Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.583335
Write A Review
May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

When I decided to travel abroad to expand my cultural competency and medical experience, I was very apprehensive about traveling to Latin America. With my limited, OK zero, Spanish education, I was worried I would not be able to fully participate in the culture and clinical rotations. However, after my first two weeks in the Intensive Immersion Program offered in Quito, I feel exponentially more prepared to take advantage of my upcoming clinical experiences. After taking 32 hours of Spanish classes in my first week, I was able to participate more and more in dinner discussions each day. I was also able to haggle pretty effectively at the indigenous market on our trip to Otavala during my first weekend. The classes (my teacher Juan Carlos is AMAZING by the way) focused not only on learning the language, but also on medically specific Spanish and cultural differences to expect in clinic.
In my second week, I volunteered in a local high school. The staff and students and Humbold were very helpful and welcoming, although I did receive some well deserved jeers when the butchering of my Spanish go atrocious. Being forced to communicate only in Spanish without the crutch of an English speaker in many of the classes greatly expedited the recall of my previous Spanish lessons, especially when I tried to teach a physics class. Additionally, the opportunity to teach English classes gave me the chance to review the basic Spanish I was trying to learn. One of my favorite times was hanging out with a 13 year old practicing our pronunciations and making fun of each other’s struggles, him with the “th” sound and me with rolling my r’s. The kid was also a natural at catching an American football.
Although I do feel way more prepared for clinic that is about to start, I do think the Intensive Immersion Program is best suited for the first month of a two-month program. This way you get to spend six weeks in clinics versus a very limited two weeks in a one-month program. So far, my trip has gone better then I expected. After no previous Spanish exposure I can actually communicate, although probably equivalent to a 5 year old, and enjoy this beautiful country. Everyone has been amazing, from my host mom to my Spanish teachers, to the students I had the joy of hanging out and practicing with. I am super excited to start clinical rotations and am so happy with the program choice I made. I think it was tailor made for me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 31, 2012

more

March 31, 2012

I had the fortune of travelling to Ecuador in February 2012 in completion of a month-long program called Urban and Rural Comparative Health. Overall, the experience was incredible and I learned a lot about how the nation’s healthcare system operates. I started in Quito and was able to work in a number of Ecuador’s public institutions, including the Pediatrics ward and Obstetrics ER at a major urban hospital. Two weeks later, I traveled to Chone, a modestly sized town, in the interior of the country, though much closer to the coast. Although the way medicine was practiced was different, major themes permeated throughout the experience as a whole.
Although learning about another country’s healthcare system was both interesting and eye-opening, I also had an amazing time interacting with the other volunteers and Ecuadorians we came in contact with. The homestays in both locations were awesome and gave me all the opportunity in the world to practice my Spanish, which I hope to continue using during my medical training in the U.S. I had the chance to appreciate Ecuadorian culture by partaking in it. For instance, I was in the country during their Carnaval—corresponding to our Fat Tuesday—which is a national holiday there.
All in all, I would recommend doing this program to any health professional student who’s interested in gaining clinical experience in diverse healthcare environments, improving his or her Spanish and having truly rewarding cultural exchanges.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 27, 2012

more

March 27, 2012

In February 2012 (during my fourth year in medical school), I participated in a program through Child Family Health International called “Health Care Challenges in South Africa.” The program was based in the Cape Flats area just east of the southern suburbs of Cape Town, Western Cape province. My clinical site was G.F. Jooste Hospital, which is located in the township of Manenberg. I spent the four-week period in the Casualty (Emergency) Department, where I assessed and treated adult patients (and some adolescent trauma patients). Other rotations available at Jooste include Orthopedics (OR and clinic), Infectious Diseases clinic, HIV Testing and Counseling, and Physiotherapy.

The South African health care system is also faced with major “brain drain” due to physicians and other skilled professionals leaving in droves for places like the UK, Australia, Canada, and the US where salaries (and standards of living) are substantially higher. One of the major issues I encountered at Jooste was the lack of competent nurses. Physicians and medical students, therefore, are involved in nearly every aspect of patient care from phlebotomy, starting IV drips, and imaging to transporting patients and delivering specimens to the lab. While there, I became proficient at reading EKGs, starting IVs, and performing LPs. I even learned how to diagnose disseminated TB with a bedside ultrasound (obviously a skill more useful in SA than in the US). I felt more engaged with my patients there than I ever have during medical school, simply because I was involved with every aspect of their care. I also honed my clinical exam skills, as clinicians there must rely more on clinical assessment, given the limited resources available for imaging and specialized testing.

I would recommend this rotation to anyone who wants to experience first-hand how a health care system with limited resources (both monetary and personnel) manages to provide quality healthcare to a large proportion of the population, even in the setting of a major infectious disease burden.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The Health Care Challenges in South Africa program

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

This program would be greatly improved if there were more clinical rotations/hospitals available to students. With 5 CFHI volunteers in one hospital, we sometimes found that there wasn't enough to do, especially for pre-med students who lack the clinical skills to function independently in the ER.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

The volunteer experience was incredible. I met a lot of really smart, fun people. The University of Cape Town medical students are outstanding clinically and are really friendly and helpful. I learned a lot of skills that I wouldn't otherwise learn in my US med school, because students aren't given as many opportunities to do procedures in the US.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

By the end of the experience, I felt a very deep connection with South Africa and the people who live there. I hope to return many times throughout my career and hopefully learn new things each time I go.

January 22, 2012

more

January 22, 2012

For the first time in my life I spent Christmas and New Year away from my family but to be completely sincere I felt right at home. This past December I was fortunate enough to participate in CFHI's amazing Community Based Care and Tropical Medicine Program in beautiful Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca, Mexico. From the second I arrived my until the second I left, my host family, friends, professors, and doctors all treated me with kindness and respect. I learned a tremendous amount of information about tropical medicine such as malaria, dengue, and chaga but I also learned a lot about chronic conditions like diabetes and hypertension. As I shadowed the nurturing doctors around the Puerto Escondido area I would undoubtedly learn about a variety of common and uncommon patient needs. As a pre-med, I salivate over getting this kind of exposure and knowledge and being submerged in this environments created a unique and powerful experience that the internet has yet to match. You can read as many books as you want or talk to people for hours about their experiences but until you live it and make that human connection you'll never fully understand. Connecting with the humble people of Puerto and earning respect from patients and peer created an extremely rewarding and fulfilling experience. CFHI really outdid themselves as they have thought of everything. First, as soon as I was accepted into the program they constantly emailed me guiding me through all the requirements that I had yet to fulfill (like my own personal checklist). Not only was it simple to submit the application (as I never ran into any glitches) but the scholarship I received was really what sealed the deal for me. I'm very grateful and appreciative to have received it, without it I wouldn't have gone. They arranged for someone to pick me up from the airport to take me to my local coordinators home then to my host's house. From the time I was picked up I was shown around or shown how to get around which if you know how to take a taxi you'll be fine (and don't worry a taxi ride costs about 50 cents). Whoever I was with whether I was at home, school, clinic, or restaurant all I had to do was ask a question and I was always kindly answered or shown how things worked down their. In short, I was taken care of just like my worrisome mother wanted. A regular work day (Monday through Friday) started with breakfast with my family and a short walk to catch a taxi that was going towards my clinic site. After a full day of enriching shadowing it was back to Puerto for Spanish class (conversational and gramatical). Topics were almost always medically related to help me communicate with patients as best as possible. I grew up speaking Spanish but these classes still benefited me greatly. My professors were friendly and fun to hang with. Fun fact: my language school also doubled as a surfing academy so not only did I improve my Spanish I also picked up surfing! After Spanish class I would attend another lecture on Mexican healthcare systems and morbidity and mortality concerns. After that I would usually walk home to do my homework or study up on certain illnesses or conditions. Soon after that was dinner with the family then it was off to bed. Weekends were free for me to explore. I could go to the beach and play volleyball, soccer, swim, or simply relax with an umbrella drink. There are plenty of restaurants and bars to go dance or sing or, if your into art, their are plenty arts and crafts vendors or ancient ruins you can visit. This trip couldn't have been more well-rounded. CFHI really did their homework on this one and it's an experience that anyone can only benefit from. I'm proud to call myself a CFHI alum and I'm sure if you decide to participate in this amazing nonprofit organization you will grow as a person and student and you will undoubtedly enjoy your adventure.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 19, 2012

From September to December 2011, I participated in the UC Davis Quarter Abroad in Oaxaca, México program also known as the Latino/a Health Internship Program. A combination of lectures on binational health, clinical rotations and brigades work, the program was a life-changing experience! Every aspect of the program helped me better understand how the culture and language, politics, immigration, among many other things affect the health delivery system in México. To get a close view of how primary care is delivered in México, we rotated through health clinics. First-hand, I was able to see how the national politics and corruption affects the quality of care. Many of the health care providers were very sure that the government had sufficient money to provide more health facilities (to ease the overcrowding), to increase the resources, and to update their medical technology. However, because of corruption, the money sent from the federal government was not arriving in the amount that it should. As a result, many of the doctors had to be resourceful with the tools they did have. On the flip side, the doctors at the health centers were very friendly with the patients. Instead of creating a setting of "I'm the doctor" and "you're the patient," there was a very dynamic and open relationship between the two parties that allowed for a welcoming environment. At the state general hospital, there were hundreds of people waiting for care. Financially strapped, with low resources, and not enough personnel to treat all the patients, the care patients received here would not be acceptable in the U.S. Often times, it seemed like we were working in an assembly line since the patient visits were sometimes very quick and impersonal. Observing this type of care, I was able to appreciate much more the services we CAN receive in the U.S. I highlighted the word "CAN" because we have to recognize that even in the United States with our world-class medical technology and treatments, not everyone is privileged enough to access them. The poor in México, in the United States or anywhere around the world, more often than not, receive the lowest quality of care. Part of the program, we spent three weeks in the spectacularly beautiful town of Puerto Escondido, Oaxaca, México. Here, we completed brigades work, which included group presentations at the health centers and at the local schools (elementary, middle and high schools) on family planning, gender roles, and tropical diseases (dengue, chagas, and malaria). This experience allowed us to be creative using skits, colorful diagrams, and demonstrations to teach the locals about issues affecting their communities. In particular, I really liked working with the students; they were very happy to have us there and full of questions. Overall, my experience in Oaxaca, thanks to the work of CFHI, was extraordinarily amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 4, 2012

more

January 4, 2012

From September to December 2011, I had the privilege to participate in the UC Davis Quarter Abroad in Oaxaca, México program also known as the Latino/a Health Internship Program. During these three months, we attended lectures on bi-national health, participated in clinical rotations at the local health centers and the state general hospital, and completed brigades work on family planning, tropical diseases (malaria, dengue, chagas) and gender issues. On Mondays and Tuesdays, we attended the lectures, which were conducted by our university professor and our local medical director from Oaxaca. From Wednesday to Friday, we completed our clinical rotations, which would last from 8am-12pm. At the local health centers, we shadowed doctors while they conducted their primary care consultations. Many of the visits revolved around women and children (October was national immunization month). We also saw patients with hypertension and diabetes. One of the most nerve-racking experiences while rotating at the health centers occurred when a young, pregnant mother came-in to deliver her baby. A house employee, the young woman left her family and her small town to work in the city to help her family financially. Pregnant and without any family, the employer brought her in. However, the woman was only a few months pregnant. Although the doctors called for an ambulance to take her to the hospital because of her fragile condition, they did not arrive quickly enough and so the doctors had to deliver the baby at the clinic. Born before full term, the baby was not breathing correctly. No longer able to wait for the ambulance, one of the doctors took the baby to the hospital in the back of a truck that the clinic owned. Once the ambulance finally arrived, the mother was also sent to the hospital, but they later returned her to the clinic. This was one of the most shocking experiences because of how quickly the situation turned from a regular visit to the doctor realizing the woman was ready to give birth to delivering the baby and then not knowing if the baby had survived. White coat on and stethoscope around my neck gave me an unlimited access to primary care consultations, surgery rooms, delivery rooms, and the emergency department. Observing patient to nurse/doctor interactions helped me understand the differences that exist between countries in terms of culture and professionalism. I learned that although we may be under high stress, have limited resources, and flooded with patients, it’s important to remain calm, professional, and be empathetic to the patient’s needs. One of my favorite cultural experiences was Día de los Muertos (day of the dead), which takes place on Nov. 1st and 2nd. During this celebration, altars are created with food, flowers, photos, and other items to remember loved ones that have passed away. A tradition long held in Oaxaca, our group entered an altar and tapete contest (tapetes are colorful sand sculptures built on the ground). We decided to dedicate our altar and tapete to the town of Huatla de Jiménez and a "curandera" or shaman María Sabina, who was known for using hallucinogenic mushrooms as a form of healing/traditional medicine. Thousands of people came to see our altar and tapete at the cemetery. I really enjoyed this experience because I was able to speak to hundreds of people (locals and foreigners) and share with them the story of María Sabina. People were extremely happy to see us participating in the local festivities, and we were very honored to be part of the local traditions. After three months of living in Oaxaca and weeks spent as an observant at local health centers and the general state hospital, I feel more culturally competent to treat Latino patients and in particular, those with an indigenous background. Service to indigent communities has always been a major focus in my future career plans. I hope to use my education to provide medical care to low-income communities, immigrants, and those without health insurance or a limited public health insurance plan.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 9, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 9, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

In October, 2011, I had the unforgettable opportunity to participate in Child Family Health International's Reproductive Health program in Quito, Ecuador. As a fourth-year medical student, this was a great time for me to to an elective abroad. I learned about CFHI at the AAFP National Conference for Residents and Students where they gave me a free t-shirt. It wasn't until two years later, when I began to seriously consider an international rotation, that I learned about the variety of well-developed programs that they offer. I chose this program because I am interested in family and community medicine, and particularly enjoy Women's Health and Pediatrics. Reproductive Health in Quito combined my medical interests with the opportunity to improve my Spanish skills, which will be very valuable as I move forward with my career. I applied for the scholarship through CFHI, hoping that it would make funding my trip more feasible, and I am very thankful for the financial assistance. Also, if it hadn't been for the scholarship, I might not have kept as detailed journal/blog entries or taken as many photos, and I am happy to have these to share with my family and friends, and future participants.
One whole month seemed like a long time to be away when I was preparing for my trip, but the time actually flew by. We spent every morning during the week working in the clinic or hospital, and rotated to a different site each week. For the first two weeks, we attended Spanish classes at the Amazing Andes Language School all afternoon. I had only had a brief Medical Spanish course before my trip, but I studies a lot on my own and was able to place into the "intermediate" Spanish class. These classes provided lessons on grammar as well as Medical Spanish, and often focused on medical terms that were relevant to our particular clinic sites (maternity hospital, pediatric clinic). Following class, we would have some free time to run errands, or just return home to relax. We had dinner at our home-stay every night at 7. Following dinner, we were often busy with homework or studying Spanish, but we also had time to go out or stay in and talk with family and friends back home. After working all week, we had all of our weekends free to travel and take in all that Ecuador has to offer. As I stated above, I have always been interested in Family Medicine and Community Health, so it seemed natural to get involved in activities that provide services for people who are medically under-served. In Ecuador, all people have access to free healthcare, but there is a great disparity between the quality of facilities available to the wealthy and to the poor. In all of the public sites that I worked, doctors repeatedly told me that certain things weren't available, because there was no money. This was most evident in the maternity hospital, where laboring patients didn't even have sheets or pillows on their beds. Still, with limited resources, all of the doctors I worked with provided invaluable services to their patients by focusing on small ways to improve health, such as making sure vaccinations were up to date, providing education about nutrition and contraception, and promoting breast-feeding.
Looking back, I feel that this program added a vital dimension to my medical education. My school places a lot of emphasis on cultural awareness in the curriculum, but learning about different cultures in a lecture hall cannot compare with being immersed in a culture for several weeks. I feel that after this experience, I will have a better understanding of the experiences and values of my hispanic patients and hopefully will be able to make them feel comfortable. Finally, after having to navigate a foreign country, I have a newfound respect for all people who have emigrated to the US or speak English as a second language. As I move forward in my career, I would like to continue to learn and practice Spanish, so that I can communicate clearly with more patients. I would also like to incorporate international rotations to South and/or Central America into my residency training and future career so that I can continue to explore different cultures while providing much needed services. For more info about my trip, feel free to check out my blog at http://brightmedstudent.blogspot.com/.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 30, 2011

more

November 30, 2011

I participated in CFHI's Introduction to Traditional Medicine, India program in July 2011. This was my first experience abroad and, as would be expected, I was quite nervous before I left. Upon arrival in Delhi I, along with the other participants, were guided through every step of our journey to Dehradun. The program staff were nothing short of amazing, and it was quite evident that they were truly passionate about their jobs.

This is a program geared toward medical and pre-med students. I, however am neither; as an anthropology student I went into the program knowing little to nothing about medicine or the healthcare system. I never felt behind or out of place, and if anything I felt that the other participants and staff saw my alternate viewpoint as useful in a fuller understanding of different situations.

As I am in no way medical, as an ethical decision, I made it a point to not have physical encounters with patients. The medical/pre-med students did, however, take full advantage of such opportunities when they presented themselves.

I had a wonderful experience shadowing doctors in Dehradun for two weeks, learning about Homeopathy, Reiki, Ayurveda, Accupressure, and how western-style medicine functions in the context of India. A third week was spent in the enchanting town of Rishikesh, nestled in between the edge of the foothills of the Himalayas and the holy Ganges river. In Rishikesh we stayed in an Ashram, having daily yoga lessons and lectures on the various therapies of Naturopathy. The fourth week was spent in the rural village of Patti, secluded, deep in the foothills, from the hustle and bustle of the heavily trafficked urban center. Here we had early morning yoga with views of the sleepy sunrise against the misty valley that could your breath away. We had a more hands on approach to learning about Ayurveda and went on nature walks to find naturally growing medicinal plants.

This experience was one that I will remember always. The staff was so warm and inviting that I am still in contact with many of them to this day. I also loved it so much that I am doing the program again this June.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This experience has opened my eyes to some of the realities that the rest of the world faces. I have been able to see the differences in our healthcare systems, and have been able to see the pros and cons of both. I have also been exposed to various alternative medicines that are not very well known in the United States.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I learned lots about alternatives to western medicine. I also learned how to use a blood pressure cuff :) I made a number of friends while there, most of whom I still keep in touch with on a regular basis.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

awesome. and sad to come home!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I participated in the Rural/Urban Himalayan rotation, and worked in various settings providing medical care throughout North India. Due to the language barrier (most patients speak Hindi, Garwhali, etc.) and reliance on history for diagnosis, a large portion of my time there was spent as an active observer. Assertiveness with preceptors was my bridge across this barrier--they were eager to give synopses of what patients were saying when prompted. As time went on, my Hindi skills improved and the individuals I helped treat were quite patient with me as I attempted to obtain basic histories from them in their native tongue.

Paramount to the design of this rotation is exposure to diverse healthcare settings in both rural and urban areas. Hence, day to day activities varied based on location. However, generally our days were divided into morning & evening hospital/clinic sessions of about 3 hrs each, with lunch and afternoon tea allotted in between. This afternoon gap left time to explore the local areas. For example, in the Himalayan foothills we might go out for a hike or spend time journaling, and in the cities you can shop, stake out at an internet cafe or bookstore, or even take a Bollywood dance class!

One of my favorite facets of Indian culture is the inherent hospitality, and the networking provided through CFHI's local coordinators immediately connected us with locals. "Friends of friends" upon meeting our group for the first time would shower us with tea, snacks, and their excellent company almost universally wherever we went. When we left each town it was heartwarming to remember the shopkeeper, cab driver, chemist... all the local pillars who I had formed personal friendships with. Without the immediate networking provided by CFHI, this would not be possible to the same extent.

It was a great opportunity to work with conditions not commonly seen in the US (i.e. TB, rheumatic heart disease..) and enlightening on an intellectual level to understand how healthcare is delivered in a different culture, but the greatest lessons extended much deeper than this as my character was refined by being challenged through an unfamiliar environment & ideas.

The structure that CFHI gave was a supportive one, just enough to guide but never overwhelming. They arranged major transportation between sites, lodging, meals, etc. but never overplanned or scheduled the experience, giving us freedom to explore a bit, and flexibility to accommodate our interests. Local coordinators were always a phone call away and approached the relationship with participants more as a friend than an administrator.

I wish every medical student this opportunity, to develop cultural awareness & competence in dealing with patients from disparate backgrounds. Additionally, to understand the strengths and weaknesses of the Western system of providing healthcare & delivering it to the masses.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

extending medical care and providing supplies for residents of North India, as well as strengthening local economies and work forces. All of these functions along with orchestrating an international medical experience for students are accomplished with only 7% overhead.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make things a bit more organized and efficiently run abroad. However, I much rather think this is a function of the way things are done in these particular areas of India than a reflection on CFHI.

October 31, 2011

more

October 31, 2011

I recently participated in the Sight for All Opthalmology program in New Delhi, India. It truly has been an amazing experience. Not only did it strengthen my professional and personal communication skills, but I was able to gain knowledge about global health issues and how collaborative strategies can be developed to solve some of the health related problems existing in developing countries, such as India. As a pre-med student at UC Santa Cruz and an aspiring physician, this program gave me more of the right reasons to become a healthcare provider. On a daily basis, my day started around 9am and ended at 4 or 5 pm, including lunch. During these hours, I had a chance to shadow and get hands on experience from a great team of physicians. The physician on duty would show me the procedures of an eye check up and then allow me to perform the same procedures on multiple patients. I spent most of my times in the retinal, cornea, OT, and pediatrics. In the Operation theatre, i was given the opportunity to closely watch different eye surgeries being performed by physicians on duty. There was so much knowledge passed on by professionals everyday. I would definitely recommend this program to anyone wanting to gain more hands-on clinical skills and learning about a different culture. Trust me, there will be no regrets! This is one part of my life that I will always look back and smile. During the program, there are so many under-served lives you touch and in return, you begin to appreciate life in general. AMAZING!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

in the Sight For All Opthalmology program, CFHI

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would have enjoyed the program if I were given a chance to visit other hospitals and make the difference in service.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

visiting surrounding hospitals.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

definitely improved personal and communication skills.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I am so glad I took the first step to send out my application to become a participant in the program.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers