Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

This is a wonderful group that is entirely made up of voluntiers. They have saved over 1000 dogs since they started. They have no shelter and all the animals are homed in foster care. The dogs are therefor healthier and cleaner than those found in shelters. They are also more socialized and the fosters can tell you exactly what the personallity of each dog is. They have meet and greets at local Petsmart and Petco locations and you can give of your time or your money or your love. Please visit the website and become a part of the solution today!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

I was looking to get involved in a rescue group for small dogs and came upon Chihuahua and Small Dog Rescue. After checking their website and emailing with their president, I became a foster parent and active volunteer. Their philosophy of all-foster, no-kill, and their attention to the details of making sure their little ones get placed in the best possible forever home fit perfectly with what I believe. They have partnerships with wonderful veterinarians and make sure all their rescues are well-cared-for and receive any necessary medications and healthcare. They hold frequent events to expose the little ones to the public and I attend as many of these events as I can. They are super-well organized and happy, fun, positive experiences for the dogs, the volunteers, and the public. I can't say enough good things about their leadership: Sue, Lance, and Pat. Such wonderful, dedicated, caring folks! I have very high standards when it comes to animal care, having fostered for a humane society and another rescue group in the past. CSDR is tops! Love, CyberElsa

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

... fix the spelling on the website here and there. And actually, I've volunteered to help with that --- I just haven't had a lot of spare time. But I will work on it this winter. That's about all I can find that needs fixing with CSDR!! They are wonderful!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

CSDR is one of the top rescue groups in the country. It is a no-kill rescue. Dogs are only put down due to severe illness. Unadoptable dogs are placed in permanent foster care. When dogs are rescued, they immediately receive health care and grooming. They stay in a foster home, and the foster parents work with them on any training issues. CSDR has rescued an unbelievable number of dogs and placed them in safe and loving homes. Many were rescued from shelters just before they were to be put down because their allotted time was running out. Others were rescued from puppy mills where they were isolated and kept in cages. The dogs do see to understand that they have been given another chance and express their gratitude in the form of affection for their new owners.

All volunteers and potential adopters are carefully checked. References are checked. A volunteer visits the home, gets acquainted with the family,and checks that the home is safe. CSDR keeps in touch with adopters after the adoption and volunteers are available to answer questions, assist with training, and give advice. A volunteer coordinator keeps in touch with all volunteers so that volunteers always feel part of the organization and supported.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Recruit more volunteers. If we had more foster homes available, we could save more dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

II was very impressed with CSDR. I loved the training, the involvement of Sue Fisher with all the events and the great care and concern that the rescue has for the dogs that they take in. Great group of volunteers - always willing to help each other out. Lots of meet and greets to get the foster dogs out to meet the public. I really enjoy working with this group.
Allison Cox

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 2, 2011

This is one of the best rescues I have ever had the pleasure to work for. The love and care they give these dogs make me want to be reincarneted as a dog in there care. All the people are wonderful wi... more

August 14, 2013

I have adopted two dogs from this rescue. And soon became onto the Board. I think we do a wonderful thing and it make's our heart's smile.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 2, 2011

This is one of the best rescues I have ever had the pleasure to work for. The love and care they give these dogs make me want to be reincarneted as a dog in there care. All the people are wonderful with the dogs in there homes, They train them and love them just like there very own. It's just wonderful. I just can't say enough about this organation.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Adopting the perfect dog.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes, They are great just the way the are. Well, if I could I would donate my whole check to them every month.

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

I adopted Lucy several years ago and had such a great experience with CSDR I became a volunteer. I love that we were matched up with the right dog. We then adopted Lola and again brought home another perfect match. CSDR really cares where the dogs are placed and I love that the dogs are in loving fosterhomes. I highly recomend CSDR.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I just wish more people would open there homes to fostering.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

I have been a volunteer for about 3 years and also adopted one dog. Mostly I do home visits for adopters and new volunteers, which I love. I have met some of the nicest people during home visits.

What sets Chihuahua & Small Dog Rescue apart is that all dogs go into foster homes. There
is no shelter. The foster homes work with the dogs to train and socialize them so that the dogs are ready for their new forever homes. This organization also screens all new volunteers and prospective adoptive homes by sending a volunteer to do a home visit. We walk through the home and yard to ensure there are no hazards that might harm a small dog. And we talk with the family and get a feel for their lifestyles and personalities. Every volunteer also has a home visit each year to ensure that nothing has changed.

The organization provides support and benefits to volunteers with opportunities for limited health care for our own dogs. The annual volunteer dinner allows volunteers to get acquainted and form friendships as well as rewarding them for their hard work. From time to time there are learning opportunities so that we all learn more about caring for small dogs and how to train dogs, especially abused dogs.

From time to time we've been asked to take in a large number of dogs from puppy mills. These poor dogs have been kept in cages with little or no human interaction. They are bred over and over while being fed poor diets. When we get them, the dogs are bathed and checked by a vet before going to foster homes. At these times, several volunteers step up to help process the new dogs. And others volunteer to take on extra foster dogs so that we find spots for all of them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't see a need for changes. It is a well-run organization that brings together dedicated people to save dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 2, 2011

Chihuahua & Small Dog Rescue (CSDR) always puts the safety, health, and welfare of animal companions first. Over the years, the group has rescued hundreds of Chihuahuas and other small dogs, often on... more

August 13, 2013

I've been volunteering for CSDR for about 3 years. CSDR has rescued over 1,000 dogs primarily from high kill shelters. The organization has rehabilitated the dogs, provided veterinary care for the injured, fostered the dogs in loving homes, and adopted them to people throughout Colorado. CSDR is an advocacy group for responsible pet ownership, education, and community service.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the number of foster homes/volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 2, 2011

Chihuahua & Small Dog Rescue (CSDR) always puts the safety, health, and welfare of animal companions first. Over the years, the group has rescued hundreds of Chihuahuas and other small dogs, often on their last day at the shelter before they are euthanized. These little ones are placed in loving foster homes, where there is never a pressure to adopt a dog quickly, but rather to allow the dog ample time to recover and stabilize. Often the organization rescues dogs with severe injuries, knowing that the adoption fees can never recover the cost of their medical expenses, but choosing to save these little ones in a true spirit of compassion. Some of the rescued dogs have undergone cruel mental and physical abuse, but their sweet dispositions and forgiving natures demonstrate that they deserve another chance at life. While under CSDR's care, foster dogs are provided all vaccinations, spay/neuter, proper food, stability, and a nurturing environment until they are placed into a carefully-screened forever home.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This organization truly represents a spirit of compassion and care for those less fortunate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Extend the foster network--the more foster homes in the network, the more lives we can save.

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

I adopted a dog from CSDR in 2010 and have since joined the organization as a foster. The group is great, the dogs are well cared for and loved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 14, 2013

more

April 14, 2013

After we lost our beloved Zeke in December after 13 years, I just could not get over the loss. After some talking with a friend and reviewing this site, the contact between the chair person, my interviewer and the foster mom of my new BFF, I could not have asked for a better loving friend. While he doesn't replace Zeke, he has given me the chance to love yet another animal just as much. I would love to adopt another and I will when the time is right for my family. Thank you so much Chihuahua & Small Dog Rescue for taking such good of our new little family member before he came to be our new little man!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers