Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
83 Reviews
1234.614465
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
March 5, 2014

more

March 5, 2014

I just returned from a CFHI trip to Bolivia. I participated in the Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine in La Paz, Bolivia program. I had a wonderful experience and definitely feel that the time I spent participating in the program will have a positive impact on my future career as a pediatrician. I saw some interesting diseases (i.e. Leishmaniasis) that are very uncommon in the United States. I also had the opportunity to explore some beautiful sites within the country. My host family was phenomenal and all of the food was delicious. Although I am still not fluent in Spanish, I feel that my language ability has improved and I have gained cultural perspective that will most definitely be beneficial in my future interactions with patients. I highly recommend this program, especially to those considering careers in pediatrics!

You can read my blog about my month in Bolivia here: http://boliviarachael.wordpress.com/

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 27, 2014

more

January 27, 2014

I recently participated in the CFHI program of Realities and Healthcare inequities in Oaxaca, Mexico. This has definitely been one of the most amazing trips I've been on. Not only did I get to be immersed in a magnificent culture but I was able to learn medical terminology in Spanish which is very helpful as a bilingual nursing student about to graduate. I enjoyed that I had the opportunity to go to 5 different clinics and hospitals in a three week period. It was amazing to observe different surgical procedures and go to a rehabilitation center in the same week. On the other end one of the best cultural experiences I go to witness was a wedding ceremony at Santo Domingo on Saturday night. The wedding was almost a community event with a parade, music, and dancing dolls to help celebrate. The hospitality of my family in Oaxaca was also amazing. I will definitely be missing the home cooked Mexican food!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 25, 2014

more

January 25, 2014

I participated in the CFHI Dentistry and Oral Health program in Quito, Ecuador. WOW, what an experience of a lifetime! I worked with a government owned dental clinic in central Quito, a beautiful colonial town. The staff there was great, kind, and always patient. For two weeks, I volunteered at the clinic from 8am to 12pm. I worked closely with Dr. Herrera, and assisted with many fillings and prophylaxis. At home, I am a dental assistant at a Pediatric Dentistry practice. So, the most exciting procedure I was able to assist with in this program was wisdom teeth extractions with the maxillofacial surgeon, Dr. Cano. I also assisted the prosthodontist with mixing and taking impressions. All the patients were very appreciative of their dentists and always left with smiles.
I highly recommend this program for any future dentists wanting to not only experience a comprehensive dental outreach program, but also explore a beautiful country during weekend trip opportunities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 9, 2013

more

December 9, 2013

I was part of CFHI's Intensive Beginner Spanish and Healthcare in Oaxaca, Mexico program from October 2013 to November 2013. I had an amazing time in Oaxaca learning about the healthcare system and exploring the beautiful city of Oaxaca. Being apart of this program allowed me to gain plenty of first hand experience in the medical field. During my program I volunteered at a rehabilitation center for children and got to see many different types of therapies and also directly help the facility by taking care of the children. I also rotated through a hospital and a community clinic. Through my rotations I was able to witness a child birth, which was defineitly a touching experience. Getting to see how medicine was practiced in a different country was a truly eye opening experience. As a pre-med student, CFHI's Intensive Beginner Spanish and Healthcare in Oaxaca, Mexico was a very helpful program. Not only did it give me valuable healthcare insight and experience it also allowed me to improve my Spanish speaking skills and learn more about the Mexican culture. Also, Oaxaca was a beautiful city full of culture that I am lucky to have been able to spend a whole month there. Thank you CFHI for the awesome experience!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 2, 2013

more

December 2, 2013

I had the absolute BEST experience with CFHI!! I participated in the Amazon Community and Indigenous Health program in Ecuador where I observed rural and urban healthcare in the city of Puyo, as well as learn about natural medicine from a traditional, indigenous family. Not only did I learn a great deal about the culture and the healthcare system in Ecuador, but I feel like I was able to contribute to the health and well-being of the people. During my time in Ecuador, I shadowed doctors in the Emergency Department and Family Medicine and got to see a wide range of cases. Everyday was completely different. I personally observed many trauma cases in the ER such as motor vehicle crashes, deep wounds, etc. while Family Medicine consisted of assisting with pap smears, prenatal care, and digestive health issues. My favorite part about the program was definitely the jungle visit with a Shuar family. I learned so much about medicinal plants (which I now use to this day) and also just living in the Amazon in general...i even got the chance to become a godmother to one of the Shuar kids! it was just an unbelievable trip.
As a pre-med student, I know that all the skills and experience I learned through CFHI can directly apply for me to become the best physician I can be. Thank you CFHI!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 25, 2013

more

November 25, 2013

As a Child Family Health International participant, I traveled to Puerto Escondido, Mexico on the “Tropical Medicine and Community Based Care on the Coast of Mexico” program. The program was outstanding, and the people at CFHI both in the US and while in Mexico were all committed to the wellbeing of the participants and the communities they serve. I am so thankful for having had the opportunity to go abroad with CFHI -- what an adventure! Beautiful beaches, fun music, local food, and surf lessons filled the afternoons and weekends. And best of all, this vacation-like experience included an altruistic mission: supporting the health of the local community. With subtle lessons in cultural competency, the daily experiences abroad have forever made me a better healthcare practitioner to all patient populations. It was both humbling and rewarding to provide primary care in the local health clinics of rural towns surrounding Puerto Escondido. Now, back in NYC, I realize that I am more understanding of many of my patients, in particular who are immigrants, who struggle with a language barrier, or who are from cultures different than my own. Lastly, I am thankful for the language skills acquired in Mexico during the Spanish classes as well as in the clinics, on the beach, and at the homestay. Knowing Spanish, especially medical Spanish, enables me to provide better care for many of my Spanish-speaking patients and allows me to pursue a greater diversity of career opportunities.

I am a nurse; now back in school to become a nurse practitioner. I have student loans and very little time off from school; regardless, I found a way to be an international volunteer. If you like traveling, enjoy challenging yourself, and aspire to be the best healthcare professional you can be, then make the time, find the funds, and go abroad with Child Family Health International – ‘let the world change you’.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage participants to be hands-on as much as possible from day one. You are there to learn, and the best way to do that is by doing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013

more

November 3, 2013

I just finished a volunteer experience with the Child Family Health International organization at Oaxaca, Mexico. This experience was absolutely priceless. I stayed with a Mexican host family, which maximized my ability to learn Spanish during the experience, as their ability to converse in English was minimal. The hospitality (and the food) that the family provided me with was superb. The program was split between clinic time and Spanish courses (in addition to ample time for recreation as well). The language school affiliated with CFHI--Becari--had a great director who facilitated everything related to the stay, in addition to giving us advice on where to visit around the city, as well as tourist locations in Oaxaca. In conclusion, I had a great time in Oaxaca. I got to learn Spanish, primary care medicine along with differences between Mexican and US systems for medicine, as well as had ample time to visit various locations in Oaxaca which I thoroughly enjoyed. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get students a more "hands on" experience in an inpatient/hospital/surgical setting, rather than a hands-off primary care setting, although the latter was also extremely beneficial.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

I had an amazing time during my CFHI trip to Durban, South Africa. CFHI works closely with local healthcare organizations, and provides a lot of support for volunteers. Throughout the 5 weeks I spent in Durban, I learned a lot, made great connections, and felt as though I was making some contribution to the healthcare system in South Africa.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

Overall, I had a great experience with CFHI during my Intensive Beginner Spanish and Healthcare program in Oaxaca, Mexico. I was able to observe doctors at two different government-run clinics. Both doctors were very friendly and enthusiastic about teaching me more about the how the public healthcare system works and about their cases. Gradually, they allowed me to work more directly with patients, from taking their basic measurements to assisting in basic medical procedures.

What I loved most about Oaxaca were the people and culture. My host family was so warm to me, as was everyone else I encountered there. I could always find performances around Zocalo, and it seemed that everyone loved to dance there! Oaxaca is such a community-oriented place with an incredibly rich culture, and it was the perfect place to develop my Spanish skills and learn more about the culture. The program was well organized and flexible, and I am very happy that I spent my summer before medical school doing this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2013

more

July 30, 2013

I participated in the Introduction to Traditional Medicine in India program through CFHI. Based in the north of India, we spent time in two different cities and also in a small village. This trip was absolutely INCREDIBLE. CFHI does a wonderful job providing the perfect amount of structure while also leaving freedom to explore a new place and really tailor the experience to fit personal expectations and goals. The doctors and homestays were all enthusiastic and open to developing lasting relationships, which really made the trip. I learned beyond what I ever would have expected about the integration of western and traditional medicine, and I believe that CFHI is the gold standard of what an NGO should seek to achieve. Their programs are community-based, instill a culturally sensitive and comprehensive understanding of global health issues, and provide quality care and opportunities for service-learning through collaboration without imposition. I would highly, highly recommend CFHI to anyone seeking to broaden their understanding of public health concerns around the world!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

To be aware of before embarking: Do not come in with the expectation of providing some huge service the people you're working with, or getting lots of clinical experience. I did A LOT of observing, listening, and learning with only a little bit of doing. In my opinion, this is best way to gain a deep and culturally relative understanding of global health issues, but if your expectations and goals are different you could be disappointed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers