Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.773585
Write A Review
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

I am very impressed with the determination and customer service provided by this agency.
While I was urgently seeking to find a qualified speaker to make a presentation at one our leadership meetings, I reached out to representatives at CWLA. It was at the eleventh hour, and I was reaching out
- though seemingly futile - as a last-ditch effort. Not only did I need someone within less than a month, I needed them to fly several miles and be willing to miss out on a very popular conference that would be occurring at the same time as our leadership meeting.

The CWLA representative was not daunted by the task at all. She jumped right on it, found a speaker who was highly qualified, a perfect fit and willing to make the commitment. There was lots of paper pushing back-n-forth in a very short time frame, but the representative never missed a beat. She responded promptly to EVERY paper request, email and phone call (no matter the hour). CWLA coordinated the logistics on their end and made my job so much easier. My agency's staff gained tremendous insight into how case managers and supervisors can leverage resources through their CWLA membership and they were taught some helpful tips about caseworker retention. We are so very grateful for CWLA's efforts! Their willingness to go above and beyond was a pleasant discovery and a real morale booster!
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

CWLA is an amazing organization with an awesome mission. I've had the opportunity to work with their staff and I can feel the passion that they approach their work with every day. They truly live the mission. I wish them much attention and recognition so they can receive a fraction of what they give every day!
October 1, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 19, 2012

In my role as President of the National Foster Parent Association, I work with various staff members from CWLA on a fairly regular basis. What a pleasure to do so! The staff at CWLA are experts in t... more

October 1, 2014

CWLA continues to provide up to date information, research, data, education, support and training to people interested in child welfare across the country. Many benefit from their public policy advocacy and rules and laws have been created or changed due to their leadership and expertise.
June 19, 2012

In my role as President of the National Foster Parent Association, I work with various staff members from CWLA on a fairly regular basis. What a pleasure to do so! The staff at CWLA are experts in their fields and their assistance with needs, concerns, training, standards, legislation and pubic policy etc is always timely and relevant. My hope is that CWLA will continue to grow and continue to provide the excellent services and supports they currently provide to so many across this great country. I firmly believe their impact on Capitol Hill is significant and I am proud to work with them to achieve excellence for all children in America.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

As a children's author, I am honored and proud to have my book published by CWLA, and to be aligned with its mission of serving the most vulnerable children in our society. Whenever I go to schools on an author's visit, I am delighted to share with students and teachers the marvelous work that this organization is doing, for surely, this mission - to bring more light into the world - is indeed at the heart of all good stories. Thank you CWLA!
October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I rely on CWLA to inform providers in the Commonwealth about what trends are happening in the nation's capital in regards to children and family services.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

We are currently working in our state to reform our child welfare system. We were very pleased to find CWLA's National Blueprint for Excellence in Child Welfare to use as a guide to bring together all of our key stakeholders as we begin this work. Julie Collins from CWLA came out to Nevada to present this work to our planning group and everyone is very excited to have this tool and such a well respected organization as a resource to begin improving our system. The CWLA is a fantastic resource for our state and our community - their willingness to lend support, advice and resources is critical to our work. They are all amazing and a fantastic group of individuals to work with!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...make them open an office in my state!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

In today's environment, organizations like CWLA are vital advocates. While there are many caring organizations out there doing good work for children, youth, and families only a few focus on using knowledge-based national standards of excellence to drive a proactive advocacy agenda national and in local communities. Ensuring that children and families are safe and stable and have the support they need to thrive is about more than the "flavor of the day". it takes sustained commitment to excellence, clarity of direction, and tools that facilitate change. CWLA has demonstrated its ability to deliver these tools throughout its 93 years. CWLA's new National Blueprint for Excellence in Child Welfare provides the base for the this work in today's environment and in the future!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

CWLA is and has always been relevant and necessary. It has provided invaluable research, data, services, and education to hundreds of nonprofit organizations that are responsible for the safety and well-being of children and their families. Throughout its over 90 years of existence, they have always demonstrated leadership in advocacy for America’s most vulnerable population - abused and neglect children. Its leadership has been consistent, effective, powerful and transformational.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012


Thank you for the opportunity to write about CWLA. I first learned of CWLA when I was a public child welfare worker many years ago. Its publications and advocacy inspired me to one day, grow enough professionally so I could work directly with them. Over the years, I have been fortunate to
enjoy that privilege in a variety of capacities - as a consultant, as a staff member and, for the past decade, as a social work professor whose school of social work is a member. Twenty years ago I served as CWLA's staff director for its National Commission on Family Foster Care, and now I am honored to serve on a new National Commission for Public Policy. Every decade, since its birth in 1920, CWLA has made significant contributions to improve services and supports for at-risk children and families. CWLA helped create the National Foster Parent Association. It has led the way to pass landmark legislation; its publications, such as the juried journal Child Welfare, and its legislative alerts are valuable to the field, and to professors like me who teach child welfare and social policy advocacy courses. For the past 20 years, CWLA has provided the field with a model of practice to recruit, assess, select, prepare and support foster and adoptive parents with its PRIDE program. PRIDE is now being used in over 30 states and in 20 countries. It is inspiring to see colleagues in other states and countries using the same excellent practice skills to support foster and adoptive parents of children who have special if not extraordinary needs. This summer, CWLA will be rolling out a new model of practice, an evidence-informed curriculum to teach child welfare workers and their supervisors how to collaborate with and support kinship caregivers (relatives caring for their younger family members.) CWLA also is working with its members and other partners across the country to upgrade standards for practice, commensurate with CWLA's original mission. We are in a "perfect storm" right now, when economic downturns and other societal changes create the need for preventions and interventions for fragile children and families, but resources don't keep pace. Who is charting the course to inspire public will and political interest to keep children protected and nurtured, families strong, and other at-risk and oppressed populations served? What about help for GLBTQ youth, or young people transitioning from foster care to safe, responsible community living? What about undocumented children in the child welfare system? Who is advocating for a child welfare workforce that can do the right thing and do things right – the first time, on time, every time? Actually, CWLA is only a brand. But the brand reflects the collective passion and fortitude of all of us as tireless advocates. CWLA's current members, staff, and board need the support of more individuals, agencies, and organizations to band together under the rubric of three critically important words: for the children.


More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

CWLA is the oldest child advocacy organization in the country. It has a proud tradition of mobilizing voices for children on local, state, and national levels, representing private, nonprofit, public, faith-based, agencies and organizations, as well as schools of social work and other newer advocacy organizations. CWLA offers an opportunity for diverse groups of individuals, agencies, and other groups to advance the continuing essential agenda to make at risk infants, children, youth, and families the centerpiece of U.S. public social policy. Whether through its publications, conferences, member network, or contact with staff, the name "CWLA" is synomous with putting children first.

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

I have been involved with CWLA for the last few years. As a leader in my community as well as an appointed representative of my organization which is one of the largest christian org's in the world. I must say that my experience with CWLA has been very educating, very informative and motivating. I have participated in conferences as well as a faith based convening rendered via CWLA. I must say that the leadership of Christine James-Brown is Stellar. I know for a fact that CWLA as well as the community at large is very privileged to have such an individual at the front line fighting for this organization and more importantly the cause. UB3

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers