Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.773585
Write A Review
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

CWLA is an exceptional organization, serving some of the most vulnerable children in our country. Their breadth of knowledge and depth of expertise is unparalleled in the industry.

I'm particularly fond of The Children's Memorial Flag Campaign. I have watched with interest every year
and am proud to see such tremendous engagement nationwide. It's not an easy topic to stomach, but such an important issue that needs to be eradicated.

September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

CWLA creates a framework for all of us in child welfare. It multiplies the efforts of the states' work toward bettering systems for children and youth and ensures that the myriad of agencies have a common voice at a policy and advocacy level.
September 23, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 1, 2013

As a volunteer board member for CWLA, I can attest to the focus that this organization has on improving the lives of children and families across our nation. Unlike other "trade" associations, CWLA f... more

September 23, 2014

I continue to be impressed by the work of this small but mighty organization working on behalf of children and families. The recent National Kinship Conference is a good example of the leading edge work being done by CWLA. With an unrelenting focus on best practices, insightful and effective advocacy, and speaking out for what's best for children and families, CWLA is making a real difference for children and families in America and abroad.
October 1, 2013

As a volunteer board member for CWLA, I can attest to the focus that this organization has on improving the lives of children and families across our nation. Unlike other "trade" associations, CWLA focuses on advocacy and programs that promote the best practices that get the best results for children. For example, their recently released National Blueprint pushes the fields of child welfare, education, juvenile justice, and mental health to recognize and promote a better way of serving at-risk children and families. This organization has a rich history and deserves our support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more financial resources to the organization. CWLA, like many advocacy organizations, works on a shoestring budget and under some strain to meet the many needs with very limited resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 26, 2013

As a board member of CWLA for four years and a member for over 10 years, I can attest to the dedication and commitment of this organization to advocate for the best interests of children and families in our country. CWLA's recently released "Blueprint" provides the most comprehensive guide to improving outcomes for all of our nation's children and is a great example of the leading edge work that this agency achieves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2012

I have been affiliated with four private and public child welfare agencies that have been members of CWLA over the past 12 years. During that time, CWLA has remained steadfastly at the forefront of advocating for what is best for vulnerable children, families, and communities. At this time, possibly more than ever, I believe we need to all stand together with organizations like CWLA to speak up for the children and families who need us the most.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

CWLA is dedicated to advocacy on behalf of all children. CWLA informs and educates service providers and leadership about child welfare issues. CWLA develops and disseminates valuable resources including its recent publication the National Blueprint for Excellence in Child Welfare. I recently attended CWLA's Kinship Care Conference which provided a unique opportunity for caregivers, service providers and leadership organizations to share information and strategies to improve outcomes for children.
October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I rely on CWLA to inform providers in the Commonwealth about what trends are happening in the nation's capital in regards to children and family services.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

As past President of the Board of the Child Welfare League of America, I can attest to its importance to all of the field of Child Welfare. It is said that if the League did not exist, we would have to create it. It is the voice in Washington on Capital Hill of all member agencies in the nation serving the neediest children in our country. It is their knowledge and expertise plus the input from their member agencies which greatly influences legislation affecting our children. It is the League which writes and publishes the standards of service which agencies use as their guide to delivering the highest quality of service to the children they serve. It is a convener of service providers so that they can learn from each other about best practices. It is a national voice on the issues facing this disenfranchised population. I have been proud to be a volunteer with the Child Welfare League of America and we should be grateful they exist as a voice for our children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think the League is on an excellent path - using a committed membership of quality child welfare agencies to influence and inform our nation of the complexities and answers to these tough questions and also to help the field serve our children the best way possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

We are currently working in our state to reform our child welfare system. We were very pleased to find CWLA's National Blueprint for Excellence in Child Welfare to use as a guide to bring together all of our key stakeholders as we begin this work. Julie Collins from CWLA came out to Nevada to present this work to our planning group and everyone is very excited to have this tool and such a well respected organization as a resource to begin improving our system. The CWLA is a fantastic resource for our state and our community - their willingness to lend support, advice and resources is critical to our work. They are all amazing and a fantastic group of individuals to work with!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...make them open an office in my state!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The City of Richmond, Virginia, contracted with the CWLA to review child welfare practices in our local social services department. CWLA’s analysis, expertise, and written report served as a useful blueprint for improvements. CWLA staff were personable and professional. Their staff consulted with us regularly and provided valuable on-site support and guidance to department staff. They were truly a pleasure to work with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

This organization has always been the "go to" resource for all things child welfare. The wealth of referral information and resources is unparalleled. Their annual conferences have historically featured the most cutting edge and relevant experts and information in the field. Their recognition of targeting agencies and professionals outside of the child welfare system, in order to connect ALL the systems that touch vulnerable children, is both brilliant and critical.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Target funds for a full time fund developer so that they would have enough cash flow to expand their services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

In today's environment, organizations like CWLA are vital advocates. While there are many caring organizations out there doing good work for children, youth, and families only a few focus on using knowledge-based national standards of excellence to drive a proactive advocacy agenda national and in local communities. Ensuring that children and families are safe and stable and have the support they need to thrive is about more than the "flavor of the day". it takes sustained commitment to excellence, clarity of direction, and tools that facilitate change. CWLA has demonstrated its ability to deliver these tools throughout its 93 years. CWLA's new National Blueprint for Excellence in Child Welfare provides the base for the this work in today's environment and in the future!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers