Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.692315
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
June 21, 2012

more

June 21, 2012

CWLA remains an important voice for children, youth and families involved in the child welfare system. CWLA's focus on quality and standards of care will help the child welfare system be more effective and best meet the needs of children and youth. CWLA's recently revised edition of What Works in Child Welfare, a 548-page body of research covering what works in the field of child welfare is but one example of their consistent focus on evidence-based practices. I look forward to CWLA's growing impact on the field and invite all of our members and colleague organizations to actively engage with our policy and advocacy efforts. We are stronger together! Finally, thank you to Chris James Brown and her entire staff-they are doing an outstanding job!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

As an Alumni of the Child Welfare System I was first introduced to CWLA in 2000 as I was aging out of care and have been a partner and great supporter since then. CWLA is and will always be a part of me and many Alumni who grew up in child welfare as we reconnect as professionals in this feild. At the CWLA 2012 national conference we focused our efforts on critical issues, like: improving services and supports for older youth who are transitioning out of foster care; strengthening the child welfare workforce; and responding to abuse and related trauma in ways that allow children to safely remain with their parents or extended family when possible, and to recover from the effects of trauma.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012


Thank you for the opportunity to write about CWLA. I first learned of CWLA when I was a public child welfare worker many years ago. Its publications and advocacy inspired me to one day, grow enough professionally so I could work directly with them. Over the years, I have been fortunate to
enjoy that privilege in a variety of capacities - as a consultant, as a staff member and, for the past decade, as a social work professor whose school of social work is a member. Twenty years ago I served as CWLA's staff director for its National Commission on Family Foster Care, and now I am honored to serve on a new National Commission for Public Policy. Every decade, since its birth in 1920, CWLA has made significant contributions to improve services and supports for at-risk children and families. CWLA helped create the National Foster Parent Association. It has led the way to pass landmark legislation; its publications, such as the juried journal Child Welfare, and its legislative alerts are valuable to the field, and to professors like me who teach child welfare and social policy advocacy courses. For the past 20 years, CWLA has provided the field with a model of practice to recruit, assess, select, prepare and support foster and adoptive parents with its PRIDE program. PRIDE is now being used in over 30 states and in 20 countries. It is inspiring to see colleagues in other states and countries using the same excellent practice skills to support foster and adoptive parents of children who have special if not extraordinary needs. This summer, CWLA will be rolling out a new model of practice, an evidence-informed curriculum to teach child welfare workers and their supervisors how to collaborate with and support kinship caregivers (relatives caring for their younger family members.) CWLA also is working with its members and other partners across the country to upgrade standards for practice, commensurate with CWLA's original mission. We are in a "perfect storm" right now, when economic downturns and other societal changes create the need for preventions and interventions for fragile children and families, but resources don't keep pace. Who is charting the course to inspire public will and political interest to keep children protected and nurtured, families strong, and other at-risk and oppressed populations served? What about help for GLBTQ youth, or young people transitioning from foster care to safe, responsible community living? What about undocumented children in the child welfare system? Who is advocating for a child welfare workforce that can do the right thing and do things right – the first time, on time, every time? Actually, CWLA is only a brand. But the brand reflects the collective passion and fortitude of all of us as tireless advocates. CWLA's current members, staff, and board need the support of more individuals, agencies, and organizations to band together under the rubric of three critically important words: for the children.


More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

CWLA is the oldest child advocacy organization in the country. It has a proud tradition of mobilizing voices for children on local, state, and national levels, representing private, nonprofit, public, faith-based, agencies and organizations, as well as schools of social work and other newer advocacy organizations. CWLA offers an opportunity for diverse groups of individuals, agencies, and other groups to advance the continuing essential agenda to make at risk infants, children, youth, and families the centerpiece of U.S. public social policy. Whether through its publications, conferences, member network, or contact with staff, the name "CWLA" is synomous with putting children first.

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

As the Executive Director of a social and human services agency meeting the needs of vulnerable children and families, our organization is a proud and long-time member of CWLA. CWLA is the nation's oldest membership based child welfare organization and, for over 90 years, has been a consistent, reliable and powerful voice for our nation's voiceless - vulnerable children, youth and families. As a board member of CWLA, I have had the privilege and opportunity to see first hand the amazing advocacy and lobbying efforts of this much needed and invaluable organization. In fact, due to CWLA's leadership and ability to effectively influence policy makers, our nation has made significant progress in adopting legislation that helps to ensure that the services and supports that states and municipalities need to protect children and help struggling families. CWLA works tirelessly to protect children from abuse and neglect, help them heal both physically and emotionally from the harm they have suffered, and help build hope for their futures - whether it be with their birth family or new adoptive families, or for youth who are aging out of foster care and entering into adulthood. CWLA is also the leading authority on research for high quality, evidence-based best practices in child welfare and sets vitally important standards to guide public and private agencies serving children and families. As a not for profit, CWLA depends upon generous financial support from donors so that it can continue to provide the strong advocacy needed to safeguard children and ensure that agencies serving them have the resources they need to ensure successful outcomes for our country's kids. Please support CWLA!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

I've been involved with CWLA for over twenty-five years, most recently as a Board member and I am very proud of the extraordinary advocacy that the organization consistently provides for the most vulnerable children, youth and families of this country. Like no other organization, CWLA approaches its advocacy not from a provider's perspective but rather from what is indicated by best practice. Strengthened by its members committmet to quality care it allows CWLA to raise a voice that no one can disregard. This kind of unwavering commitment to the most vulnerbale children illicits extraordinary support by its members.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

CWLA is the only respected advocate for our nation's children, especially for those children who are at risk. While there may be other agencies devoted to supporting organizations which provide child welfare agencies or accredited those agencies there is no other which speaks on behalf of children's issues with such commitment and passion. Without CWLA's voice on the hill in Washington or in our state houses, the issues challenging our children would be lost in the din of competing issues. CWLA's voice is clear, well research and balanced.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

CWLA is a national voice for vulnerable children and families. CWLA helps to educate the public and our leaders about what it takes to strengthen children and their families. This is a difficult time for children and families (especially the most vulnerable ones served by members of CWLA). We need CWLA now more than ever.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

I joined the Board of CWLA because I had been a foster parent for 12 years and wanted to represent that demographic on the Board. What I discovered was an organization, staff and Board passionate about improving the lives of children and families, particularly those in the most need. It was a revelation to see such commitment, as well as strong advocacy and programs on such a small budget. Even as CWLA had to lay off staff, the remaining staffers redoubled their efforts to keep serving the needs of children. I am so honored to be on the Board with a stellar group of people who are devoting their lives to child welfare. I can unequivocally state that children in the US are much better off because CWLA exists.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

I have been involved with CWLA for the last few years. As a leader in my community as well as an appointed representative of my organization which is one of the largest christian org's in the world. I must say that my experience with CWLA has been very educating, very informative and motivating. I have participated in conferences as well as a faith based convening rendered via CWLA. I must say that the leadership of Christine James-Brown is Stellar. I know for a fact that CWLA as well as the community at large is very privileged to have such an individual at the front line fighting for this organization and more importantly the cause. UB3

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

I think it's great that CWLA works to protect children from abuse and neglect, helping them to heal both physically and emotionally from the harm they have suffered. Children are our future and CWLA is working to help ensure that for some of America's most vulnerable children, it's a bright one. What a great organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers