improvement. Although their website states that they started as an internationally focused organization, their most recent audit report (on their website) states that entity is dormant. In 1995 the organization entered into an agreement with a non-related entity to own and operate a general office building in Scottsdale, Arizona, and put $393,000 into said property. It is unclear what financial benefit this arrangement is having in terms of furthering the mission of the organization. As of June 30, 2011, they owed $2.4 million on a $3 million dollar line of credit. Their audit report shows a variety of notes payable (debt) totalling more than $9 million. Per the audit report, last year, Childhelp did not generate enough revenue to run their basic operations and had to dip into restricted assets in their small endowment resources to pay for basic operating costs, nor were they able to make any matching contributions to their employees' defined contribution plans for at least the past two years. Note #14 of the audit report indicates considerable conflict of interest issues with board members benefiting financially from agency services. Reviewers are referred specifically to Notes 16 and 17 of the audit report that speak to significant financial challenges and the need for major restructuring, with a specific statement that the organization has enough resources to service obligations through Feb 2013 (2 months away!). I don't know if the reviewer below is "disgruntled" or not, but the evidence on the agency's own website suggests the reviewer below may be shedding a little inside light on a very difficult situation and donors should require the organization to demonstrate it's improvement plan prior to sinking much more money into this organization. This company does indeed appear to be having more than a little difficulty managing its finances. I have worked in the non-profit sector for over 25 years and support a number of charities. My own organization climbed out of a terrible fiscal hole a few years ago so I know of what I speak. Children and child abuse prevention are near and dear to my heart, but ChildHelp, Inc. appears to need a major course correction starting at the top.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a huge advocate for the Childhelp organization. I have had the opportunity to get to know several key people in the organization, and I have witnessed the love and dedication that they have for helping children. I sent the Merv Griffin Village a large box of new clothing for the children, and I not only received a personalized letter of appreciation from the founders, but they also left a voice message on my cell phone thanking me for my donation. I have never received such a sincere gesture of gratitude from any other organization, but it wasn't the gratitude of thanks that made Childhelp my first choice charity to support. It's what they have actually done to prove their words and commitment to treating and preventing child abuse. You don't receive a Nobel Peace nomination for overpaying your organization's leaders as one reviewer claimed, and if you receive five consecutive nominations, you must be doing something pretty damn amazing! I will continue to support Childhelp, because I trust the leadership and direction of the organization as long as Sara & Yvonne are involved.  The organization's motto, "For the love of a child", says it all.  Those words are the reason for Childhelp's actions and existence, and there is no one who can honestly deny that as the truth.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I saw the posting dated October 31st, and this sounds very much like one person's opinion--possibly a disgruntled former employee. I have supported this organization for a long time, and I know firsthand how Childhelp supports 250,000 children a year and been in business for over 50 years. I also know that all charities have been hit hard due to the recession, and I commend the great work of this organization for what they do in addressing a very difficult issue - child abuse.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Childhelp is nearly broke, and it is because of the greed of its management. People are being laid off, programs are being shut down, and services are not being given, but the top people in the company are still making out like bandits with huge salaries, great perks, and god only knows what else. There are better places to donate to that take care of children, this organization has killed itself with terrible management and pure greed putting money in the pockets of the top two, and taking it from those who need it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers