Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.692315
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 1, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 20, 2012

I first became aware of CWLA when I was a social worker in a public child and family serving organization. I remember the excitement I felt to be involved with an organization whose mission was to im... more

October 1, 2013

My organization has been a member of CWLA for almost twenty years. We joined because we saw CWLA as a powerful voice for the children and families we served who all too often had very few speaking for them. Twenty years later we are still members. That is because CWLA continues to be an organization that seeks to ensure that the many systems and agencies working with children and families implement policies that promote best practices and working together in an integrated, collaborative way. As a board member I know first hand the dedicated and committed staff who work tirelessly to build the public will to ensure the safety, permanence and well being of children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2012

I first became aware of CWLA when I was a social worker in a public child and family serving organization. I remember the excitement I felt to be involved with an organization whose mission was to improve the lives of the children and families I worked with every day; to be a voice for more effective policies and improved practices. That was the mission the organization had when it was founded over 90 years ago and it remains the same today. I wish I could say that CWLA's work is done but sadly it is not and in some ways it is even more difficult in today's fiscal and political environment. This is an organization that continues to work to create a better life for all families and children and it does so against against the odds. I am proud to be associated with CWLA.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 26, 2013

As a board member of CWLA for four years and a member for over 10 years, I can attest to the dedication and commitment of this organization to advocate for the best interests of children and families ... more

October 1, 2013

As a volunteer board member for CWLA, I can attest to the focus that this organization has on improving the lives of children and families across our nation. Unlike other "trade" associations, CWLA focuses on advocacy and programs that promote the best practices that get the best results for children. For example, their recently released National Blueprint pushes the fields of child welfare, education, juvenile justice, and mental health to recognize and promote a better way of serving at-risk children and families. This organization has a rich history and deserves our support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more financial resources to the organization. CWLA, like many advocacy organizations, works on a shoestring budget and under some strain to meet the many needs with very limited resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 26, 2013

As a board member of CWLA for four years and a member for over 10 years, I can attest to the dedication and commitment of this organization to advocate for the best interests of children and families in our country. CWLA's recently released "Blueprint" provides the most comprehensive guide to improving outcomes for all of our nation's children and is a great example of the leading edge work that this agency achieves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2012

I have been affiliated with four private and public child welfare agencies that have been members of CWLA over the past 12 years. During that time, CWLA has remained steadfastly at the forefront of advocating for what is best for vulnerable children, families, and communities. At this time, possibly more than ever, I believe we need to all stand together with organizations like CWLA to speak up for the children and families who need us the most.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 21, 2012

I have been a member of CWLA's Mental Health Advisory Board for over 10 years and most recently as its Chairperson and member of the CWLA Board of Directors. It is an honor to inform all about the im... more

July 29, 2013

CWLA is a multi-faceted organization that provides advocacy, education, and training on behalf of children including children at risk of foster care. It's recently published National Blueprint for Excellence in Child Welfare serves a to identify how the nation can achieve the vision that all children grow up safely, in loving families and supportive communities, with everything they need to flourish—and with connections to their culture, ethnicity, race, and language. This vision requires that all children, whether
they receive child welfare services or are at risk for child abuse or neglect, grow up safely. It's publications are outstanding, helping to educate professionals, families and communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enhance its budget with support from across the nation's private donations.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 21, 2012

I have been a member of CWLA's Mental Health Advisory Board for over 10 years and most recently as its Chairperson and member of the CWLA Board of Directors. It is an honor to inform all about the importance and impact of CWLA in addressing the challenges of children and parents (biological and foster care), ensuring our Nation including private and local and State government entities understand and support CWLA. As a prior State Commissioner of Mental Health and Federal Government Director for disability, I have had the opportunity to experience the benefits from CWLA in supporting needed changes in ensuring children and families a full community life. Eileen Elias, Senior Policy Advisor, JBS International, Inc.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2013

more

July 26, 2013

I truly enjoy volunteering for CWLA in order to help it achieve its worthy mission. With the Federal. State, and Local government budgetary constraints, we need organizations like CWLA more than ever!! I hope you will consider donating your time and/or money to CWLA too!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

CWLA is the best advocacy organization aof cildren and families in the united States. As a Board member, I am very proud of the work that this dedicated staff does for children ona daily basis. This membership organization representing agencies that serve children from all corners of America delivers information, training, and daily advocacy to its members. It deserves to receive this award.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

CWLA is and has always been relevant and necessary. It has provided invaluable research, data, services, and education to hundreds of nonprofit organizations that are responsible for the safety and well-being of children and their families. Throughout its over 90 years of existence, they have always demonstrated leadership in advocacy for America’s most vulnerable population - abused and neglect children. Its leadership has been consistent, effective, powerful and transformational.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

I am an adoptive parent who adopted my daughter through the foster care system when she was 18 months old. She is 30 years old now and enjoying a rewarding career in the field of veterinary medicine as a veterinary nurse/technician. Thankfully, my daughter was spared the challenges of growing up in the foster care system. However, there are thousands of children who are not as fortunate.

I applaud CWLA’s historic dedication to raising awareness about the plight of thousands of children in America’s child welfare system, its advocacy efforts and its nationally recognized standards of practice. It would make a world of difference if more leaders and policymakers would lend their voice and support to CWLA’s efforts to champion major changes in child welfare policies and practices nationwide.

Despite the economic challenges, which are not only impacting CWLA, but also countless other organizations nationwide, CWLA is still a major and much needed voice calling for advocacy and actions to make the imperative needs of vulnerable children and their families a national priority!

Beverly Jackson

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

as former board member and connected supporter--I have seen consis ten affirmation that cwla is the historic spearhead as advocate and action central for all issues relating to children. i am also former foster child who knows firsthand how vital it is to have an effective advocate like cwla whose stardust sprinkles as hope to that child constituency. if constant leadership and concrete focus to mission is criterion for your nomination, cwla has earned the right to be so honored. bob danzig/ former ceo of Hearst Newspapers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 24, 2012

more

June 24, 2012

As a board member, I have come to judge organizations by the integrity and commitment of their leadership. CWLA has a President, Christine James-Brown, who is the embodiment of those characteristics. This organization is critical to protecting the needs of all children and parents. CWLA does a fantastic job keeping us informed and prepared to tackle the facing children in our society. Thank You Chris and keep up the great work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 24, 2012

more

June 24, 2012

I am a visual artist. All of my artwork advocates for the well being of children. I have worked with CWLA creating some of the artwork they use for various projects. I am inspired by the devotion their staff has to improving the lives of children. I have worked with members of the graphic department and the exhibit committee. I was impressed to find that their concern of "getting it right for the children" equal that of any social worker I've ever met. That wonderful spirit of compassion has to resonate strongly from the top in order to spread so emphatically throughout the organization. I know they rely heavily upon outside support as they do give assistance to many other organizations and families and strongly urge everyone to support this invaluable organization.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers