Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
187 Reviews
123.6684545
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 9, 2012

Just a heads up to everyone that is commenting on this thread, as of the fiscal year of 2011, ChildFund International has raised it's efficiency from 81% to 83%, and while to some cynical minded people they may view this as not enough, it actually wound up being an extra $15 million going into the programs and services. Surely it would be better if the efficience could be even higher, but donors should feel quite lucky that ChildFund does not have letter writing factories nor do they continue a false sponsorship by not telling a family that the child they have sponsored has died. There are some quite popular organizations that do those things. Just calm down, and remember if they lose more donors, less money will go to the kids.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 13, 2012

more

February 13, 2012

The CEO and staff are dedicated and have integrity. This is life changing charity with operations in 11 countries including United states of America. So is DialogueDirect, which raises money for Children International through face to face .

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 19, 2011

more

December 19, 2011

I am an agriculturist by profession but heavily involved and matured in community development, particularly in the field of social development. Currently, I work with the Cordillera Parents Federation that is a partner of ChildFund Philippines working in the Northern Provinces of the country. We are catering to the needs of the Indigenous Peoples here in the locality focusing on the fundamental rights to survival, development, participation and protection. We are very glad to have ChildFund working and enhancing partnerships with the different local non-government organizations and the mandated local government structures to augment the development efforts in our country.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 19, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 19, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I am a social worker for years now and been working with non government organizations. Nine months ago, I was employed with the Cordillera Parents' Federation, Inc. (CPFI) working with ChildFund. CPFI is located here in Baguio City covering the province of ifugao, Mountain and Baguio - Benguet. One thing that I really admire about ChilFund is the dedication and commitment on the welfare of the children. It is always them first before anyone else. It is true that some of the children and their family's life improved financially because of sponsorship but it is not all what ChildFund is all about. ChildFund and their partners are on the total family approach. They are not only concern of the child but his/her family as well and the community even. And what else more important is the promotion of the child's wholeness development and to reach his/her full potential as an individual. It's just like help a child, help himself/herself. I still remember when we had a youth coalition in one of our area and a partner agency commented on a youth on how good he is in delivering his speech and I answered, "He's one of our youth leaders." The partner said, "Ah, that is why he carries himself differently compared to other youth here." With that comment, I was filled with happiness and beamed with delight. I say I am proud to be a part of his main support and I am happy and proud to be a part of this organization who is committed enough to change the world for a better place for the children and everyone else. Blessed BE!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 16, 2011

more

December 16, 2011

The interventions of Saamasang Federation through the support of ChildFund has been very instrumental and effective in the improvement of disease prevention and control over the past years. The most significant support covered the areas of Environmental sanitation and provision of safe drinking water. In these areas, a total of 22(twenty two) communities and 8 (eight) schools benefited from environmental sanitary tools linking these Institutions and Communities with the National Environmental Agency and the Local Council enhancing regular sanitation exercises and monitoring the exercises. These activities have greatly reduced the incidence of malaria in Kombo Central by almost 35% compared to June 2009 when their three years Area Strategic plan was developed. On the provision of safe drinking water, a total of 6 (six) communities were provided with each a concrete line well fitted with a hand pump benefiting a total population of 6780 people out of which 2570 are children between the ages of 1month to 12 years old. A total of 2(two) Lower Basic Schools got pipe born water benefiting a total school enrollment of 4875 students whilst one community with a population of 1760 was provided with pipe born water. These interventions have seriously reduced the incidence of water borne diseases especially on children and pregnant mothers as observed by the Brikama health Centre. Bravo to ChildFund and all their benevolent donors and sponsors. They are relevant and transparent.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The support the communities of my Federation has received from childFund is multi dimensional cutting across all aspects of the lives of the poor. Over the past years over 30 cluster associations of about 10,000 inhabitants were supported with farm inputs in the form of fertilizers primarily to boost farm production and help in addresing hunger. The fertilizers were given as garnt to the clusters who inturn gave to their members on loans. Moat of the gropus supported have set up their own revolving funds using the repayments from the fertilizers given. Out of the funds they give micro loans to members for investment in micro enterprises. Some buy additioanl fertilizers that they give out to their mebers on loans. Out of the funds some have begun to support the eduaction and health needs of their children.In conclusion the farm input support has proven to be effective tool of poverty allevaition at the level of the grassroot communities in the KairaNyining Federation. Another livelihood venti=ures suppoted by ChildFund include horticulture throug the enhnacement of vegetable production and processing. in this regard support was gven to a number of women vegetable schemes in the form of irrigation water provision and fencing materials. The gadens helped women to grow vegetables for both consumption and sale.The incomes earned from the sale of vegetables are used to provide food, and clothing as well as for other needs of families including education and helath.Another significant achievement of ChildFund in my area is in the area of youth empowerment through skills and entreprneurship development. A skill tarining has been established where youths undergo training in variousslill disciplines such as tie dye, batik and soap production. Upon completion they are linked to the junior achievement program also funded by ChildFund where they undergo training in business management. They are further linked to the credit union of the kombo East youth and children alliance , an umbrella organistaion which is also supported by ChilFund in variety of ways where they can have access to investment credit to operate their small business for self employment.Under the JUnior Achievement program a toatl of over 120 youths have been trained and provided with capiatal to run their own companies and individual business ventures.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 20, 2011

more

August 20, 2011

My self is DK Behera, a Development Professional associated with many NGOs in the state of Orissa. I know the activities of Child Fund India ( Previously CCF) since 2003-04 as some of my NGO friends are partners and have seen their activites in the field. The various activities undertaken by the partner ageny with the support of Child Fund India is highly appreciable & exempalery. After seeing the work,one can really feel that the Child Fund has taken a sincere efforts to bring a qualitative change/ improvement in the life of the most needy and disadvanteges children , their families and community at large in an integrated and holistic manner.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have personally seen and experienced the activites of a Partner Organisation namely SOVA in the Koraput district of Orissa. They have taken initiative to address the varios issues of the tribal children and displaced families those who are affected by the Upper Kolab Dam Project

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see the Child Fund to work in different tribal pockets with new initiative and more focussed activities.

August 15, 2011

more

August 15, 2011

I am Director of Association for Stimulating Know (ASK) which is a capacity building organization working out of India and have had experience of dealing with Child Fund India and its partners. We found them to be working in the remotest of areas in the country, reaching out to the neediest of groups such as Dalit and Tribal Children in remote rural locations and helping children come out of hazardous work situations such as the bangle and glass factories of Firozabad. What we particularly like was the design of the interventions where Child Fund India could make holistic interventions in the lives of the children, their families and communities on education, health and sustainable livelihood, which makes the intervention quite inclusive in nature. The long term partnership ensures building blocks for achieving measurable results. W have noticed that Child Fund India ahs moved for activities oriented to result orientation and now also looking for financial sustainability through local fund raising. The staff of Child Fund India are professional, the leadership is visionary and at the same tome down to earth and totally incorruptible.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Yes ASk has observed the development results achieved by the projects supported by Child Fund India. They are specific, measurable, realistic and time bound (SMART).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Considering the specific subject domains being supported by Child Fund India include more professional staff with some subject matter specialization so as to to add more value to existing intervention.

August 11, 2011

more

August 11, 2011

As Education Coordinator looking after children at schools and strengthning them through co-curricular activities through child clubs . Training children on different aspects that would break there resilience and develop life skill of these tribal children in rayagada district of orrisa was my responsibility in a CFI partner NGO.The Reading Improvement Package (RIP) program was one among the success full programs of CFI .RIP has developed reading skill of hundreds of children under my supervision and monitoring during my five years association with CFI partner NGO at rayagada , orissa .
"Jagarnath saraka of std-4,whom i could not make read his book with all my effort,But after attening your RIP class for three months he is able to read his book and has become regular to school. Please give me a set of RIP cards and teach me the methodology to use it . I want all my children to be like Jagarnath saraka" Said Pradeep sahu,HM jamulalibadi UP school,Kolnara block, rayagada,orissa. this can well say about the education program of CFI

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

a partner NGO at rayagada district of orrisa where i was program coordinator education for five years

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Impart RIP in all Schools under project coverage area and advocate with deptt of education to main streem RIP in to education program for standard 2 children.

August 10, 2011

more

August 10, 2011

Sastur was one of the severely affected villages by the killer earthquake of 1993 which hit parts of Osmanabad and Latur Districts of Maharashtra .SPARSH is the Rural Hospital which was started with funds from ChildFund (formerly Christian Children's Fund)and UNDP on the land given by Government of Maharashtra and managed by PRIDE INDIA.The Rural Hospital concentrates on providing comprehensive health care services .Under one roof all the services are provided to the patients at nominal cost.This hospital was awarded as best Rural Hospital twice by the Government for the services provided to the patients. On an average 200 patients avail the benefit of the hospital daily.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I had seen many patients returning with good health after getting treatment at SPARSH hospital

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers