Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.773585
Write A Review
October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

For over 90 years, CWLA has been the leading voice for our nation's most vulnerable children, youth and families. I am proud and honored to serve alongside the organization's dedicated volunteer leadership team in support of its incredible CEO and staff, as they carry on the mission of ensuring that all children and youth have the opportunity to grow and thrive in safe, healthy and nurturing environments.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure that it has a perpetual source of finance support and the resources needed to carry out its vital work of supporting its public and private members and helping shape a national agenda that prioritizes the well being of all children and families.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

CWLA is a powerful coalition of hundreds of private and public agencies serving vulnerable children and families since 1920. Because of their expertise, leadership and innovation on policies, programs, and practices they have helped improve the lives of millions of children in all 50 states, with a worldwide impact.


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 20, 2012

My interest in supporting and working with CWLA is predicated upon the willingness of CWLA to work with tribal child welfare agencies and nonprofits serving Indian Country. Historically, CWLA's polici... more

October 1, 2013

CWLA has been instrumental in keeping child welfare issues on Congress' radar screen. CWLA develops and disseminates valuable resources including its recent publication the National Blueprint for Excellence in Child Welfare. As an organization, CWLA has listened to the needs of child welfare professionals and responded.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that more people knew about CWLA's resources and services to ensure better conditions for children whose paths may intersect with the nation's child welfare system.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2012

My interest in supporting and working with CWLA is predicated upon the willingness of CWLA to work with tribal child welfare agencies and nonprofits serving Indian Country. Historically, CWLA's policies and the policies of the state and federal governments were detrimental to what I believe to be the best interests of Indian children. As an organization, CWLA has listened to the needs of tribal child welfare workers and responded. In this time of very limited fiscal resources for all child welfare agencies, CWLA has kept Indian country issues on the radar for state social service providers through such activites as their annual conference and collaborations with tribal communities and organizations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 21, 2012

I have been a member of CWLA's Mental Health Advisory Board for over 10 years and most recently as its Chairperson and member of the CWLA Board of Directors. It is an honor to inform all about the im... more

July 29, 2013

CWLA is a multi-faceted organization that provides advocacy, education, and training on behalf of children including children at risk of foster care. It's recently published National Blueprint for Excellence in Child Welfare serves a to identify how the nation can achieve the vision that all children grow up safely, in loving families and supportive communities, with everything they need to flourish—and with connections to their culture, ethnicity, race, and language. This vision requires that all children, whether
they receive child welfare services or are at risk for child abuse or neglect, grow up safely. It's publications are outstanding, helping to educate professionals, families and communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enhance its budget with support from across the nation's private donations.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 21, 2012

I have been a member of CWLA's Mental Health Advisory Board for over 10 years and most recently as its Chairperson and member of the CWLA Board of Directors. It is an honor to inform all about the importance and impact of CWLA in addressing the challenges of children and parents (biological and foster care), ensuring our Nation including private and local and State government entities understand and support CWLA. As a prior State Commissioner of Mental Health and Federal Government Director for disability, I have had the opportunity to experience the benefits from CWLA in supporting needed changes in ensuring children and families a full community life. Eileen Elias, Senior Policy Advisor, JBS International, Inc.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2013

more

July 26, 2013

I truly enjoy volunteering for CWLA in order to help it achieve its worthy mission. With the Federal. State, and Local government budgetary constraints, we need organizations like CWLA more than ever!! I hope you will consider donating your time and/or money to CWLA too!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

CWLA is the best advocacy organization aof cildren and families in the united States. As a Board member, I am very proud of the work that this dedicated staff does for children ona daily basis. This membership organization representing agencies that serve children from all corners of America delivers information, training, and daily advocacy to its members. It deserves to receive this award.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

CWLA is and has always been relevant and necessary. It has provided invaluable research, data, services, and education to hundreds of nonprofit organizations that are responsible for the safety and well-being of children and their families. Throughout its over 90 years of existence, they have always demonstrated leadership in advocacy for America’s most vulnerable population - abused and neglect children. Its leadership has been consistent, effective, powerful and transformational.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

I am an adoptive parent who adopted my daughter through the foster care system when she was 18 months old. She is 30 years old now and enjoying a rewarding career in the field of veterinary medicine as a veterinary nurse/technician. Thankfully, my daughter was spared the challenges of growing up in the foster care system. However, there are thousands of children who are not as fortunate.

I applaud CWLA’s historic dedication to raising awareness about the plight of thousands of children in America’s child welfare system, its advocacy efforts and its nationally recognized standards of practice. It would make a world of difference if more leaders and policymakers would lend their voice and support to CWLA’s efforts to champion major changes in child welfare policies and practices nationwide.

Despite the economic challenges, which are not only impacting CWLA, but also countless other organizations nationwide, CWLA is still a major and much needed voice calling for advocacy and actions to make the imperative needs of vulnerable children and their families a national priority!

Beverly Jackson

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

as former board member and connected supporter--I have seen consis ten affirmation that cwla is the historic spearhead as advocate and action central for all issues relating to children. i am also former foster child who knows firsthand how vital it is to have an effective advocate like cwla whose stardust sprinkles as hope to that child constituency. if constant leadership and concrete focus to mission is criterion for your nomination, cwla has earned the right to be so honored. bob danzig/ former ceo of Hearst Newspapers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 24, 2012

more

June 24, 2012

I am a visual artist. All of my artwork advocates for the well being of children. I have worked with CWLA creating some of the artwork they use for various projects. I am inspired by the devotion their staff has to improving the lives of children. I have worked with members of the graphic department and the exhibit committee. I was impressed to find that their concern of "getting it right for the children" equal that of any social worker I've ever met. That wonderful spirit of compassion has to resonate strongly from the top in order to spread so emphatically throughout the organization. I know they rely heavily upon outside support as they do give assistance to many other organizations and families and strongly urge everyone to support this invaluable organization.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers