Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
94 Reviews
1234.574475
Write A Review
July 30, 2013

more

July 30, 2013

I participated in the Introduction to Traditional Medicine in India program through CFHI. Based in the north of India, we spent time in two different cities and also in a small village. This trip was absolutely INCREDIBLE. CFHI does a wonderful job providing the perfect amount of structure while also leaving freedom to explore a new place and really tailor the experience to fit personal expectations and goals. The doctors and homestays were all enthusiastic and open to developing lasting relationships, which really made the trip. I learned beyond what I ever would have expected about the integration of western and traditional medicine, and I believe that CFHI is the gold standard of what an NGO should seek to achieve. Their programs are community-based, instill a culturally sensitive and comprehensive understanding of global health issues, and provide quality care and opportunities for service-learning through collaboration without imposition. I would highly, highly recommend CFHI to anyone seeking to broaden their understanding of public health concerns around the world!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

To be aware of before embarking: Do not come in with the expectation of providing some huge service the people you're working with, or getting lots of clinical experience. I did A LOT of observing, listening, and learning with only a little bit of doing. In my opinion, this is best way to gain a deep and culturally relative understanding of global health issues, but if your expectations and goals are different you could be disappointed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2013

more

July 23, 2013

I had a WONDERFUL experience through CFHI in the Amazon Community and Indigenous Health Program. Through this program, I had the opportunity to volunteer in hospitals throughout urban, rural, and indigenous areas of Ecuador. I met and worked next to a range of different physicians who all took their time to explain different illnesses and treatment options to me.
During my second week, my CFHI group hiked 7 hours in to the Amazon jungle to live with the Shuar community. It was one of the best experiences of my life. They taught us how to cook, hunt, and use medicinal plants. I became close friends with the Shuar leaders and their children. A few weeks later we had the opportunity to volunteer at a small community clinic in Pituriska (the closest town to the Shuar). Everyone in the community had relatives in the Shuar and spoke the native language. We had the opportunity to visit nearby homes and schools to deliver vaccines and do new-born check-ups. It was a wonderful way to get out into the community and learn about how local families live.
I learned a lot through this experience and wouldn't trade it for the world. I know now that I want to become a primary care physician that works in low income areas. I also hope to continue providing medical aid abroad. We shadowed American missionary physicians for one week and saw the difference they made in the lives of their patients. Ecuadorians traveled hours to be seen by these doctors. I hope one day to have the same impact as these physicians.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

spend more time living with different Shuar communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2013

more

July 23, 2013

I participated in the CFHI Public Health and Community Medicine program based out of New Delhi, India. This was a four week program that took us to various different government and non-government programs involved in public health work. It was a challenging and demanding exposure to the problems that revolve around public health. However, it is equally rewarding and eye-opening. Through this first hand exposure to the people working out in the field, and to those that they serve, I was able to better understand the causes of these problems and routes for solutions to them, though routes that require a lot of work. The key thing is to go into it with an open mind and jump right in since New Delhi can be a jolt in and of itself, on top of the things you see and learn about in the program. That being said, the program gives you exposure to public health that I believe would be rare to obtain elsewhere and the local coordinators are very helpful and attentive to your needs and they play a huge role in making you have the best time possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The one thing I would change is better preparing us for what we will be doing each day so as to get more out of every experience. Additionally, it would have been helpful for me, as a medical student, to get some educational information on the grander scheme of public health and the role that a future physician can play within that setting so that I could have a better idea of how to tailor my goals as my career progresses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 21, 2013

more

July 21, 2013

I participated in the HIV/AIDS healthcare in Durban, South Africa program. I was able to learn a great deal about HIV/AIDS through the community and public health venues. The greatest incidence of HIV/AIDS occurs in Durban therefore it is essential in learning more about this topic.

Before this trip my knowledge of HIV/AIDS existed in articles on global health forums and public health books. Now I can say I’ve been here in the thick of it. Through spending time in clinics, hospitals, staff, and public health leaders I’ve come back with so much more knowledge. I got to do this while living with a wonderful host mom and brothers who taught me the Zulu culture. I ate traditional food with my hands, spent time with HIV patients of all ages, saw the good a health system can do and the bad effects that an illness can have on a society. I would like to thank everyone for their support in getting me to this CFHI experience. I’m sad to be leaving already but glad to be getting home to share my experience and hopefully create awareness of HIV/AIDS and the importance of global public health.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Restructure the organization at this site and update the program book. The CFHI team in California are great but the team it seems there's some disconnect with the team in Durban.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

Thanks to a scholarship from CFHI, I was able to realize my dreams of travelling abroad and gaining first-hand experience living and promoting sexual health in the beautiful nation of Ecuador. From May-June 2013, I volunteered in CFHI's Sexual Health as a Human Right program.

While in the
program, I worked with Copprende, a non-profit organization that provides sexual and reproductive health education to the public. During my time at Copprende I learned about the organization while assisting with presentations and community health fairs. My culminating project was to propose a new sexual health theme to diversify the foundation's efforts in community outreach and sexual health education.

In four weeks of cultural immersion, I learned much more than I could ever learn in a classroom setting. I chose this program because I am interested in researching the factors that impact teen pregnancy and contraceptive use in the Latino community, both inside and outside of the US. Latinos in Ecuador and America are different in many ways, but there is much to learn from their shared beliefs and habits that come from having a similar background.

Cultural immersion is a great way to shed light on the similarities and differences that influence a culture. Thanks to Child Family Health International and Copprende I have a broader conception of research that could hopefully improve the sexual education and outreach efforts of organizations interesting in improving the health and social status of the Latino community.


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I participated in two programs with CFHI; Intensive Beginners Spanish and Amazonian Community & Indigenous Health. I could write extensively about both programs, however I was much more impacted by my time spent in the Amazon. During this program I spent a little over three weeks in a town (Puyo) that lies just on the outskirts of the Amazon jungle. Two of my weeks were spent in and around the town while the third week was spent visiting an indigenous tribe within the Amazon. During my time in Puyo I shadowed physicians at the well known Voz Andes clinic where I was able to see a full spectrum of health cases. Some patients were locals who simply needed standard care while others traveled more than a day to receive treatment. My second week in Puyo was spent on the public health trail where I followed a Ministry of Public Health employee door to door in checking for mosquitoes in an effort to eliminate dengue. Finally, my week in the jungle was probably my most memorable time. The route to get there started with an hour bus ride to an outpost clinic followed by a four hour hike along a muddy trail that was impassable by anything but foot. The hike was beautiful in addition to exhausting. However, the effort was worth it as I was welcomed by the local tribe with open arms for the duration of my four day stay. During this time I was invited to be part of several traditional rituals and songs. Additionally, one day was spent going over the local flora to learn what plants were consumed and for what purposes; medical or otherwise.

Simply put, my trip into the Amazon was full of breadth both medically and culturally. It couldn't have been more spot on.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be more clear about what participants will be doing on a day-to-day basis before they sign up. My time in Quito was not nearly as impactful if only because I didn't sign up for the right clinic rotations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2013

more

May 29, 2013

The program I participated in within CFHI was called "Sexual Health as a Human Right: Ecuador's Unique Model". As a person that studied business and minored in health, it was a great way for me to experience the administrative aspects of a health initiative on an international level. I had the opportunity of working with Copprende, an NGO in Quito, Ecuador. It was a great way for me to see how an NGO as well as health facilities operate differently than in the USA. It was really intriguing to learn how sexual and reproductive health was viewed in Ecuador. It was great opportunity to compare and contrast. I learned a great deal and it increased my cultural sensitivity on the subject.

The first couple of days were spent learning about the organization and about the larger organization that they are a part of called Prosalud Inter Americana. The majority of my days were spent traveling to universities, police or military schools, and health facilities distributing brochures. Sometimes it was assisting in the facilitation of a presentation/charla. On other days, I spent time in the office working on my contribution. It was interesting to see the reaction of others about the topics discussed to them during our outreach.

I had wonderful Spanish teachers and everyone noticed my improvement. The teachers were always patient and very helpful. I wouldn't have learned so much without them. I also lived with a great host family who were always interested in what I had to say. This particular program, Sexual Health as a Human Right, is a great program especially for those seeking a non-clinical experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

My time with CFHI was incredible. I learned so much and had tons of fun along the way. The directors, both local and back in the states, are very helpful and happy to answer any question or help with any concerns. The medical rotations showed me so may different sides of medicine, from the cultural aspects to the technical. From Spanish lessons to the homestays, the program includes everything one could want when volunteering abroad. CFHI has affirmed my desire to work in medicine, but more than that I now feel like I have become much more of a global citizen.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None! It's great!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 13, 2013

more

May 13, 2013

It was one of the best rotations of my medical school career. Getting the opportunity to perform a number of procedures while also seeing what healthcare challenges another culture faced allowed me to develop tremendously as a doctor and person in the beginning stages of my career. As a group we got a better understanding of why diseases like TB and HIV are so prevalent because Avril Whate spent an extensive amount of time speaking with us about the decades of healthcare neglect during apartheid.
I can't stress enough how welcoming Avril and Marion Williams were to our group. They did an amazing job teaching us about the culture of Cape Town and the complex history of its people. Such a great 4 weeks and I would highly recommend this rotation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 12, 2013

more

May 12, 2013

Had a great 4 weeks here. Could not have asked for better experience. I was very impressed by the organization from our local coordinators Marion and Avril. Within hours of stepping off the plane we had a meeting with both if them to explain the ins and outs of Cape Town: how to be safe, what to expect in the hospitals, what to expect in our home stays, things to do in Cape Town. It was informative, fun, and a reassuring way to let us know they would always be there. Because of these two, there were never any surprises and I knew that if an issue did come about there would already be a plan in place to fix it.

I have done multiple trips abroad throughout undergrad with many different organization programs. Of all of the local coordinators I worked with, Marion and Avril were the only two that were constantly visible and in constant contact with the group. They didn't just show up when there was an issue, but instead would meet us for dinners and festivals and whatever else was going on in Cape Town that they thought we would enjoy. My amazing experience with CHFI was almost entirely due to these two individuals. I will definitely be recommending this program to other medical students.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers