Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.773585
Write A Review
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

CWLA is committed to helping our most vulnerable population-our children. For over 70 years CWLA has worked to set standards for excellence in child welfare. The people in this organization are extraordinarily committed to children. I am honored to be a board member.

September 24, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 1, 2013

CWLA has always been the leading voice in Washington for the most vulnerable children in our nation. With their new Standards of Excellence CWLA is again raising the bar for all of us to do even bett... more

September 24, 2014

I am proud of my association with CWLA. CWLA is one of the strongest advocates for children in our nation. Their answer to the question "who will speak for the children?" is that we must all do so and they provide the leadership for our collective voices.
October 1, 2013

CWLA has always been the leading voice in Washington for the most vulnerable children in our nation. With their new Standards of Excellence CWLA is again raising the bar for all of us to do even better in helping these children and their families. This is the eladership we all need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2012

My organization is long time member of CWLA and we look to them for national leadership, informatio, and advocacy on behlaf of the chidlren and famileis who most need our help. CWLA also works with both eh public and private sector oragnziations to develop the highest standards for chldl welfare programs. I have been proud to serve on the baord for the past few years and have seldom worked with such a dedicated group of volunteers and professionals to position CWLA to meet the challenges all of our not for profit agencies face in the future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

CWLA creates a framework for all of us in child welfare. It multiplies the efforts of the states' work toward bettering systems for children and youth and ensures that the myriad of agencies have a common voice at a policy and advocacy level.
September 23, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 1, 2013

As a volunteer board member for CWLA, I can attest to the focus that this organization has on improving the lives of children and families across our nation. Unlike other "trade" associations, CWLA f... more

September 23, 2014

I continue to be impressed by the work of this small but mighty organization working on behalf of children and families. The recent National Kinship Conference is a good example of the leading edge work being done by CWLA. With an unrelenting focus on best practices, insightful and effective advocacy, and speaking out for what's best for children and families, CWLA is making a real difference for children and families in America and abroad.
October 1, 2013

As a volunteer board member for CWLA, I can attest to the focus that this organization has on improving the lives of children and families across our nation. Unlike other "trade" associations, CWLA focuses on advocacy and programs that promote the best practices that get the best results for children. For example, their recently released National Blueprint pushes the fields of child welfare, education, juvenile justice, and mental health to recognize and promote a better way of serving at-risk children and families. This organization has a rich history and deserves our support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more financial resources to the organization. CWLA, like many advocacy organizations, works on a shoestring budget and under some strain to meet the many needs with very limited resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 26, 2013

As a board member of CWLA for four years and a member for over 10 years, I can attest to the dedication and commitment of this organization to advocate for the best interests of children and families in our country. CWLA's recently released "Blueprint" provides the most comprehensive guide to improving outcomes for all of our nation's children and is a great example of the leading edge work that this agency achieves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2012

I have been affiliated with four private and public child welfare agencies that have been members of CWLA over the past 12 years. During that time, CWLA has remained steadfastly at the forefront of advocating for what is best for vulnerable children, families, and communities. At this time, possibly more than ever, I believe we need to all stand together with organizations like CWLA to speak up for the children and families who need us the most.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

CWLA is dedicated to advocacy on behalf of all children. CWLA informs and educates service providers and leadership about child welfare issues. CWLA develops and disseminates valuable resources including its recent publication the National Blueprint for Excellence in Child Welfare. I recently attended CWLA's Kinship Care Conference which provided a unique opportunity for caregivers, service providers and leadership organizations to share information and strategies to improve outcomes for children.
October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

For over 90 years, CWLA has been the leading voice for our nation's most vulnerable children, youth and families. I am proud and honored to serve alongside the organization's dedicated volunteer leadership team in support of its incredible CEO and staff, as they carry on the mission of ensuring that all children and youth have the opportunity to grow and thrive in safe, healthy and nurturing environments.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure that it has a perpetual source of finance support and the resources needed to carry out its vital work of supporting its public and private members and helping shape a national agenda that prioritizes the well being of all children and families.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 20, 2012

My interest in supporting and working with CWLA is predicated upon the willingness of CWLA to work with tribal child welfare agencies and nonprofits serving Indian Country. Historically, CWLA's polici... more

October 1, 2013

CWLA has been instrumental in keeping child welfare issues on Congress' radar screen. CWLA develops and disseminates valuable resources including its recent publication the National Blueprint for Excellence in Child Welfare. As an organization, CWLA has listened to the needs of child welfare professionals and responded.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that more people knew about CWLA's resources and services to ensure better conditions for children whose paths may intersect with the nation's child welfare system.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2012

My interest in supporting and working with CWLA is predicated upon the willingness of CWLA to work with tribal child welfare agencies and nonprofits serving Indian Country. Historically, CWLA's policies and the policies of the state and federal governments were detrimental to what I believe to be the best interests of Indian children. As an organization, CWLA has listened to the needs of tribal child welfare workers and responded. In this time of very limited fiscal resources for all child welfare agencies, CWLA has kept Indian country issues on the radar for state social service providers through such activites as their annual conference and collaborations with tribal communities and organizations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 1, 2013

My organization has been a member of CWLA for almost twenty years. We joined because we saw CWLA as a powerful voice for the children and families we served who all too often had very few speaking for... more

September 30, 2014

I am a member and board member of CWLA because this is an organization that is committed to improving the lives of vulnerable children. Throughout its 95 year history, CWLA and its members have not wavered from that focus and commitment. CWLA's tireless advocacy work on behalf of better outcomes for children is exemplary.
October 1, 2013

My organization has been a member of CWLA for almost twenty years. We joined because we saw CWLA as a powerful voice for the children and families we served who all too often had very few speaking for them. Twenty years later we are still members. That is because CWLA continues to be an organization that seeks to ensure that the many systems and agencies working with children and families implement policies that promote best practices and working together in an integrated, collaborative way. As a board member I know first hand the dedicated and committed staff who work tirelessly to build the public will to ensure the safety, permanence and well being of children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2012

I first became aware of CWLA when I was a social worker in a public child and family serving organization. I remember the excitement I felt to be involved with an organization whose mission was to improve the lives of the children and families I worked with every day; to be a voice for more effective policies and improved practices. That was the mission the organization had when it was founded over 90 years ago and it remains the same today. I wish I could say that CWLA's work is done but sadly it is not and in some ways it is even more difficult in today's fiscal and political environment. This is an organization that continues to work to create a better life for all families and children and it does so against against the odds. I am proud to be associated with CWLA.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 21, 2012

I have been a member of CWLA's Mental Health Advisory Board for over 10 years and most recently as its Chairperson and member of the CWLA Board of Directors. It is an honor to inform all about the im... more

July 29, 2013

CWLA is a multi-faceted organization that provides advocacy, education, and training on behalf of children including children at risk of foster care. It's recently published National Blueprint for Excellence in Child Welfare serves a to identify how the nation can achieve the vision that all children grow up safely, in loving families and supportive communities, with everything they need to flourish—and with connections to their culture, ethnicity, race, and language. This vision requires that all children, whether
they receive child welfare services or are at risk for child abuse or neglect, grow up safely. It's publications are outstanding, helping to educate professionals, families and communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enhance its budget with support from across the nation's private donations.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 21, 2012

I have been a member of CWLA's Mental Health Advisory Board for over 10 years and most recently as its Chairperson and member of the CWLA Board of Directors. It is an honor to inform all about the importance and impact of CWLA in addressing the challenges of children and parents (biological and foster care), ensuring our Nation including private and local and State government entities understand and support CWLA. As a prior State Commissioner of Mental Health and Federal Government Director for disability, I have had the opportunity to experience the benefits from CWLA in supporting needed changes in ensuring children and families a full community life. Eileen Elias, Senior Policy Advisor, JBS International, Inc.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

CWLA is the best advocacy organization aof cildren and families in the united States. As a Board member, I am very proud of the work that this dedicated staff does for children ona daily basis. This membership organization representing agencies that serve children from all corners of America delivers information, training, and daily advocacy to its members. It deserves to receive this award.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers