Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
186 Reviews
123.682845
| 1 2 3 4...18 |
Write A Review
March 26, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 26, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

The problem I have with this charity is that I sought to sponsor a particular boy, Diep, in Vietnam. CFI took $28.00 from my credit card on Jan. 16, 2013. I thought everything was fine. A few weeks went by and I still hadn't received my information packet. Meanwhile, I get a letter from CFI asking me to sponsor another boy, Carlos, at a cost of $35.00 per month. After communicating with Richmond, I finally got the information packet for Diep but there was no more personal info than was online when I first decided on him. Very scanty info indeed. At some point, CFI decided to stop making the monthly withdrawals--not in Feb. nor Mar. And I never received a letter or report from Diep or a field worker. This experience plus the many negative reviews online caused me to decide to resign my sponsorship and ask for a refund of the $28.00. As of this writing, CFI has not replied to these messages

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have sponsored a boy in Honduras for 8 years. I read so many reviews, and people cry about this or cry about that. Well I guess you can find fault in anything. My sponsorship brings joy to me every day of my life. I thank God for Childfund. I share the little bit I have with children that have so much less than me or you. Stop listening to the crybabys. Look in your heart. Do you really want to help a small child or complain about Child fund? Its up to you.. The letters I recieve from my boy are priceless. Would you like to recieve some great letters?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 14, 2012
14 people found this review helpful

more

December 14, 2012
14 people found this review helpful

You know, I want you all to know, while it's great that you are donating to these nonprofits, you need to realize that they turn away many needy families in America. I am a disabled mom of 2 great girls. At this very moment I have 1/2 jar of mayonnaise, and some peanut butter in my cupboard. THAT"S IT! I know hat you are thinking..."go on welfare ( I tried and was denied), go to food banks (there is one in my area, and it gives 1 box of food every 4th saturday), contact a church (I have, I am on 3 waiting lists).I have contacted all the big charities and they all say the same thing, "We do not service your area". OK what AREA do they serve? I was working 2 jobs until I was in a terrible wreck, I now have osteomyelitis and will probably lose my leg. I was working when I wrecked, so I get workmans comp, $489 every 2 weeks. When I have $600 mortage, $100 insurance, $225 utilities....I am already over what I earn...Did you notice...my list does not even include groceries...because I do not have any money left for groceries. I know everyone has it hard sometimes, I have donated to "Feed The Children and Salv. Army for years....BUT when I need help...I have no one to help me. My kids and myself are literally STARVING IN AMERICA> If we just had enough to eat, it would be a special Christmas..it's heartbreaking when your kids want a big Christmas dinner for their "wish" list to Santa. Next time you want to donate..look around. That lady in the check-out line at the grocery store, frantically searching thru the lint and crumb covered bottom of her purse for loose change, in order to afford a half gallon of milk...is probably me...and MAY one day BE YOU! God Bless

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
April 24, 2012

I donated to ChildFund for many years, including a trust donation of $25,000. I was supporting five children. One of my supported children moved out of the area. I was not informed. The child's mo... more

November 30, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

I am a former donor. I just want whoever reviews these organizations to know that I keep looking in to see if there has been an improvement. I stopped sponsoring my five children because I felt the field offices mismanged the money for one of them (kept collecting though child left area) and my inquiry led to what I beleive to have been dissembling both at the local and the central office level.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 24, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

I donated to ChildFund for many years, including a trust donation of $25,000. I was supporting five children. One of my supported children moved out of the area. I was not informed. The child's mother wrote to thank me for the Christmas gift and told me that her daughter had moved to another island. I received contradictory explanations as to how it happened that a child left the program and CF did not know or chose not to inform me. I was first told there was a computer glitch and then that it was decided at the local level to continue to give the donation to another member of the same family. I did not find the first explanation truthful and the second indicated to me that CF was not in control of its finances. I withdrew my support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 23, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 23, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I started sponsoring a child at the beginning of the Spring and was initially concerned because it took many months to get my first letter - almost four. Because my child was located in the US on a reservation, I knew it was not taking very long for mail to arrive. Recently, however, I've started to receive a lot more letters and correspondence from him (I did have to complain once that I was not getting letters). As far as the huge assessment of 20% on monetary gifts, I just sent my sponsored child some Christmas money and paid only $3.50 so it seems they've changed their policies on that front. I have to say that now that I am getting regular letters, this is a wonderful feeling - to personally impact one person's life. I can see that internationally this would be much more challenging for a whole slew of reasons - but you can choose to send a gift within the US!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 23, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

It bothers me, for reasons I can't explain, to see little ones lacking basic necessities, especially for such small amounts of money. I will never be able to give as much as I would like, but we're lucky - we have a little money now - so I can share with people who really need it. I haven't always been in a position to be able to help in such a fashion, but things have evened out for me, financially speaking, and I've been thinking about sponsoring a child for some time now. There are a lot of different organizations out there, and I'd venture to say that many of them do the job as well as ChildFund, but I liked that there were other ways to help various communities, and ways to help individuals get started to have a better life in tangible ways, things they can do for themselves. And so I signed up to sponsor a little girl on ChildFund; her name is Jasmine, she'll be 10 in December, and she lives in Oklahoma. She and her older brother currently live in a small rural area with their parents, who are unemployed; she likes riding her bike and running track. She likes to read (especially the Barbie books) and her favorite subject at school is computer lab. It's such a small amount to sponsor a kid.

Because I agreed to sponsor a child, I've begun getting the occasional gift catalog from CF. It's both interesting and disheartening paging through it; one can do so much with nearly any amount of money, ranging from $25 for things like fruit trees or vegetable seeds or fruit seeds, to buying gardening tools, sheep, goats, pigs, rabbits, or camels, all the way up to $1,267 for a yoke of oxen and a plow. (Often, one can buy a share of the more expensive things; for example, for about 10% of the amount, in this case $127, one can buy a share of a yoke of oxen and a plow.)

One can send a bicycle for $100 (for girls who travel long distances to school in India or Sri Lanka), clean water (for $50, $100, or $200); a starter farm for $325 (each farm includes a pair of goats, a pair of chickens, seeds, and farm tools); restocking a health station or buying medicine for mothers and children in Liberia; a mattress for a family in Ethiopia or Uganda; a set of winter clothes for a kid in Vietnam; wash kits for preschoolers in Vietnam; a set of four tables and chairs for preschoolers in Sri Lanka; a mama kit, which contains supplies for a pregnant woman to use during and after delivery, and is combined with education for expectant mothers in Uganda - there are really a lot of options.

I think that each month I'm going to find something to donate, however small. This month I chose the following, but I found it hard to choose:

In India, 30 orphans and children affected by HIV/AIDS live full-time at the Namma Makkala Dhama orphanage. Food is scarce, and when a child is malnourished furing the first two years of life, the child's physical and mental growth and development can be affected for the rest of the child's life. [$120 will feed 30 orphans in India for a week.] In India, the gift of fresh milk will help the physical, cognitive, and intellectual growth and development of an undernourished child. By adding supplemental nutrition now, the milk you provide will help prevent long-term problems for the children, increasing their ability to develop into healthy, independent adults. [$64 will provide milk for one month for 30 children in India.]

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

I simply quit receiving letters from my child. The few letters that I did receive at the beginning of my sponsorship did not seem to be fully translated. I informed the staff of my lack of correspondence with my child, but it just wasn't taken care of. I was concerned that my money wasn't going where it was supposed to.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 2, 2012

I'm a Florida resident, and I sponsor two children through Childfund International, formerly the Christian Children's Fund. I consider my relationship with the organization to be one of the greatest t... more

November 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I've been a Childfund sponsor for five years now (I started when the group was still the Christian Children's Fund). I'm actually quite surprised by some of the reviews I've seen on this website, because my experience overall with the organization has been very good. There are some things I don't like that the organization does, such as charging money to send monetary gifts to my children (I sponsor two girls in Asia). And sometimes, the offices overseas are slow to respond to my e-mails. Overall though, I'm pleased with the organization. I visited one of my sponsor children in 2010 and had a wonderful time with her. She and I have a strong bond; we write each other several times a year, and I plan to visit her again soon, and meet the other one for the first time. So overall, I would recommend sponsoring a child through Childfund. I've found it to be quite rewarding. Just know that sometimes communication isn't as efficient as you might like it to be, and that they do try to charge you for sending money to your child or little gifts that they mail you (I usually just buy gifts myself and send them to the children anyway).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 2, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I'm a Florida resident, and I sponsor two children through Childfund International, formerly the Christian Children's Fund. I consider my relationship with the organization to be one of the greatest things I've ever done. I started sponsoring my first little girl, Carmina, in 2007. When I started, Carmina was a few months shy of her 10th birthday. She's now 14 years old, and our relationship has grown deeply from our places across the world. I was privileged to meet her and her family in 2010, and it was fantastic! I love Mina very much and I'm so proud to be the sponsor in her life! I have recently began sponsoring another little girl named Syrenath in Cambodia, and I hope our bond will grow just as mine has with Mina.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 30, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

My Mom and I are both increasingly dissatisfied with this organization. My Mom's current "child" has completed high school and is apparently going on for additional education. She has been given a strong background, but we feel that a cutoff age of 18 is appropriate given the number of needy children in the world! And my Mom receives age-inappropriate cards and stickers to send to her "child"and for which ChildFund International assesses a sizable processing fee. The most rewarding part of this experience for me is sending additional money for a birthday or holiday and hearing how the money has been used. One child got some basics and then the family acquired a goat each year, providing milk and income for the family. My current little boy got a bicycle so he can ride with his friends. It is very difficult to extract yourself from this organization due to the automatic reassignment of another child that accompanies your notice that your child has moved away (or whatever). I want to switch organizations but don't want to abandon my child. I may do just that, as I imagine they'll find another sponsor for my little boy.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Hi, I am quitting my sponsorship after 35 years. Last straw was that the child that I was sponsoring , a girl in India, was married and moved away right after she wrote me a letter - a very vague one with no personal information. Completely different than the letters I receive from my sponsored boys in Kenya through a Catholic organization. The girl suddenly got married and moved away right before her eighteenth birthday. The pictures I received for the last two years were not of an eighteen year old , but of a much younger child. Very interesting is that this is a second time it happened to me. I suspect that the girls get married much sooner and that the office collects the sponsorship money for as long as the child turns eighteen. I do not appreciate that the organization is not Christian. I am out of there and closing my automatic deductions.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers