Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 4, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 1, 2011

I started out helping transport some of our rescues from one city to another. Then I started working at the Meet and Greets. This was a great way to tell prospective foster and adoptive parents about... more

July 4, 2014

It is all about the dogs and what is best for them. They don't live in shelters with a lot of other dogs. Their temporary homes are foster homes where they learn what love is and that there is a warm bed waiting for them and plenty of food to eat. They usually have a couple other four legged friends to play with too, whenever they want to. They are given whatever medical treatment they may need whether it is something as simple as vaccinations or something as complex as heart surgery. And when it is time to send the little ones off to their forever homes, we try to do everything possible to make sure it is a good choice and it will truly be forever.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to try and utilize all of our volunteer's talents to their fullest extent possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2011

I started out helping transport some of our rescues from one city to another. Then I started working at the Meet and Greets. This was a great way to tell prospective foster and adoptive parents about the organization. One thing that sets this group apart from others is that all of our dogs are in foster homes. There is no shelter. I have fostered dogs, as well. This allows the human guardians to assess each dog so that we can help find the "perfect" dog for his/her forever home. Fostering helps to know a dog better and to provide some basic training. Fostering allows for an honest evaluation of a dog. As a foster parent, we also post a brief bio of the dog to our website with a photograph. I have also spoken at fund raising events, and performed home visits for prospective foster and adoptive parents. Most of the volunteers I have met are very committed to the dogs, and helping them to find new homes.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing a dog go to his/her forever home, and blend in perfectly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure the volunteers are living up to their responsibilities and getting the dogs the exposure they deserve.

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

Great organization, very organized with friendly, caring people that really care about animals. Varied opportunities to help, even if you are very busy. All dogs are fostered in private homes, so they are being trained and loved while waiting for a forever home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

I've had such positive experiences with Chihuahua and Small Dog rescue. My favorite part is how they get to know the pups and help you pick one that fits with what you most want (cuddles, playful, outdoorsy, etc.) I have adopted three chihuahuas from them and they are all perfect and wonderful. I feel so lucky to have found this organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

As a veterinarian, I have worked with several rescue before, and I have been impressed with the care the dogs in Chihuahua & Small Do Rescue receive. The dogs are well cared for and no expense is spared to make sure they are healthy and ready to be adopted. The volunteers are enthusiastic and genuinely love what they are doing. This is a great organization to adopt a dog from, and an even greater one to volunteer with.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

I volunteered for about a year by fostering dogs until they could find a forever home. Going to the meet and greets are a lot of fun. It was nice to meet new people and unite to work for a good cause. The board and all volunteers have such warm hearts and are willing to take the time to explain anything you need to know when fostering. They make sure to do a quick background check on foster parents to make sure that the foster is going to be in a good home and they check the people that want to rescue the dog before he/she is placed in a forever home. They make sure that every little dog is cared for and no matter what the expense will pay for the medical expenses of dogs that have higher medical costs. I also love that this organization is a true no-kill rescue. The amount of time and detail that is put into this organization shows the amount of love and passion they have for this cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want it to grow larger, gain more volunteers so more homes could be provided to shelter and save more little ones.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 26, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 13, 2013

I've been volunteering for CSDR for about 3 years. CSDR has rescued over 1,000 dogs primarily from high kill shelters. The organization has rehabilitated the dogs, provided veterinary care for the inj... more

June 26, 2014

Chihuahua and Small Dog Rescue has saved the lives of more than 1,000 dogs in high-kill shelters, and in the process has provided loving, loyal companions to many individuals and families throughout Colorado. While we always talk about saving the dogs' lives, many of these small dogs provide considerable companionship and love not only to families, but to otherwise isolated and lonely individuals. Many times over we hear a new "parent" tell us, "this little dog gives me a reason to wake up every morning."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Save more dogs in need, but we can't possibly take them all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2013

I've been volunteering for CSDR for about 3 years. CSDR has rescued over 1,000 dogs primarily from high kill shelters. The organization has rehabilitated the dogs, provided veterinary care for the injured, fostered the dogs in loving homes, and adopted them to people throughout Colorado. CSDR is an advocacy group for responsible pet ownership, education, and community service.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the number of foster homes/volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 2, 2011

Chihuahua & Small Dog Rescue (CSDR) always puts the safety, health, and welfare of animal companions first. Over the years, the group has rescued hundreds of Chihuahuas and other small dogs, often on their last day at the shelter before they are euthanized. These little ones are placed in loving foster homes, where there is never a pressure to adopt a dog quickly, but rather to allow the dog ample time to recover and stabilize. Often the organization rescues dogs with severe injuries, knowing that the adoption fees can never recover the cost of their medical expenses, but choosing to save these little ones in a true spirit of compassion. Some of the rescued dogs have undergone cruel mental and physical abuse, but their sweet dispositions and forgiving natures demonstrate that they deserve another chance at life. While under CSDR's care, foster dogs are provided all vaccinations, spay/neuter, proper food, stability, and a nurturing environment until they are placed into a carefully-screened forever home.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This organization truly represents a spirit of compassion and care for those less fortunate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Extend the foster network--the more foster homes in the network, the more lives we can save.

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

I have only been involved with CSDR for a short while ~ I am impressed by the care and love given to these dogs. These sweet dogs are given a chance at a happy, healthy, loving home because of the work done by CSDR. I'm proud to be a part of it and plan to be a volunteer with this non-profit organization for many years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

This is a wonderful group that is entirely made up of voluntiers. They have saved over 1000 dogs since they started. They have no shelter and all the animals are homed in foster care. The dogs are therefor healthier and cleaner than those found in shelters. They are also more socialized and the fosters can tell you exactly what the personallity of each dog is. They have meet and greets at local Petsmart and Petco locations and you can give of your time or your money or your love. Please visit the website and become a part of the solution today!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

I was looking to get involved in a rescue group for small dogs and came upon Chihuahua and Small Dog Rescue. After checking their website and emailing with their president, I became a foster parent and active volunteer. Their philosophy of all-foster, no-kill, and their attention to the details of making sure their little ones get placed in the best possible forever home fit perfectly with what I believe. They have partnerships with wonderful veterinarians and make sure all their rescues are well-cared-for and receive any necessary medications and healthcare. They hold frequent events to expose the little ones to the public and I attend as many of these events as I can. They are super-well organized and happy, fun, positive experiences for the dogs, the volunteers, and the public. I can't say enough good things about their leadership: Sue, Lance, and Pat. Such wonderful, dedicated, caring folks! I have very high standards when it comes to animal care, having fostered for a humane society and another rescue group in the past. CSDR is tops! Love, CyberElsa

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

... fix the spelling on the website here and there. And actually, I've volunteered to help with that --- I just haven't had a lot of spare time. But I will work on it this winter. That's about all I can find that needs fixing with CSDR!! They are wonderful!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

CSDR is one of the top rescue groups in the country. It is a no-kill rescue. Dogs are only put down due to severe illness. Unadoptable dogs are placed in permanent foster care. When dogs are rescued, they immediately receive health care and grooming. They stay in a foster home, and the foster parents work with them on any training issues. CSDR has rescued an unbelievable number of dogs and placed them in safe and loving homes. Many were rescued from shelters just before they were to be put down because their allotted time was running out. Others were rescued from puppy mills where they were isolated and kept in cages. The dogs do see to understand that they have been given another chance and express their gratitude in the form of affection for their new owners.

All volunteers and potential adopters are carefully checked. References are checked. A volunteer visits the home, gets acquainted with the family,and checks that the home is safe. CSDR keeps in touch with adopters after the adoption and volunteers are available to answer questions, assist with training, and give advice. A volunteer coordinator keeps in touch with all volunteers so that volunteers always feel part of the organization and supported.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Recruit more volunteers. If we had more foster homes available, we could save more dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers