Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
186 Reviews
123.6881745
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
February 28, 2014

more

February 28, 2014

Have been sponsoring a boy with special needs in Dominica for over 7 years and it is a pleasure to know he is growing into a young man. CFI has made it possible for him to go to school, provide food and clothing for him through my donations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Okay first and fore most CCF is one of the most trusted organizations out thereIn FY13 ChildFund increased its efforts to serve children, thanks to the generosity of supporters. ChildFund's public support and revenue for FY13 was $252 million, up from $245 million in FY12. Supporters can give with confidence knowing that 82 percent of every dollar goes to helping children.
For the past five years, ChildFund International has maintained a 3-star rating from Charity Navigator and earned high ratings from Charities Review Council and the American Institute of Philanthropy.

And as far as the CEO making 200,000 a year first keep in mind he raised 252 million, secondly you people complaining would not be qualified to launch a campaign that can raise that much money,
and lastly if he raised 252 million that 82% of every dollar went to, and less people died of starvation and disease....who cares if he made 200,000-- for all you know he donates a bunch of his well deserved money , so get over the complaints people and trust that God is and always has done his work here.


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

0

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 22, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 22, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

In investigating child fund international I found that Anne Lynam Goddard President annual salary is over $325000.00

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 20, 2013
15 people found this review helpful

more

December 20, 2013
15 people found this review helpful

First, I need to 'fess that I don't donate to CFI, although my ex-wife and I did and I'm sure she continued after the split. This evening I was moved by very effective TV advertising to consider donating on an ongoing basis. I first wanted to see what the internet had to say about the organization. I found an organization by name of Charity Navigator whose primary function is to rate charities based on a broad base of metrics. They use collected data to compile lists, such as:
10 Most Followed Charities
10 Celebrity-Related Charities
10 Super-Sized Charities
10 Charities Expanding in a Hurry
10 Most Frequently Viewed Charities
Top 10 Charities That Earn the Highest % of Donations at Year-End
10 Consistently Low Rated Charities
10 Charities Overpaying their For-Profit Fundraisers
10 Highly-Rated Charities with Low Paid CEOs
10 Charities with the Most Consecutive 4-Star Ratings
10 Top-Notch Charities
10 Charities Routinely in the Red
10 Highly Rated Charities Relying on Private Contributions
10 of the Best Charities Everyone's Heard Of
10 Charities in Deep Financial Trouble
10 Charities Worth Watching
10 Highly Paid CEOs at Low-Rated Charities
10 Inefficient Fundraisers

I compared Child Fund Int'l to 3 other similarly oriented charities, i.e., raising money for children on an international basis. My findings were enlightening... and dissuasive. Following I have listed the charity, the CEO's salary and the rating of the charity:
Christian Relief Fund CEO $59.721 overall score 67.48
Children of the Nations CEO $60.000 overall score 64.82
Children's HopeChest CEO $65,049 overall score 62.88
ChildFund International CEO $268,242 overall score 54.28

One might wonder why the CEO of CFI makes 4 times as much as the CEO's of significantly more effective and efficient organizations. This organization routinely responds to negative comments about high executive salaries by saying that it's usual and customary for executives of like charities to earn such salaries. That really doesn't jibe with the above comparison, however. The President, Ms. Anne Goddard, and her Exec. VP, Isam Ghanim, combined are paid over $585,000 a year... enough to sponsor 20,895 children at $28 per month. If they took 50% cuts, to around $12,000 A MONTH(!), the organization could care for another 10,400 children. Do you think you could scrape by on $2,500 a WEEK? Yeah... me too. Needles to say--although I WILL say it--I'll use Charity Navigator to find another charity to effect my sponsorship. Maybe you should too?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not pay the exec's sooooo much.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

December 14, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

December 14, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

Years ago a teacher at my school asked me to translate letters from his sponsored child through Christian Children's Fund. Since they were real letters, I decided to trust the charity and about eight years ago I sponsored a little girl in Oaxaca from whom I receive a letter each and every time I send her anything. It is obvious she is a real person and I am sent photos of her with the items she buys from the money gifts I send. She also draws pictures for me and seems hungry to hear from me. I write her in Spanish because some of the translations leave out whole sentences and I want her to be able to read what I write to her just as I write it. I was very happy with our arrangement, BUT when this organization became Childfund instead of Christian Children's Fund, it suddenly because more interested in slick promotions than in the children. I agree with another reviewer that while I greatly appreciate the personal updates from my child, the expensive paper and the constant dunning for more and more money is a real turnoff. On top of this, I got an offer to send a birthday card to my child for NINE dollars through the company instead of a normal card I can buy or make myself for much less. This was a definite ripoff. I won't stop sponsoring this child because I love her, but I won't sign on again because of the new marketing practices that make me suspicious about where the money is actually going these days.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop the slick marketing and dunning and concentrate on the children the way Christian Children's Fund used to do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 21, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

July 21, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

For 75 years asking others to support. The best you can do for the children and parents is to educate them about not having children they cannot feed. If they need to have sex to give them birth control and condoms. Give the already parents seeds to grow their own food. Explain to children before having sex and producing a child they cannot feed to take birth control and wear condoms. If after 75 years of repeating what does not work and expect others to provide for them is unbelievable. Educate, till you have given them control over their own lives.

More feedback...

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I started sponsoring Merlyn from Guatemala when she was a toddler. In fact, the letters I received in the early years were written by her Mother on Merly's behalf. As she grew, the sweet letters and drawings came directly from her. This life changing experience has been so rewarding for me. When I receive a letter, drawing or picture, I feel proud that I am helping in very small way to help her grow each and every day. Every year, I send her extra money for Christmas and Birthday's so that she can buy what she wants or needs. ChildFund takes a picture of her with the items that she has purchased with her "extra" money. I can't tell you how many times I have cried looking at these pictures. There she sits with a big smile and on her lap sits a small stack of undergarments or a pair of shoes and socks. The part of the picture that makes me cry is the large box of Corn Flakes that sits next to her! It breaks my heart to think that she chose cereal over a toy! My beautiful sponsor daughter is now in high school and will celebrate her 16th birthday next month!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have sponsored a boy in Honduras for 8 years. I read so many reviews, and people cry about this or cry about that. Well I guess you can find fault in anything. My sponsorship brings joy to me every day of my life. I thank God for Childfund. I share the little bit I have with children that have so much less than me or you. Stop listening to the crybabys. Look in your heart. Do you really want to help a small child or complain about Child fund? Its up to you.. The letters I recieve from my boy are priceless. Would you like to recieve some great letters?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Last November I contacted Child Fund to ask them about the 20% fee that was going to be imposed on my Christmas gift to my sponsored child. I was told that the fee was still in place and should be modified after the first of the year. After a fund raing event I worked on locally, it reminded me that I should follow up on the issue. When I contacted Child Fund I was once again told it was being reviewed and since they are only customer service people they had no information that involved fees. How convenient. Run, don't walk away from this organization. It is so upsetting that a CEO who makes hundeds of thousands a year on our sympathy towards the less fotunate and wants to better their live, feels she deserves a piece of every one of them. WITCH! I can only hope you die from a slow painful cancer!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 2, 2012

I'm a Florida resident, and I sponsor two children through Childfund International, formerly the Christian Children's Fund. I consider my relationship with the organization to be one of the greatest t... more

November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I've been a Childfund sponsor for five years now (I started when the group was still the Christian Children's Fund). I'm actually quite surprised by some of the reviews I've seen on this website, because my experience overall with the organization has been very good. There are some things I don't like that the organization does, such as charging money to send monetary gifts to my children (I sponsor two girls in Asia). And sometimes, the offices overseas are slow to respond to my e-mails. Overall though, I'm pleased with the organization. I visited one of my sponsor children in 2010 and had a wonderful time with her. She and I have a strong bond; we write each other several times a year, and I plan to visit her again soon, and meet the other one for the first time. So overall, I would recommend sponsoring a child through Childfund. I've found it to be quite rewarding. Just know that sometimes communication isn't as efficient as you might like it to be, and that they do try to charge you for sending money to your child or little gifts that they mail you (I usually just buy gifts myself and send them to the children anyway).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 2, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I'm a Florida resident, and I sponsor two children through Childfund International, formerly the Christian Children's Fund. I consider my relationship with the organization to be one of the greatest things I've ever done. I started sponsoring my first little girl, Carmina, in 2007. When I started, Carmina was a few months shy of her 10th birthday. She's now 14 years old, and our relationship has grown deeply from our places across the world. I was privileged to meet her and her family in 2010, and it was fantastic! I love Mina very much and I'm so proud to be the sponsor in her life! I have recently began sponsoring another little girl named Syrenath in Cambodia, and I hope our bond will grow just as mine has with Mina.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers